1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SWM - Large building installation problems

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by satguyj, Jul 20, 2009.

1. satguyj

satguyj New Member

Jul 20, 2009
    I'm in a LARGE pickle right now. I have layers of IT mangment asking me why TV isn't working, and I just don't know. I'm a not an installer or RF enigneer, just a guy. ANY HELP would be apprecaited.

Here's my situation:

We have a SWM install done by our technology partner. Bottom line is all 8 receivers can't see the dish.

Here's our setup from top of the building down:

- 5 LNB and paired dish AU9-SL5-SWM
    - Quad shielded RG 6
    - ~200 ft of RG 6 from roof to IDF Closet

- DirecTV PI-28 Switching Power Supply
    - A Sonora Designs LA 141R swm amp w. power supply in IDF closet
    - ~200 ft of RG 6 from IDF to IDF Closet

- A Sonora Designs LA 141R swm amp w. power supply in IDF closet
    - ~200 ft of RG 6 from IDF to IDF Closet

- Two (2) Sonora Designs LA 141R swm amp w. power supply in IDF closet
    ~200 ft of RG 6 from IDF to Head End rack.

- A DirecTV SWM 1x8 splitter
    - 8 DirecTV H21 receivers

We seem to have VERY sporadic ability to get signal. When we do, we can do activation, etc.. Wiring and alignment is all expected to be good, though we don't have a way to test for small line damage. A tone on each segment came back fine. Having only 1 receiver attached to the red "out" on the 8 way SWM splitter, worked for a day, now doesn't.

I've been told repeatedly that this SHOULD work, but it doesn't.

Is there anyone who has any luck with getting a SWM system working reliably @ 800 ft with SWM amps, etc....

If SWM isn't an option, what would it take to get a 4 wire system reliably working?

2. carl6

carl6 Moderator Staff Member DBSTalk Club

Nov 15, 2005
    Seattle, WA