1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Switching to Satellite

Discussion in 'General Satellite Discussion' started by LivingItUp74, Jan 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LivingItUp74

LivingItUp74 New Member

Jan 18, 2005
    Hello!

I currently have Digital Cable with Adelphia, and I have had some very bad experiences with them and their service.

I have decided that it is time to make the switch to Satellite. But with that, I have several questions. I'm glad I found this forum. I hope that you can help answer some questions I have for everyone.

1. Direct TV or Dish Network? I am not concerned about sports programming or even HDTV programming, so both systems are on an equal playing field in my eyes. Looking at both systems online, I have found that each has some advantages, and some disadvantages.

2. Which system offers the best deal? Lowest price? (Both up front and ongoing?) I have heard from some people that you can pit the two companies againts each other and get a lower price. Is that true? Has anyone here done that? Someone I know went back and forth between Dish & Direct TV and wound up getting a lower monthly price with more services, etc.

3. I have 7 cable outlets in my home at this time. Of these, only 4 actually need full satellite cabability, but I would like the others to have some basic channels if possible. My homeowners association dues actually include free basic cable, so I do not know if it is possible (because I don't know how the satellite is hooked up), but I could keep the basic cable connected to the outside box and continue to get basic cable on the other home TV's. But, how would I get the satellite signal then? :)