Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * - 2 votes

Remote Control Questions


  • Please log in to reply
504 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Milominderbinder2

Milominderbinder2

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Registered
  • 4,107 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 05 November 2007 - 12:00 PM

Please post any questions, comments, or discussion about the Remote FAQ here.

Thank you,

- Craig

[Moderator edit: This thread now lives on even tho the FAQ has aged. So while the FAQ has been removed, please continue to ask questions about DIRECTV remotes. Someone will answer.] (tom)

Edited by Tom Robertson, 10 June 2010 - 10:36 AM.
Repurpose thread


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   cartrivision

cartrivision

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,862 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 05 November 2007 - 04:18 PM

A nice addition would be a summary in one place of all the "special directive" codes that do things such reset the remote, change it to IR or RF mode, enable the volume controls for AV devices, make the volume controls for an AV device the volume control to be used when in D* mode, etc.

#3 OFFLINE   KTrentLR

KTrentLR

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 134 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2007

Posted 05 November 2007 - 04:41 PM

Mine is quite sluggish. Sometimes I have to press buttons repeatedly.

I'm running in RF mode, but am thinking about going IR to see if I get better response. (Don't like idea of having to jockey the coffee table, but the slow response time is getting annoying.)

Also, as a wish list item, give some audible tone that the button was pressed. A beep, tone, click, anything! Because of the dropped key presses I have to watch the light on the front to see if it even captured the press.

HR20-100S: 1Be

#4 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,361 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 05 November 2007 - 04:45 PM

Great job on the FAQ, Craig!

If you think it would be useful, could you add a link to the following thread?

Logitech Reintroduces Harmony One Key Macros



There are a lot of Harmony users here, so this thread may benefit many people ...

Thanks!

#5 OFFLINE   Milominderbinder2

Milominderbinder2

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,107 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 06 November 2007 - 09:08 AM

A nice addition would be a summary in one place of all the "special directive" codes that do things such reset the remote, change it to IR or RF mode, enable the volume controls for AV devices, make the volume controls for an AV device the volume control to be used when in D* mode, etc.

Great idea. I do not have a set of codes like that. If you will post it, I will add it to the FAQ.

- Craig

#6 OFFLINE   Milominderbinder2

Milominderbinder2

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,107 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 06 November 2007 - 09:15 AM

Mine is quite sluggish. Sometimes I have to press buttons repeatedly.

I added those note in the FAQ under the RF section. Important info!

Also, as a wish list item, give some audible tone that the button was pressed.

Click here: Wish List. Please submit your idea. I miss all of my TiVo's bloops. DIRECTV has access to all TiVo patents so they should have no trouble emulating the TiVo or other sounds.

It would be great to have auditory feedback since it can take so long for the receiver to respond.

- Craig

#7 OFFLINE   Milominderbinder2

Milominderbinder2

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,107 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 06 November 2007 - 09:18 AM

Great job on the FAQ, Craig!

If you think it would be useful, could you add a link to the following thread?

Logitech Reintroduces Harmony One Key Macros

There are a lot of Harmony users here, so this thread may benefit many people ...

Thanks!

Great idea. I added an entire Harmony section with this and 9 other links.

In the main section, I also added a link to Remote Central.

- Craig

#8 OFFLINE   cartrivision

cartrivision

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,862 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 06 November 2007 - 01:47 PM

A nice addition would be a summary in one place of all the "special directive" codes that do things such reset the remote, change it to IR or RF mode, enable the volume controls for AV devices, make the volume controls for an AV device the volume control to be used when in D* mode, etc.

Great idea. I do not have a set of codes like that. If you will post it, I will add it to the FAQ.

- Craig


Unfortunately I don't have a list of them, I just remember seeing the few examples that I listed from when they were mentioned in various posts, but I was wondering if someone had a comprehensive list of all of the special codes.

#9 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,265 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 06 November 2007 - 08:05 PM

Nice job, Craig. I'd like to add JP1 remotes to your list as a cheap alternative to Harmony. DIY types who are a little computer savvy can get pretty close to Harmony functionality out of a $20 remote. Here's the main site that explains JP1 and has all the programs, files and info you need: http://www.hifi-remo...jp1/index.shtml

#10 OFFLINE   Milominderbinder2

Milominderbinder2

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,107 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 07 November 2007 - 10:06 AM

Nice job, Craig. I'd like to add JP1 remotes to your list as a cheap alternative to Harmony. DIY types who are a little computer savvy can get pretty close to Harmony functionality out of a $20 remote. Here's the main site that explains JP1 and has all the programs, files and info you need: http://www.hifi-remo...jp1/index.shtml

Can you do Macros? In particular could you do a 15 step Macro to do Closed Captioning? Or a 11 step macro to turn Parental Controls Off?

- Craig

#11 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • Registered
  • 1,766 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 07 November 2007 - 10:52 AM

You might put a link to Directv's remote forum, where I have answered probably every question you can ask on the white directv remotes as Tivoburkee.
aka Tivoburkee

#12 OFFLINE   Milominderbinder2

Milominderbinder2

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,107 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 07 November 2007 - 11:49 AM

You might put a link to Directv's remote forum, where I have answered probably every question you can ask on the white directv remotes as Tivoburkee.

Good suggestion. I added that link in the first post with the DIRECTV resources.

- Craig

#13 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,265 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 07 November 2007 - 01:01 PM

Can you do Macros? In particular could you do a 15 step Macro to do Closed Captioning? Or a 11 step macro to turn Parental Controls Off?

- Craig


Absolutely, on both counts. I have a parental controls macro on my URC-8910 remote. You can save a few steps if you use ch+/- (on an HR20) in leiu of some of the arrows. My biggest macro switches between favorites lists. That one requires a second nested macro because I pass the 15 key limit. And not only can you do one key macros, but you can have different macros on the same key depending on whether you do a short key press, long key press, double key press or shifted key press. You can also make the LCD on the remote display whatever you want, as well as sync the remote clock with your computer. It's powerful stuff.

JP1 isn't for everyone due to the learning curve and hacking mindset required, but once you figure it out, you can really make a cheap remote sing. And there are plenty of people in the JP1 community to help you figure things out.

#14 OFFLINE   cartrivision

cartrivision

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,862 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 07 November 2007 - 08:47 PM

You might put a link to Directv's remote forum, where I have answered probably every question you can ask on the white directv remotes as Tivoburkee.


Since you seem to be the resident remote expert, do you have a comprehensive list of the "special directive" codes that I suggested above should be included in the FAQ?

#15 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,361 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 07 November 2007 - 09:15 PM

The "special directive" codes are listed on each setup screen on the HR20 and HR21 and just need to be copied here. The only codes that will not apply to all users are the code that is input i Step 3 of RF Setup, because when setting up a remote to be RF, it is tied to the specific receiver using the last 6 digits of the receiver ID.

#16 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • Registered
  • 1,766 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 07 November 2007 - 11:32 PM

Since you seem to be the resident remote expert, do you have a comprehensive list of the "special directive" codes that I suggested above should be included in the FAQ?


Not until now:

960- To setup the TV input key.

961- To program the remote for RF.
961 + CH Up turns the RF on
961 + CH Down turns the RF off.

981- Resets the remote to factory defaults.

990- To identify the setup code

991- Used to codesearch
991 + 0 Searches Sat codes
991 + 1 Searches Tv codes
991 + 2 Searches Dvd & Vcr codes
991 + 3 Searches Stereo codes

993- Changes Volume Lock
993 + Select Punches Through the volume to all devices
993 + VOL Up Unlocks volume in all devices
993 + VOL Down Unlocks the volume for that one device you're in.

works on all white remotes
963- turns off the remote id signal sent with each button press
963 + Ch DOWN, turns the signal off
963 + Ch UP, turns it back on
973- Channel lock
973 + CH Up Locks the channel keys, which includes UP & Down, 0-9, and Prev Ch keys to the Sat device, in the Tv device
973 + CH Down Unlocks the channel keys in the tv device, and restores the commands to Tv.

Edited by Edmund, 03 February 2013 - 02:23 PM.

aka Tivoburkee

#17 OFFLINE   thekochs

thekochs

    DirecTV 10yr+ Customer

  • Registered
  • 995 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2006

Posted 09 November 2007 - 08:23 AM

Not until now:

960- To setup the TV input key.

961- To program the remote for RF.
961 + CH Up turns the RF on
961 + CH Down turns the RF off.

981- Resets the remote to factory defaults.

990- To identify the setup code

991- Used to codesearch
991 + 0 Searches Sat codes
991 + 1 Searches Tv codes
991 + 2 Searches Dvd & Vcr codes
991 + 3 Searches Stereo codes

993- Changes Volume Lock
993 + Select Punches Through the volume to all devices
993 + VOL Up Unlocks volume in all devices
993 + VOL Down Unlocks the volume for that one device you're in.

works on all white remotes

973- Channel lock
973 + CH Up Locks the channel keys, which includes UP & Down, 0-9, and Prev Ch keys to the Sat device, in the Tv device
973 + CH Down Unlocks the channel keys in the tv device, and restores the commands to Tv.


And this is why Edmund's titled was earned....not inhereted. :gott:

Speak Your Mind..........

Those Who Mind Don't Matter

Those Who Matter Won't Mind


#18 OFFLINE   Milominderbinder2

Milominderbinder2

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4,107 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 12 November 2007 - 12:55 PM

Could someone modify a set of instructions for programming one remote to control an HR10 and an HR20.

Is it like programming two HR20's? Is the HR10 code 00002?

We have 100,000 HR10 users left who need to come over...

PM me if you can and I will link your work. Maybe do it as a new thread?

- Craig

#19 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • Registered
  • 1,766 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 12 November 2007 - 02:11 PM

Could someone modify a set of instructions for programming one remote to control an HR10 and an HR20.

Is it like programming two HR20's? Is the HR10 code 00002?

We have 100,000 HR10 users left who need to come over...

PM me if you can and I will link your work. Maybe do it as a new thread?

- Craig


http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=109154
aka Tivoburkee

#20 OFFLINE   volga

volga

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2006

Posted 19 November 2007 - 09:09 AM

Got my D* yesterday.
Tec said that my remote is not RF capable. Just want to make sure it's true.

Just in case attaching a photo.

farm3.static.flickr.com/2330/2047462678_cf76e4d699.jpg

#21 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • Registered
  • 1,766 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 19 November 2007 - 11:59 AM

http://farm3.static...._cf76e4d699.jpg

I can't tell from the picture, if it has rc64 or rc32 above the TV input key, it isn't. RF remotes include rc34, and rc64r. And you can also tell a RF remote by the FCC sticker on the back of the remote. IR remotes don't have one.
aka Tivoburkee

#22 OFFLINE   volga

volga

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2006

Posted 19 November 2007 - 12:38 PM

I see.........

Silver one came with rc34 and the black one with rc64.

So only one can do RF- weird, oh well......

Thanks for the response.

#23 OFFLINE   Lee L

Lee L

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,134 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2002

Posted 19 November 2007 - 01:05 PM

Wow, pretty comprehensive. The only thing I would do is word the parts about drabacks to RF more strongly. Like say "If you have a HR20-100, just give up and don't even try" ;)


DirecTV, please don't make me have to go back to watching March Madness in standard Def! Oh, and the usual begging for AMC and BBC America. You are so close to actually being the HD Leader.

#24 OFFLINE   CooperTwo

CooperTwo

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2008

Posted 07 January 2008 - 06:27 PM

I just "upgraded" both of my HR-10's to HR-21's and, until I can reprogram my Harmony 880, I had a remote question. (I put quotes around "upgrade" because I don't yet know if that's the correct word...)

Anyway, I know the HR21 manual states that I can program the volume and mute buttons to control my A/V receiver (instead of controlling my TV), I can't actually figure out how to do this.

I didn't see ANY on-screen instructions on how to do this.

Help?

Thanks.

#25 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • Registered
  • 1,766 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 07 January 2008 - 06:49 PM

I just "upgraded" both of my HR-10's to HR-21's and, until I can reprogram my Harmony 880, I had a remote question. (I put quotes around "upgrade" because I don't yet know if that's the correct word...)

Anyway, I know the HR21 manual states that I can program the volume and mute buttons to control my A/V receiver (instead of controlling my TV), I can't actually figure out how to do this.

I didn't see ANY on-screen instructions on how to do this.

Help?

Thanks.



With a tv code programmed to the tv device, and a code for your stereo programmed to av1 or av2, to get the stereo volume punched through to all devices:

1. av1 or av2
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT for two blinks
3. enter 9 9 3
4. press SELECT
aka Tivoburkee




Protected By... spam firewall...And...