1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Modem- Dish Network Server won't work

Discussion in 'Hopper System Support Forum' started by dbsteel, Jan 3, 2017.

1. Jan 3, 2017 #1 of 21
    dbsteel

dbsteel New Member

Jan 3, 2017
    I'm sure this has been posted before 100 times, and I've Googled it and got some info, but I can't seem to fix this. I'm hoping someone can explain it to me in laymen terms. I'm an Engineer, but not an IT guy :) I have a hopper and 4 Joeys.

So I got a new Arris Surfboard Modem/Wireless Router combo to replace the one I had from Comcast. Now, on demand and Netflix do not work as when I try to open, it says it "can't find the server". My wireless connection, per the Hopper, is working fine. It says its connected to the internet. I've read online about opening Ports 80, 443, adding the Hopper to the DMZ, etc - and I've tried it with no luck. I'm not totally sure I'm even doing it right (I do know how to get into the setting for the router, but there is a lot of settings in there that are over my head).

One other thing- when I disable Bridging, everything seems to work fine on the Hopper, but obviously won't work anywhere else. So bridging is messing something up. I need this enabled for the internet stuff to work everywhere, right? I could probably live with it if my Hopper was in my family room, but the guy stuck it up in one of my spare bedrooms.

Anything would be appreciated to try. Thanks!

2. Jan 3, 2017 #2 of 21
    peds48

peds48 Genius. DBSTalk Club

Jan 10, 2008
    NY
    Are your running another router along side the new gateway?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. Jan 3, 2017 #3 of 21
    dbsteel

dbsteel New Member

Jan 3, 2017
    No- the only router running in my entire house is the new Arris combo router/modem. Arris SBG6580.

4. Jan 3, 2017 #4 of 21
    peds48

peds48 Genius. DBSTalk Club

Jan 10, 2008
    NY