1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the new DBSTalk community platform. We have recently migrated to a community platform called Xenfono and hope you will find this change to your liking. There are some differences, but for the most part, if you just post and read, that will all be the same. If you have questions, please post them in the Forum Support area. Thanks!

SWM + DECA + Cable Modem - Design

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Connected Home' started by vyslouzil, Jun 27, 2010.

1. vyslouzil

vyslouzil New Member

May 12, 2008
    I understand this is not a supported method for SWM, however I have been running this setup since mid 2008 with zero issues. I'm looking to integrate DECA into this setup, however my Holland STVC splitter/combiner does not pass the 500-600Mhz on the SAT port. Does anyone have any idea how I can get to the proposed state? I'm wondering if replacing the STVC's with SWS-2's will do the track..but are SWS-2 fully bi-directional, or do they filter out everything except for the SWM communication?

Working setup..no DECA:
    [​IMG]

Proposed setup..doesn't work due to STVC splitters blocking DECA:
    [​IMG]

Would appreciate any ideas..I'm unfort stuck stacking my cable modem on top of my SWM signals due to my home wiring/limitations.

FYI: My cable modem uses ~30MHz and ~843MHz ..so there is room in there for it.
    STVC specs: http://www.hollandelectronics.com/catalog/upload_file/Filters-Diplexers.pdf

2. veryoldschool

veryoldschool Lifetime Achiever Staff Member Super Moderator DBSTalk Club

Dec 9, 2006
    "simply put": you're screwed.
    The Cable modem and the DECA work in the same bands, so you'd need to filter DECA from the cable modem and hope you don't have two frequencies that are too close or overlap, "and then" diplex out the DECA from the SAT feed and feed them separately, which might require a PI to power each DECA.

3. vyslouzil