1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Slimline VS AT9

Discussion in 'DIRECTV General Discussion' started by mridan, Aug 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mridan

mridan Godfather

Nov 15, 2006
    Does the new slimline dish get any better signal strength than the older AT9 dish?

2. LameLefty

LameLefty I used to be a rocket scientist

Sep 28, 2006
    Middle...
    In a word, no. If your dish is aligned and peaked well, it won't matter which of the two you use. I have an AT-9 and I get mid- to upper 90's (and quite a few 100's) for almost all the transponders aimed in my direction, from all the sats I receive. I'm guessing I'll do as well for 103 once D10 goes active (right now I don't receive any signals from there for my location - just some 30's and 40's from spotbeams aimed at other locations).

3. Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet The Shadow Knows!

Jun 18, 2006
    No difference in signal quality, just the slimline is easier to assemble and some folks find it more attractive, if that makes a difference to you.

4. Proc

Proc Godfather

Jan 19, 2006
    C'mon fellas, accrding to the "Are you ready for High Definition" video running on Channel 77, our AT9 is the "Sidecar" dish...lol

5. Sirshagg

Sirshagg Hall Of Fame

Dec 29, 2006
    It is a fitting name.

6. Sirshagg

Sirshagg Hall Of Fame

Dec 29, 2006
    Just had a 3lnb replaced with the slimline and it was nice that the they could use the same holes instead of making more holes in the side of my house.

7. PoitNarf

PoitNarf New Member

Aug 19, 2006
    My AT9 gets very good signals as well. I get several transponders at 100 and all that are aimed in my direction are no lower than 96 :D

8. Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich Lifetime Achiever

Nov 15, 2005
    They couldn't...

The larger size, and weight... required an increased footprint.

They should be able to reuse two...