DBSTalk Forum banner

What else do I need?

7K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  doc115 
#1 ·
I am not a Techie so bare with me please. I have Directv, multiple basic receivers, and my main receiver is the HR24 HD receiver that I got last month and am trying to connect to the internet. I do not have WHDVR. I have a DIRECTV Cinema Connection Kit (DECABB1R0) with pwer cord and ethernet cable and nothing else.I am wondering what else I need in order to get hooked up to my network and where each piece is to be placed (connected to HR24, connected to router, Etc.). Any help will be greatly appreciated, and If I am in the wrong forum, please direct me to the right place and I will happily go there.

#2 ·
Please breakdown the model numbers of all your boxes. And tell us if you have one or two coax connected to each DVR?

With a better idea of your current setup, you'll get better replies from this group.

#3 ·
I have 2 - D11-100 receivers with one coax, 1 - R16-300 with one coax hookup, and the new HR24-500 with 2 coax hookups. As I said, I am not looking to set up whole home DVR so the other receivers are probably irrelevant to my query. My focus is one getting the network connection on to the HR24-500. I hope this helps.

#4 ·
The DECA BB adapter you have is of no use to you since that only works in SWM. you only option to connect to the internet are 1) connect the HR24 directly to your router using an ethernet cable, or using the DirecTV wireless DECA or a gaming adapter (aka ethernet bridge) for wireless connectivity

If you connect directly with ethernet, you need to do a menu reset once the cable is connected at both ends to enable the ethernet jack which is disable by default

#5 ·
That's why I am asking "what else do I need" in order to use the DECA BB. Can I use the DECA BB if I get the SWM? and if so, where would I install the each unit? I would connect Ethernet directly to the router, but the receiver and router are in different rooms.

#7 ·