1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOUND went bad on 722 VIP fiber optic help

Discussion in 'General DISH™ Discussion' started by Silvernut, Sep 12, 2009.

1. Silvernut

Silvernut New Member

Sep 12, 2009
    Hi I am new to any site talking about this stuff. I know that what I have to say must have been said over and over but I am not sure where to find what I am looking for so here I go.
    I had a 625 using fiber optic sound to my Onkio 605. Just upgraded to a 722VIP have a new and first time ever wide screen TV on the way. Had an older 32 inch I think. Ok now my sound was great with the 625 and fiber optic cable. When the 722 was put in I had only left and right front also center speakers. No sub – sides or rear. Wow I have been told by to people that gave me the 722 it was my old TV. I knew it could not be that for I went right from the 625 and 722 VIP with fiber optic and again, video with a S cable to TV only. I just made the change to RCA left and right got a high end surround sound bright sounding. Don’t sound just right to me. Wish I knew what was going on… all was good until the 722 VIP came along. My new TV, Philips 52 inch LCD HDTV on back ordered didn’t know until we went to get one from the back was none - be here in a few days. I have HDMI on my 722 VIP and Onkio 605 and new Philips TV but the TV has no fiber optic input or outputs. Am sure by now you guys know I don’t know very much about this but I am hopping for a little help in what I should do. I have RCA left right, red blue green, S video and HDMI on the TV but no fiber optic that is the sound that I love. Thing is if it is not going to work on the 722 VIP what is my best solution? I know so well to most of you this is silly but not to me. Should I ask for a new 722 VIP ?
    Thank you so much

2. olds403

olds403 Godfather

Nov 20, 2007