1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using the Media Sharing option

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by KennyH123, Aug 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KennyH123

KennyH123 New Member

Aug 22, 2007
    Sorry about this quation if its stupid... Im a noob.. just ordered my HR20 and am trading my Tivo unit in...

My question concerns the Media Sharing capability of the HR20... it says it requires a computer that has Intel Viiv technology... I can't find that on anything but desktop PC's.....

Does anyone know if laptops are made with Intel Viiv technology?

2. Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo Lifetime Achiever

Oct 20, 2006
    :welcome_s to DBSTalk

You do not need a PC that has Intel Viiv Technology. The majority of us that are using the media share option are not using Viiv PC's.

All 3 of my PC's that I am using are not Viiv and I just use WMP11 and all 3 work great with my HR20's.

3. KennyH123

KennyH123 New Member

Aug 22, 2007
    Thanks for the info....

4. flexoffset

flexoffset Godfather

Jul 16, 2007
    I'm running it from inside Parallels on my MacPro as are several others, I think.

5. Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet The Shadow Knows!

Jun 18, 2006
    That information is out of date. In fact, Intel is "de-emphasizing" the Viiv brand anyway. Check out the information resources subforum for more information.

Glad to have you here!

6. KennyH123

KennyH123 New Member

Aug 22, 2007
    OK. So then would I still need to download the Media Share software that the Direct TV site tells me I'll need? Or is that not necessary?

7. say-what

say-what Active Member

Dec 14, 2006
    New Orleans
    Windows Media Player 11 works
    TVersity works
    There have been some others, but those are the 2 I recall.

Not sure what the site is saying to download, but I'm using an old XP-pro system with WMP11 - no VIIV anywhere near my system.