1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using a Dish 500 antenna w/Hopper Receiver

Discussion in 'Hopper System Support Forum' started by dservati1, Dec 15, 2014.

1. dservati1

dservati1 New Member

Dec 15, 2014
    Western New...
    Hi I am very new to the Sat world and did a search with no results so I'm posting here to see if I can get some help.

I'd like to take my Hopper receiver with me camping we don't go often enought to invest in those RV set ups, but when we have gone it seems like there was a night NASCAR race or great Football game that I missed. Anyway now that you know my tastes in programing here is my question:

Can I use my old Dish 500 antenna with my new Hopper receiver?

I have a current Dish HD account with the Hopper (w/sling) and 2 Joey's and a single node switch.
    I also have my old Dish 500 antenna and picked up a Multi-node switch - I think it's a DP33

From what I understand the Dish 500 used sats 110* and 119* and the Hopper points to 61.5*

I took the 500 and mounted it to my camper's ladder and hooked the antenna and switch to the hopper reciever (i have a inexpensive sat finder meter with a needle gauge & buzzer) I did use dishpointer.com for the settings (14624)

I got some signals and the receiver indicated that most were unautherized or unrecognized sat ( I think it was Echostar). I tried to approximate the pointing of the Dish with a camper that had the a DishHD set up on a Tri-pod. I tried switching the reciver via the menu from sat 61.5 to 110* 119* 129* with little luck.

Do I have the right combination of dish, switch, reciver? I ran out of time as the wife & kids was getting annoyed that I was wasting valuable camping time :)

So any advice? What combo of equipment do I need?

I also have a DirectTV multi-satelite dish with 3 LNB that seems a bit smaller than the Dish500, is that compatible with the Dish Reciever?