1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xbox 360 Pass thru ethernet on HR21-200

Discussion in 'DIRECTV HD DVR/Receiver Discussion' started by lexxsf, Oct 22, 2008.

1. lexxsf

lexxsf New Member

Oct 22, 2008
    I'm trying to get the second ethernet port on my HR21-200 to work with my Xbox 360. I have a Netgear Wireless Game Adapter hooked up to the ethernet on my HR21-200 and ON Demand and Directv2pc works great. However, the Xbox doesn't seem to want to get an IP address. When I run the network setup test in the Xbox Dashboard, it only finds the network adapter as "wired" and then on the IP Address detection part it fails. Is this because I'm using a WGA and not a hardwired connection?

2. LameLefty

LameLefty I used to be a rocket scientist

Sep 28, 2006
    Middle...
    Not sure what's going on there. I have my Slingbox connected via passthrough to my R22-200 and it pulls an IP from my router just fine.

I'd check to make sure your router settings are correct and that it is using DHCP to assign your 360 an IP. Have you tried connecting the 360 directly to the gaming adapter to see if it works that way?

3. lexxsf

lexxsf New Member

Oct 22, 2008
    Hooking up the WGA directly to the 360 works fine. I've actually been using the WGA on the 360 and just recently hooked it up to my HR21 to get On Demand. Are there any settings in the HR21 that I need to mess with to turn on the second ethernet port? I basically just plugged up the WGA to the Hr21 and ran the quick setup and everything worked fine.

4. Starchy77

Starchy77 Godfather

Jul 18, 2008
    Shouldnt need any settings on the HR21, I believe it is active anytime something is plugged into it (may want to check to be sure the lights are on the port when it is plugged in). I use the pass through on mine to a second HR21 with no issues.

5. pmpartners

pmpartners New Member

Mar 27, 2008