1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

some HD channel problems

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by jkirk, Feb 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Feb 6, 2007 #1 of 16
    jkirk

jkirk AllStar

Jan 26, 2007
    Hello,

I have a new (2 weeks) hr-20 that has been very stable (so far). All is well except I get very faint horizontal lines moving from bottom to top on my HD channels. I'm using component feeds to a plasma. I'm still using my Spaun switch, not the supplied Zinwell- and I have a UPS for power. It is faint, though a paused black screen will highlight it pretty well.

Any thoughts or tips would be greatly apprec.

Best,

jk

2. Feb 6, 2007 #2 of 16
    LameLefty

LameLefty I used to be a rocket scientist

Sep 28, 2006
    Middle...
    Do the lines continue to move when the image is paused? If so, it sounds like you have some analog interference in the signal chain. Check to make sure your component cable connectors are fully seated at both ends, and if possible, try another set of cables.

If the lines freeze when you pause, then that sounds like your HR20 may have a bad decoder or something internal like the frame buffer, causing an image artifact as it creates the signal. Can you post any screen pics?

3. Feb 6, 2007 #3 of 16
    jkirk

jkirk AllStar

Jan 26, 2007
    Thanks, the lines do continue moving when paused. I'll try diff. cables.

4. Feb 6, 2007 #4 of 16
    hr20manray

hr20manray Guest

Dec 18, 2006
    I get vertical lines going right to left when I use the component cables. It goes away completely with the hdmi connection. (hr20 to pioneer pdp5071)

5. Feb 6, 2007 #5 of 16
    mganga

mganga Godfather

Dec 4, 2006
    wires

6. Feb 7, 2007 #6 of 16
    jkirk

jkirk AllStar

Jan 26, 2007
    Thanks!! I dont know why my installer used componet, I switched to HDMI and the problem is solved..

7. Feb 7, 2007 #7 of 16