1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Remote control question

Discussion in 'ViP612/622/722/722K DVR Support Forum' started by allenwoodruff, May 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. allenwoodruff

allenwoodruff Cool Member

Feb 3, 2004
    I have a 622 in my bedroom but the primary TV is the plasma in the living room. The installer said the #1 remote must have clear view of the receiver in order to work. In other words it won’t work through the walls. Since I have my plasma on the wall with no AV rack, I have no place for the 622 in the living room. I have been using the 921 for two years this way. Any help? Surely the has to be a way around this.

2. lujan

lujan Hall Of Fame

Feb 10, 2004
    Just use the IR (1) remote in the bedroom where the 622 is located and use the UHF (2) remote in the living room. Am I missing something here?

3. Rob Glasser

Rob Glasser Hall Of Fame Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

Feb 22, 2005
    Yes, if the receiver is in single user mode. If in single user mode remote 1 (IR) and remote 2 (UHF) provide identical control and the receiver will operate like the 921, i.e. PIP, etc ...

However, if you want to run in dual mode so the bedroom TV can be watching something different than the plasma in the living room then you will need to buy an additional UHF Pro remote and do some additional configuration. Mike Johnson wrote up a section on how to do this with a second UHF Pro Remote in our review, found here: http://www.dbstalk.com/622review/DBSTalkViP622Review.pdf

I believe there were some software issues with this at one point, not sure if they were fixed or not. Maybe someone that has done this can post their results.

Doing this isn't all that uncommon, pretty much need to use this anytime you want to have your 622 out of visible sight.

4. CABill

CABill Hall Of Fame

Mar 20, 2005