1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Running coax and ground wire from antenna

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by IDRick, Aug 15, 2009.

1. IDRick

IDRick Godfather

Feb 15, 2007
    Hello experts!

I need some advice from you! :) Switching to D* is contingent on finishing an antenna install. I've done a lot of testing to find the optimal location and OTA antenna for my location and am just about ready to do the install. My home is a single story ranch style and the antenna will be mounted at the north end of the home (roof mount, not gable mount). My home has vinyl siding and metal covers on the soffits.

Can you recommend a procedure for running the rg-6 four feet to the eaves and down to the bottom of the siding? I've never done this before so don't know what to buy and how to do it. Do you recommend using these: http://www.prosatellitesupply.com/vinyl_siding_clips_vertical.htm I am trying to minimize length of cable run (total will be over 150 ft) otherwise I could run it over to the corner of roof, down under the corner cover, and then over horizontally with the horizontal clips to the planned entry point.

What should I use to mount the grounding block to the vinyl siding?

Anyone have any pictures that illustrate a correct drip loop and how to install the siding clips?

Thanks!

Rick

2. BattleZone

BattleZone Hall Of Fame

Nov 13, 2007
    IMO, siding clips are nearly worthless. They're hard to use, the cable sticks far out from the wall, and the sun will destroy the clips in a year or two leaving your cable hanging loose.

We use screw-in cable clips exclusively. Yes, it puts tiny holes in the siding, but the cable stays put and we've never had a complaint.

[​IMG][​IMG]

3. joe diamond

joe diamond Hall Of Fame

Feb 28, 2007
    1. Forget the plastic clips.