1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question about the guide

Discussion in 'ViP612/622/722/722K DVR Support Forum' started by frankiepdx, Aug 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. frankiepdx

frankiepdx Cool Member

Aug 29, 2006
    I'm thinking about making the jump from Cable in HD to Dish for the HD. Some people i knew that had Dish were unhappy mainly because of the guide problems. Saying that the guide only showed programs for only a few days ahead and even sometimes nothing at all. Note that they were using the free non-HD boxes.

I do know that the Vip622 is a big jump from the old but i wanted to know are these problems still happening. I was hoping for a guide that says the programs for the next 2 weeks like the other companies.

I'm a newbie,be kind.

2. ChuckA

ChuckA Hall Of Fame

Feb 7, 2006
    9 days with the 622.

3. Rob Glasser

Rob Glasser Hall Of Fame Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

Feb 22, 2005
    Just as an FYI, if you are going to use an antenna for OTA reception you will only get guide data for stations that DISH carries, and only if you subscribe to DISH locals as well.

You will not get any information for other local channels not carried by DISH or any sub channels.

Disclaimer: There are probably exceptions to this but this is the general rule. Just didn't want you to expect to see EVERYTHING from your OTA antenna in the guide and be disappointed when you don't.

4. debpasc

debpasc Legend

Oct 20, 2005
    Also FYI -- since installation in April I have consistently had the full 9 days of Guide without any problems.

5. davisdog

davisdog Mentor

Dec 26, 2002
    what's the most # of channels that you can display at a time in the guide (with Video)...Is 5 the most (that's what I've seen) or can you fit more?

Also, I understand in the extended mode you can see 3 hours?

6. James Long