1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New to HD and RVU

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by WalkGood, Sep 28, 2013.

1. WalkGood

WalkGood Cool Member

Nov 18, 2006
    I am a newbie with HD and RVU. Presently I have SD DVR - been with DirecTV since 1997.

I just bought a flat screen Samsung series 6, UN55F6350A. Had no idea it could be a "client" for a DireccTV whole-house/Genie setup. Found out by starting to read on this forum.

Anyway, is there a "primer" of sorts that explains the whole scenario?

Also, what are the additional DirecTV chargers of having a TV as an RVU client (is that the way to properly say this?)

Presently I have the Premiere package, with one SD DVR R15/500 and one wonky HDVR2 TiVO unit. I own the receivers. Monthly I pay the following:

What will I be charged monthly to just add an HD DVR receiver? Right now the receiver is free from DirecTV.

What will be charged monthly to have the Genie system? And to add my TV as an RVU client?

Will I still NOT be charged the "Advanced Receiver" $10.00/month fee ? What if I add the new HD DVR receiver and drop the old HDVR2 receiver (it often locks up and won't restart). I'd only want to keep it active if I can get some TiVo'd recordings off of it that I cannot find anymore (discontinued kids show); then I'd drop it.

Thanks for any help!

2. trh

trh This Space for Sale

Nov 2, 2007
    NE FL
    First, welcome. Your Sammy appears to be the same model I bought earlier this year. Nice looking picture. Especially in HD.

Unless there is something else going on with your account, DirecTV would probably upgrade you to a Genie w/o any issues. They want you under contract for two more years. Probably for free -- premium subscriber, equipment older than most.