1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie, and Program Guide Questions

Discussion in 'General DISH™ Discussion' started by scaredpoet, Jan 26, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. scaredpoet

scaredpoet Mentor

Jan 24, 2003
    Hey all,

Just saying hello here. I'm a newbie, just got Dish network about a week ago, and so far I'm pretty happy with it. I switched over from cable and DBS is a lot better than I expected it would be.

Just one question though... I've got two Dish 301 receivers on a Dish 500 setup, using a pole mount in my front yard. Signal strength is really good from both the 110 and 119 satellites (averaging about 120 to 125 on each). Yet, I can't seem to get a complete program guide on either 301 without some real significant delays. I know that there's a 24 hour and a 9-day guide coming from the birds, but whenever I try to access the guide from either receiver, I'm getting program info that's maybe 1 or 2 hours ahead, at best. If I try to go further, I either get a lot of blanks ("info not available") or I'll get a standby screen while the EPG info is downloaded, that sticks for quite a while. And I'll keep getting that standby screen for every two or three hours further I go into the EPG, with a download that lasts maybe two or three minutes. What's more, if I actually wait and let the download complete, I'll get all the info, but it wipes out again as soon as I leave the program guide. If I go back, I have to do it all over again.

I'm wondering if there's a way for me to get the 301 to download the whole guide and retain the info, or if that's just not possible? And if it's not possible, then what's the point of having a 24 hour guide, much less one that goes 9 days into the future, if it's going to take forever to scroll through it?