1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problems Solved With Band Converters?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by ptimmerm, Jan 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jan 8, 2007 #1 of 32
    ptimmerm

ptimmerm AllStar

Jan 8, 2007
    OK, I am new to all of this, so forgive me.... but I have run into something interesting.

Last Friday I had an HR20-700 installed. This was my first step into HD. It is connected via HDMI to a Panasonic TH-42PX60U.

The installers did not install the B band converters and told me they never do as it usually drops signal strength by 20%. I took them at their word. One of the first things the receiver did was download and install 0x10b. I even did an additional RBR after it was done. Friday through Sunday I had nothing but problems. I ran into almost every bug mentioned here. I had a 60% fail rate when recording HD. It would always just ask if I wanted to delete the recording. I saw black screen a couple of times and the receiver was constantly hanging when I did rewinds or skipped back.

Very frustrated, I decided to install the band converters on Sunday night, "just for kicks". I monitored signal strength and saw no adverse impact. Ever since I installed the converters, I have not had so much as a problem. 100% success recording (and I have been recording everything HD I could find) and no playback/live TV issues.

I have read up on the converters somewhat and I don't know that it makes a lot of sense to me as to why these would solve my problems.

Maybe it is all a coincidence, but as of right now, I could not be happier with the box....... hopefully that will not change.

Thoughts?

Paul

2. Jan 8, 2007 #2 of 32
    Knon2000

Knon2000 Legend

Nov 20, 2006
    Maybe you have hit onto something.
    My recievers all have the b band converters connected. I do know that