1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the new DBSTalk community platform. We have recently migrated to a community platform called Xenfono and hope you will find this change to your liking. There are some differences, but for the most part, if you just post and read, that will all be the same. If you have questions, please post them in the Forum Support area. Thanks!

What the heck is this??

Discussion in 'Technical Talk (Closed Forum)' started by 88fan, Mar 19, 2005.

1. 88fan

88fan Legend

Jan 22, 2004
    Ok I've been doing all kinds of satellites and antennas for about 7 years now, but my neighbor just had something installed and I was curious what the heck it is. It is mounted on a dish mast that either dish or direct would use, and instead of a dish on it, there is a rectangular white box clamped on it. This box is about 12 inches high and 6 inches wide and about 4-6 inches deep. It is facing the southwestern sky too. Is this some generic off air antenna or what? Curiousity is killing me.

2. BuckeyeChris

BuckeyeChris Icon/Supporter

Apr 20, 2004
    Just guessing, but it could be a WiFi antenna. Your neighbor may be illegally creating a WiFi hotspot for other neighbors to share.

3. 88fan

88fan Legend

Jan 22, 2004
    Share what? They don't have satellite, I know that for a fact, they're on cable.

4. Steve Mehs

Steve Mehs Hall Of Fame

Mar 21, 2002
    Share internet. For examples sake lets say cable internet in your area is $50. Get a cheap wireless router from WalMart, have the neighbors get cheap PCI or USB adaptors, and charge them $10-$15 a month or something that costs $50. They get cheap broadband, you get free broadband or even make a profit.