1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the new DBSTalk community platform. We have recently migrated to a community platform called Xenfono and hope you will find this change to your liking. There are some differences, but for the most part, if you just post and read, that will all be the same. If you have questions, please post them in the Forum Support area. Thanks!

Tax time for 2012, software or online?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk - Gadgets, Gizmos and Technology' started by armophob, Jan 5, 2013.

1. Jan 5, 2013 #1 of 60
    armophob

armophob Difficulty Concen........ DBSTalk Club

Nov 13, 2006
    Fort Pierce, FL
    I have been using Turbo Tax online for a few years now.
    I am about to do the same.
    Anyone have a better idea?

2. Jan 5, 2013 #2 of 60
    hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001 DIRECTV A-Team

Jul 28, 2004
    I've used TurboTax software (not online) for more than 8 years now.

Very satisfied, and welcome the data being locally secure as opposed to online somewhere else. It comes down to preference.

I have tried 2 other tax packages, but they seem far less intuitive and also lacked the powerful help that comes with TurboTax IMHO.

3. Jan 5, 2013 #3 of 60
    SayWhat?

SayWhat? Know Nothing

Jun 6, 2009
    I do it on-line. Different sites based on the IRS free-file recommendations. Don't why they change guidelines every year, but I can usually find one that free-files both the Fed and State.

4. Jan 5, 2013 #4 of 60
    armophob

Nov 13, 2006
    Fort Pierce, FL
    I guess I always assumed the data was stored on my computer even with the online version.
    I had not even considered the security aspect of it.
    Might be time to buy the software again.

5. Jan 5, 2013 #5 of 60
    hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001 DIRECTV A-Team

Jul 28, 2004