1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New To Dish - Custom Antenna Install Question

Discussion in 'Hopper System Support Forum' started by scchang, Apr 8, 2013.

1. Apr 8, 2013 #1 of 13
    scchang

scchang Cool Member

Nov 25, 2007
    I'm new to Dish and ordered a 2H/2J installation in a few weeks. LOS requires a roof mount and I want to use a Commdeck as I've had good luck with them. My questions are:

1. Will tech mount antenna on Commdeck?

2. What are the options for determining a suitable location for the Commdeck before the installer arrives? In other words, I'm reluctant to mount it based on dishpointer.com and the DP AR Pro app.

3. Would I be better off having a custom installer help with Commdeck location prior to Dish tech appointment? Do the entire install? Does Dish allow this?

Thanks for advice!

Excited about Hopper!

2. Apr 8, 2013 #2 of 13
    P Smith

P Smith Mr. FixAnything

Jul 25, 2002
    W.Mdtrn Sea
    talk to that tech first, only he will be answer the questions

3. Apr 8, 2013 #3 of 13
    gtal98

gtal98 Godfather

Jan 30, 2011
    A true Dish tech (not a subcontractor) will not mount to a commdeck as it is not a Dish approved mount. Also, the cables need to be run to a Node or GB that is tied to your house ground and mounted on the outside of the house, not just run straight into the roof.

Your best bet would be to find a local retailer who sells Dish and get them to do the entire install for you if you really want to go this route.

4. Apr 9, 2013 #4 of 13
    charlesrshell

charlesrshell AllStar

Feb 24, 2008
    O'Fallon,...
    What is a Commdeck?

5. Apr 9, 2013 #5 of 13
    RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP Kwisatz Haderach of Cordcuttery

Jan 23, 2008
    Apparently this is a Commdeck.

It mounts to the SHINGLES? That scares the daylights out of me.

6. Apr 9, 2013 #6 of 13
    charlesrshell

charlesrshell AllStar

Feb 24, 2008
    O'Fallon,...