1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which DISH, switches do I need?

Discussion in 'General DISH™ Discussion' started by Chandu, Apr 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chandu

Chandu Hall Of Fame

Oct 2, 2005
    I've been lurking around here for a couple of months doing a lot of research on DISH, reading opinions about the new MPEG-4 receivers etc. There is a lot of information to digest and I'm a bit of a newbie in the satellite world. I figured if I kept doing research, I would end up doing it for years without actually getting anything. Well, I've finally decided enough is enough and want to order some programming. But I'm still confused on what exact equipment should I be getting, since there is so much different information I've read, and my requirements are a lot.

This is the programming I'm interested in:

DISH HD Gold + South Asian international programming + Latino Bonus option pack.

I'm NOT interested in getting any local HD channels from DISH. I've got that all figured out with my own ATSC tuner.

I have a total of 3 HDTVs, but at a given time don't need to be watching HD programming on more than 1 of them. I think I'll use the DVR from DISH, meaning I'll need the DISH 622 receiver.

If I did my research right, DISH 622 will allow me to watch only 1 HD program at a time. But it will allow me to record 2 HD programs at a time, correct? If this is the case, I think I'll be happy with either owning or leasing only a single 622. (Still haven't decided whether to own or lease, but that's a topic for another thread.)

Now, the main question. Which dish do I really need? Will a single DISH 1000 will be able to receive all of the above programming I'm interested in?