1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem setting up slimline SL-3

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by feeder22, Feb 29, 2012.

1. feeder22

feeder22 New Member

Feb 29, 2012
    I have a portable slimline with an SL-3 lnb on a tripod for my motorhome. I purshased an Acutrac III plus to use to set up butam having a problem on how exactly to use this meter. I have called several places and get all different answers on what to do. I'm just a dumb truck driver and would like to know in plain english on what to do. HELP

2. cabletech

cabletech Legend

Jan 20, 2011
    Do you have the manual? you google for acutrac III manual and get adown load.

Go into the acurtrac menu, selet DTV mode, then select attenuate, this will step the meter for DTV signals and at the bottom of the screen it will show you which bird(S) are selected, (ka99/ku101).

Now you just use your compass and aim to the southeast to 101 and adjust for the highest reading.

3. feeder22

feeder22 New Member

Feb 29, 2012
    I do have the manual and can get the asmuth and elevation set through the receiver, but wheredo I look at to set the tilt?

4. BobStokesbary

BobStokesbary Legend

Oct 24, 2010
    Are we talking SWM or std LNB here? If SWM do you have the DirecTV ASL unit? You need that and the power supply for SWM. Oh, and if you have SWM you have to disconnect the receiver from the setup while you are doing your aiming. The meter will not work correctly with it connected. I have the Accutrac 22 Pro II and have no problems with my RV setup.

5. BobStokesbary

BobStokesbary Legend

Oct 24, 2010
    Your easiest way to get all your numbers is the Satellite Finder website. Just be sure you have the satellite set to Directv 101.

6. feeder22

feeder22 New Member

Feb 29, 2012
    I have the SL-3 lnb and the ASL unit is unavailable to get. Is the Acutrac 22 easier to use and we are talking SWM.