Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HD Discusson: NHL Network (Channel 215)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
158 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   eengert

eengert

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 241 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 31 October 2007 - 07:38 AM

Anyone know if this is supposed to be included in the Familiar Ultra package (spanish equivalent to Choice Xtra)?
- Eric

---------------------------------------------
D* Equipment:
2 - HR20-700's
8-ch SWM

Televisions:
50" Sony SXRD (xbr1)
32" JVC SD CRT

AVR:
Denon AVR 2307CI

Other Components:
Slingbox AV
Toshiba HD-A2 HD-DVD Player
Playstation 3 (60Gb)

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   Peter305

Peter305

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,135 posts
Joined: May 24, 2006

Posted 31 October 2007 - 07:49 AM

bwaldron,

Is this the same content that is on the CA net? Or is it a US net.

Thanks


The content looks pretty much the same to me...Except for the commercial I saw at 8:59 AM Eastern for a US Senator!

#23 OFFLINE   Peter305

Peter305

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,135 posts
Joined: May 24, 2006

Posted 31 October 2007 - 07:50 AM

[quote name='Chuck W']I'd call and see what's up.

IMO, if Directv wants to do this right, they should make this channel accessible to ANYONE who purchased the CI package(at least thru the season), regardless if they have the "plus" package or not.

I just hace the NHL CI Package and it was on my TV this morning...in SD. I don't know if there is a difference with HD.

#24 OFFLINE   bosbruins33

bosbruins33

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2007

Posted 31 October 2007 - 07:59 AM

thank god for hockey 24/7. this is a great great day for hockey fans. i must say i am surprised though that they launched the sd and hd channel on the same day, figured the hd channel wouldn't come out till december for so.

#25 OFFLINE   nth78

nth78

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 137 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2007

Posted 31 October 2007 - 08:22 AM

so do you for sure have to have Plus to get this? I've only got Total Choice. I'd like to have NHL but I'm not gonna pay any more for it.

#26 OFFLINE   pedro4868

pedro4868

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2007

Posted 31 October 2007 - 08:26 AM

This is wierd, I'm getting the sd channel of nhl network but the hd version has a 721 message. I guess I gotta call D*.
Go Blues.....


Westinghouse 37" LTV-37w2
Olevia 27'' hdtv
5 LNB Sat.
HR-20 700 (1)
H20 Receiver (1)

#27 OFFLINE   islesfan

islesfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,633 posts
  • LocationNevada
Joined: Oct 18, 2006

Posted 31 October 2007 - 08:35 AM

what base package do you have?


I'm getting it too, although I'd better since I get NHLCI as well!

Sony Bravia 55"
HR20-700
HR21-700
HDMI
HP Touchsmart IQ 846 (Windows 8) for DirecTV2PC and Media Share

GenieGO

iPhone 4S

iPad


#28 OFFLINE   awalt

awalt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 194 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 31 October 2007 - 08:43 AM

I am getting NHL in both SD and HD, the HD picture is very good. But like others, my audio is way out of sync with video...first time I have seen this on any channel...

#29 OFFLINE   marlen

marlen

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 216 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2006

Posted 31 October 2007 - 08:52 AM

This is wierd, I'm getting the sd channel of nhl network but the hd version has a 721 message. I guess I gotta call D*.


Just got off the phone with a general CSR and a "Tech" csr. Neither had any idea as to why the SD signal is getting thru and the HD is not. They reauthorized my account and resent info to my receivers, but no luck. THe tech guy said he is sending the info over to the "main command center", as this was the first time he heard of the problem and did not have any talking points to share with me regarding fixing this. Seeing that this just launched today, I suspect that bugs are present.

To add more intrigue - my HR20-700 was updated overnight to 0X1B4. Don't think that means much, as I did a reset this morning on that unti, as well as a reset on the HR20-100 in my Family room. Neither was successful in obtaining the HD signal after the reboot...
HR20-700
HR20-100

#30 OFFLINE   bosco10021

bosco10021

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 514 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2006

Posted 31 October 2007 - 08:53 AM

looks good but the audio/lip sync is off a bit
for me at the moment...



Thanks Directv for this great channel addition, however you need to tweek the audio/video sync on the HD channel.

#31 OFFLINE   Ruhnie

Ruhnie

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2007

Posted 31 October 2007 - 08:55 AM

I don't even know what kind of programming to expect on this channel, but I am already giddy to go home and check it out. This is possibly the greatest channel of all-time.

#32 OFFLINE   Peter305

Peter305

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,135 posts
Joined: May 24, 2006

Posted 31 October 2007 - 09:14 AM

I don't even know what kind of programming to expect on this channel, but I am already giddy to go home and check it out. This is possibly the greatest channel of all-time.


At this point in time the US version of the NHL Network seems to be picking up the Canadian schedule, which is just fine with me! :)

The Canadian version of the channel has a website which is here....

http://www.tsn.ca/nhl_network/

#33 OFFLINE   Cpt Guavaberry

Cpt Guavaberry

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Oct 15, 2007

Posted 31 October 2007 - 09:21 AM

There is a Great Pumpkin. I waited in the pumpkin patch all night last night, fell asleep and when I woke up, there it was. The HD is clear and bright (some studio feed at lower def, but an okay attempt to upconvert). Hockey highlights in HD are awesome. And surprisingly enough, SD channel is there as well. I do not have Home Ice pak, but do have grandfathered Pre - Choice with HD and Sports Pak. 24/7 Hockey, and a live game on tonight to check quality of delivery, unless I'm blacked out. Sometimes I wonder why I spend the extra for the Sports Pak. Anyway, thanks D* for the delivery. Now, keep them coming.
LOWER THE LATTITUDE....
....LOWER THE ATTITUDE!
RELAX....LIVE LONGER !

#34 OFFLINE   Ruhnie

Ruhnie

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2007

Posted 31 October 2007 - 09:22 AM

At this point in time the US version of the NHL Network seems to be picking up the Canadian schedule, which is just fine with me! :)

The Canadian version of the channel has a website which is here....

http://www.tsn.ca/nhl_network/


Sweet. So here's a question, I see that the Columbus vs. L.A. game tonight is listed as being available both on NHL Network and channel 94 in HD. Will this actually be 2 different feeds, or does the carriage on NHL Network just mirror a broadcast from an RSN?

#35 OFFLINE   farjo08

farjo08

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2006

Posted 31 October 2007 - 09:26 AM

Just got off the phone with a general CSR and a "Tech" csr. Neither had any idea as to why the SD signal is getting thru and the HD is not. They reauthorized my account and resent info to my receivers, but no luck. THe tech guy said he is sending the info over to the "main command center", as this was the first time he heard of the problem and did not have any talking points to share with me regarding fixing this. Seeing that this just launched today, I suspect that bugs are present.

To add more intrigue - my HR20-700 was updated overnight to 0X1B4. Don't think that means much, as I did a reset this morning on that unti, as well as a reset on the HR20-100 in my Family room. Neither was successful in obtaining the HD signal after the reboot...


Same problem here. I get the SD feed, but not the HD feed. A call to D* will take place shortly.

#36 OFFLINE   marlen

marlen

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 216 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2006

Posted 31 October 2007 - 09:28 AM

Same problem here. I get the SD feed, but not the HD feed. A call to D* will take place shortly.


let us know what you hear...
HR20-700
HR20-100

#37 OFFLINE   al2

al2

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 104 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2007

Posted 31 October 2007 - 09:30 AM

Ge wiz, Mostly Pittsburgh (6) and Detroit(6) on the schedule. :down: Some teams only twice.
Directv HR20-100 via HDMI
Panny 50" Plasma (1080p native)
Sony Vaio with Blu-Ray via HDMI

#38 OFFLINE   jheda

jheda

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Registered
  • 1,363 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 31 October 2007 - 09:39 AM

I cross my fingers I have it, and can't wait to go home and check. I am old total choice plus and CI so i should be fine, you would think.
In any event great job by D* getting this out...

JHEDA

we miss you EARL

[SIZE="2"]Hr-24
Hr21-700 
Sony kds60a2000 yamaha 750 DD5.1 via components
Samsung DVD player via hdmi..r10 in playroom:)


#39 OFFLINE   jefbal99

jefbal99

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,838 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2007

Posted 31 October 2007 - 09:46 AM

There is a Great Pumpkin. I waited in the pumpkin patch all night last night, fell asleep and when I woke up, there it was. The HD is clear and bright (some studio feed at lower def, but an okay attempt to upconvert). Hockey highlights in HD are awesome. And surprisingly enough, SD channel is there as well. I do not have Home Ice pak, but do have grandfathered Pre - Choice with HD and Sports Pak. 24/7 Hockey, and a live game on tonight to check quality of delivery, unless I'm blacked out. Sometimes I wonder why I spend the extra for the Sports Pak. Anyway, thanks D* for the delivery. Now, keep them coming.


You got highlights in HD?

I was watching this morning and the highlights from last nights Vs. game were pillared.
Receiving Equipment: AU9 Slimline w/Zinwell WB68 & SWM 8 | Winegard MS-2000 w/PS-1503 Power Injector
Living Room: HR22-100 w/AM-21 | Samsung HL-S4266W (HDMI) | Ethernet MRV | Pioneer HTS-GS1 5.1 | Yamaha DV-S6160 (Component/Digital Coaxial)
Bedroom: H21-200 w/AM-21 | Westinghouse LVM-42w2 (HDMI) | Ethernet MRV
Home Theatre: HR20-100 | Sanyo PLV-Z60 (Component/Optical) | Flexio 16:9 100" Screen | Ethernet MRV |Yamaha YHT-690 | XBox 360 (Component) | Harmony 880

#40 OFFLINE   bosco10021

bosco10021

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 514 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2006

Posted 31 October 2007 - 09:47 AM

Just a thought..

The NHL Network that Directv broadcasts (from reports read here) is exactly the same as the Canadian version.

The NHL Network is part of TSN (the Canadian ESPN).

TSN broadcasts HD hockey games in Canada during the week, some of which are shown on Center Ice in SD.

Obviously the infrastructure is in place to receive the HD signal from The NHL Network / TSN.

If my logic is correct, Directv should then be able to show HD feeds of TSN hockey games on Center Ice.

Let's do it.




spam firewall