1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the new DBSTalk community platform. We have recently migrated to a community platform called Xenfono and hope you will find this change to your liking. There are some differences, but for the most part, if you just post and read, that will all be the same. If you have questions, please post them in the Forum Support area. Thanks!

slimline 3 lnb/hr22 installation?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by Buco444, Feb 2, 2009.

1. Buco444

Buco444 New Member

Feb 2, 2009
    Hi everybody,
    friend of mine asked me to do sat install for him. He has old 18" dish and wants to go HD.
    He's got new plasma tv, slimline 3 lnb (with 4 out) dish and HR22-100 receiver. Only one coax from dish to the tv location and he is fine with not having dual tuner option but I'll try to run additional coax if it's not complicated.
    I'm an av installer and have done plenty of sat installs in the past with older style dishes but never a slimeline version.
    I was browsing various sites today trying to get familiar with process of installing and fine tuning.
    I would like to make sure that I'm not going to need any extra hardware besides dish and a receiver so:
    - I hear mention of a separate power inverter to power up the LNB, it looks like this would only apply to SWM line but not sure 100%
    - I'll still need Ka/Ku converter connected, right?
    - Install is in Galena, IL and I found El-Az-Tilt to be 40-196-79 respectively (numbers are rounded), would this be true for this type of dish?
    - I heard of a trick in this educational video that tells you to force the receiver into software update mode by punching in 0 2 4 6 8 from a remote on a hello screen, is this helpful and necessary?