1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie with HD DVR receiver feature question-

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by trevor78, Aug 22, 2012.

1. trevor78

trevor78 New Member

Aug 22, 2012
    Hi everyone- DirecTV newbie here...thinking of switching from Comcast due to cost issues. Spent 1.5 hours on the phone trying to get some technical questions answered, and realized I should have come here first. If someone could be so kind as to confirm the following:

1. From what I understand, there are two types of DirecTV HD DVRs- one is the Home Media Center, which I was told has 5 TB of hard disk space and 5 tuners, and does the "whole house DVR" thing.

2. Then, there is the DirecTV HD DVR which has 1 TB of space, 2 tuners, and also does the whole house DVR. It was implied that the HMC might be a tad overkill for my situation, and I agree considering that rarely do I ever run into recording conflicts.

3. When I asked how the DVR communicates with the other HD receivers to send the recorded programs to other TVs in the house, I was told it sends it wirelessly over my own network. Is this true? If so, doesn't sending all that HD video to the other TV slow down my internet speeds if someone is trying to use the computer at the same time?

4. If I don't go with the HMC, is there a specific model of HD DVR I should expect to get or even request?

The reason I was on the phone so long is because I kept asking fairly technical questions and the rep had to keep putting me on hold to ask their supervisor. Hopefully this makes sense, and any advice you all might have would be helpful.

2. RunnerFL

RunnerFL Well-Known Member

Jan 4, 2006
    Sounds like you were given a lot of incorrect information.

1. The HR34 has 1TB of space and 5 tuners, not 5TB of space.

2. The "standard" HD DVR has anywhere from 320gb to 500gb, not 1TB.