1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Space Available?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by majikmarker, Oct 23, 2008.

1. majikmarker

majikmarker AllStar

Feb 27, 2005
    Arlington, WA
    I'm curious how this is possible and if there is a fix...I currently have 3 hours of SD and 2 hours of HD on my HR20-100. The "Space Available" meter says I have only 44% available for future recordings. That cannot be correct so where is my reserve? Is this a sign of a corrupt or failing HDD?

Purely vanilla set-up, no extras....

Thanks for any help.

2. LameLefty

LameLefty I used to be a rocket scientist

Sep 28, 2006
    Middle...
    Sounds like you may have a corrupt recording. Do you have the option of deleting those programs before recording anything new? I'm curious what it'll say your free space is if you have no recordings listed at all.

3. carl6

carl6 Moderator Staff Member DBSTalk Club

Nov 15, 2005
    Seattle, WA
    The HR20-100 should support roughly 30 hours of mpeg2 HD, 50 hours of mpeg4 HD, or 200 hours of mpeg2 SD. 2 hours of mpeg2 HD should take about 7%. Another 3 hours of SD should take about 1.5%, so combined you should be at about 8.5% usage or 91.5% free.

But, the type of recording can have a major impact. If your 2 hours of HD are high activity sports, like a football game, it will take somewhat more than "average" space. If it's low to moderate activity it should take about average. If it's a movie (not live), it generally gets dual pass compression which means it will typically take less space.

The total space on the drive is divided into two "compartments". One of those is reserved space for DirecTV to use, and should have no impact on the user space available. The other is the user space, rated as I noted above.