1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Satellite Lifespan

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by jeffreydavisjr, Aug 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jeffreydavisjr

jeffreydavisjr Legend

Jul 12, 2007
    I was reading up on the D10 satellite launched earlier this year. It stated it had a 15 year life span. I was just wondering. What happens in 15 years?

Will the satellite just fall from the sky and land in the south pacific?

Or will it be brough back to earth?

How does this effect DirecTV service? Do they expect other satellites in the future to make this one obsolete?

Questions, questions...

2. davring

davring Hall Of Fame

Jan 13, 2007
    I am by no means an expert, but it is my understanding that they begin to run out of fuel. I have read that some are older than planned and still function in a limited capacity. Hopefully someone will chime in here with much more to add.

3. jeffreydavisjr

jeffreydavisjr Legend

Jul 12, 2007
    But the D10 is solar powered....

"18,000 Watts of Space Craft Power"

4. davring

davring Hall Of Fame

Jan 13, 2007
    The fuel is used to keep it in proper position, they do drift about.

5. mhayes70

mhayes70 New Member

Mar 21, 2006
    I have always wonder the same thing. What do they do with them when they have lived there lifespan?

6. say-what

say-what Active Member

Dec 14, 2006
    New Orleans
    Well, regardless of when a satellite ceases to function, they all will eventually fall to earth, most of the sat will burn up as it breaks apart re-entering earth's atmosphere and what doesn't burn up will crash into the earth, who knows where.......

15 years is just the expected life span. Some last longer, some don't. But as we near the end of the expected lifesapn, replacements are planned.

7. samw

samw Cool Member

Jan 6, 2007