1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What do I need to look out for in a new installation?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Installation/MDU Discussion' started by Bigoober, Sep 20, 2010.

1. Bigoober

Bigoober New Member

Sep 20, 2010
    A newbie here who was going to call and set up new service this week fat, dumb, and happy! That was until I poked through this forum over the last couple of days.

I figured my only worry was going to be trying to get the wires hidden as much as possible. Now, it seems I have to wonder which boxes I would receive amongst numerous other items.

I plan on establishing service with the Premier plan, 2 HD DVRs, 1 HD receiver, whole home dvr and internet connection kit.

What items do I need to be aware of? Do I have any control over it if I am ordering this via the internet?

All help is appreciated. Thanks.

2. mcbeevee

mcbeevee 97% Complete

Sep 18, 2006
  3. The Merg

The Merg 1*

Jun 24, 2007
    Northern VA
    That thread is a bit old...

With your install, you will get a SWiM install. What this means is that you will have one cable run to each receiver. The cable runs will need to come from one location. If your house is already pre-wired, as long as the cable to each room is a home run (goes straight from a central location direct to the room with no splits), the installer should be able to use that.

As you are a new install, you will most likely (but not a 100% certainty) get HR24's and a H24. In this case, the installer will just plug the coax into the receiver and they will communicate with each other (Multi-Room Viewing). If you don't get a HR24 or H24, the receivers will also have a DECA unit connected to them. With the Internet Connection Kit, a coax cable will be run (or split) near your router/ethernet cable and a DECA and Power Inserter will be connected to bridge the receivers to your home network/Internet.

HTH,
    Merg