1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the new DBSTalk community platform. We have recently migrated to a community platform called Xenfono and hope you will find this change to your liking. There are some differences, but for the most part, if you just post and read, that will all be the same. If you have questions, please post them in the Forum Support area. Thanks!

Newbie whole home question

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Connected Home' started by whorne, Apr 25, 2013.

1. whorne

whorne New Member

Dec 3, 2011
    Hello everyone! Love this site. Anyway, I have a question and forgive me for the ignornace as I am new to this.

I presently have a whole home connected setup with two HR-24 and one HR-21 (i think that is right).

I was thinking of getting a genie from some place like solid signal or ebay and replace the HR-21 with it.

Is this something I can do or do I still have to have Directv install it?

Thanks in advance for any help.

2. dennisj00

dennisj00 Hall Of Fame

Sep 27, 2007
    Lake Norman, NC
    Most likely the magic number for you is eight tuners. Genie (5) and two 24s (4) are one too many for your SWiM-8.

DirecTV will change to what you need (Swim-16) if you change the 21 out.

3. Beerstalker

Beerstalker Hall Of Fame

Feb 9, 2009
    Peoria, IL