Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

eSata to HR20 Hookup


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Michael54017

Michael54017

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2007

Posted 31 October 2007 - 06:15 PM

Hi,
I've been watching the posts to see how to connect an eSATA to my HR20, I think I have it right but could someone verify this for me? I have an eSATA Free Agent Pro, 500GB and the HR20. So here's the steps, I think:

1. Shut down the HR 20 and unplug it.
2. Plug in the FA Pro to the eSATA port on the back of the HR20.
3. Power up the FA Pro, let it go for a minute or two.
4. Then plug in and turn on the HR20.

So do I have it right or did I miss a step?

Thanks,

Mike

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,839 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 31 October 2007 - 06:16 PM

Welcome to DBSTalk

Yes that is all you need to do.

#3 OFFLINE   Michael54017

Michael54017

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2007

Posted 31 October 2007 - 06:32 PM

Thanks Mike! I'll give it a shot!

Mike

#4 OFFLINE   Michael54017

Michael54017

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2007

Posted 31 October 2007 - 08:16 PM

Hi Mike,
I just wanted to let you know it looks like it's doing great!!!! I'm recording with it now, I can hardly wait to see how much stuff I can throw on there! Is there someplace I could go on the web to learn more about all this?

Thanks,

Mike

#5 OFFLINE   cartrivision

cartrivision

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,862 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 01 November 2007 - 01:42 AM

Hi,
I've been watching the posts to see how to connect an eSATA to my HR20, I think I have it right but could someone verify this for me? I have an eSATA Free Agent Pro, 500GB and the HR20. So here's the steps, I think:

1. Shut down the HR 20 and unplug it.
2. Plug in the FA Pro to the eSATA port on the back of the HR20.
3. Power up the FA Pro, let it go for a minute or two.
4. Then plug in and turn on the HR20.

So do I have it right or did I miss a step?

Thanks,

Mike


According to the Serial ATA International Organization (SATA-IO), eSATA devices are hot pluggable as stated here: http://www.serialata.org/esata.asp, so the following procedure would be safe and quicker:


1. Power up the FA Pro, let it go for a minute or two.
2. Plug in the FA Pro to the eSATA port on the back of the HR20.
3. Perform a menu reset on the HR20.

To switch back to the internal disk, simply do a menu reset on the HR20 and power down the external disk after the HR20 starts to reboot while leaving it plugged into the HR20 eSATA port.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...