1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please help - ERROR CODE 771A

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by JDookie, Sep 2, 2010.

1. Sep 2, 2010 #1 of 31
    JDookie

JDookie Cool Member

Nov 25, 2009
    Hi guys, I'm having an issue and need help figuring it out.

First of all, I don't have the Protection Plan, so when I called DirecTV they wanted to immediately send out a tech for $50, which I am not ultimately opposed to, but if I can figure it out on my own without having to spend the $50, I'd like to do it. Aside from the fact that they said it would be a week before a tech could even come to my house. :mad:

So here's where I'm at. Please bare with me because I'm new at this, and still learning.

Here's what I know:

I have a SWM installation with three HD DVR's (HR22-100's). There is a single line coming from the dish to my attic, which then goes to an 8-port switch. After that, three lines then go to each respective receiver, with the Power Inserter installed behind one of the receivers.

I had an issue a few months ago where I came home, and everything was out, just like now, and all I had to do was disconnect the Inserter from power for a few minutes, plug it back in, and then everything came right back up.

My wife called me last night (I work 24 hour shifts), and told me that everything was out when she got home, so I had her power cycle the inserter again, which worked yet again.

So, I get home this morning (wife is gone to work already) and everything is out AGAIN. So, I do the usual, and power cycle the inserter. Everything comes back up for about two hours, and then goes out again.......except this time, its out for good. I have power cycled the inserter several times, and its not helping anymore.