Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * - 2 votes

Remote Control Questions


  • Please log in to reply
499 replies to this topic

#321 OFFLINE   Billzebub

Billzebub

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 564 posts
  • LocationPittsburgh, PA
Joined: Jan 01, 2007

Posted 02 March 2012 - 02:49 PM

If the hr34 is already in RF mode using its own remote, then to get the hr24 remote to control the hr34 as well just do the following on the hr24 remote:



1. AV1
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT, wait for two blinks, release
3. enter 0 0 0 0 1

4. press and hold MUTE & SELECT, wait for two blinks, release
5. enter 9 6 1
6. press CH UP
7. enter last 6 digits of Receiver ID #(RID), found on a sticker in the access card compartment
8. press SELECT


Thanks

Can't seem to get the hr34 to accept rf. Can I program a remote to control them both in IR mode?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#322 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,200 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 02 March 2012 - 02:52 PM

I want to use an old Directv remote RC24 in RF with a HR24-500 can this work?

If yes then how do I program the remote?

JACK,
 
 


#323 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,757 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 02 March 2012 - 03:09 PM

Thanks

Can't seem to get the hr34 to accept rf. Can I program a remote to control them both in IR mode?


Sure, if the hr34 is set to default IR codeset 00001, leave it set to it. Then do the following on the hr24 remote:

1. av1
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT, wait for two blinks, release
3. enter 0 0 0 0 1


Now slide back to Directv device on the hr24 remote, enter the menu of the hr24:

1. menu> setting & help> settings> remote control> IR/RF setup>

2. you will see either IR or RF, click whichever to reveal both

3. chose IR, and press continue

The remote will no longer control the hr24 via the directv device, do the following:

1. dtv
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT, wait for two blinks, release
3. enter 0 0 0 0 2

Now cover the hr34 for now, and scroll down to Advanced setups in the menu of the hr24, which is still tuned to on the tv:

1. click Advanced SETUP
2. press DASH
3. click on Receiver 1, scroll to Receiver 2
4. press continue
5. slide to DTV device and exit the menu
aka Tivoburkee

#324 OFFLINE   Billzebub

Billzebub

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 564 posts
  • LocationPittsburgh, PA
Joined: Jan 01, 2007

Posted 02 March 2012 - 04:42 PM

Sure, if the hr34 is set to default IR codeset 00001, leave it set to it. Then do the following on the hr24 remote:

1. av1
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT, wait for two blinks, release
3. enter 0 0 0 0 1


Now slide back to Directv device on the hr24 remote, enter the menu of the hr24:

1. menu> setting & help> settings> remote control> IR/RF setup>

2. you will see either IR or RF, click whichever to reveal both

3. chose IR, and press continue

The remote will no longer control the hr24 via the directv device, do the following:

1. dtv
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT, wait for two blinks, release
3. enter 0 0 0 0 2

Now cover the hr34 for now, and scroll down to Advanced setups in the menu of the hr24, which is still tuned to on the tv:

1. click Advanced SETUP
2. press DASH
3. click on Receiver 1, scroll to Receiver 2
4. press continue
5. slide to DTV device and exit the menu


Thanks for your help

#325 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 392 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 02 March 2012 - 04:55 PM

I want to use an old Directv remote RC24 in RF with a HR24-500 can this work?

If yes then how do I program the remote?


Menu > Settings & Help > Settings > Remote Control > IR/RF Setup > RF > Down > Continue

#326 OFFLINE   Rabushka

Rabushka

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 165 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2007

Posted 05 March 2012 - 11:19 PM

My HR21 is set to RF and the remote is damaged. How do I get the HR21 back to IR without a remote?

#327 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,243 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 06 March 2012 - 03:16 AM

Front panel buttons.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#328 OFFLINE   bazookabare

bazookabare

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2012

Posted 10 March 2012 - 10:31 AM

How do I get my direct tv remote RC65 to control my RCA audio surround sound dvd am, fm receiver system, model #RTD325W?

#329 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,757 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 10 March 2012 - 01:30 PM

How do I get my direct tv remote RC65 to control my RCA audio surround sound dvd am, fm receiver system, model #RTD325W?


Try code 31254, forget about powering it ON & OFF, not with rca's use two key power scheme, you won't be able to do both.

To get the volume, with a tv code programmed to the tv device, do the following:

1. av1 or av2
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT, wait for two blinks, release
3. enter 9 9 3
4. press SELECT
aka Tivoburkee

#330 OFFLINE   fleckrj

fleckrj

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,092 posts
  • LocationCary, NC
Joined: Sep 04, 2009

Posted 16 March 2012 - 09:52 AM

This has probably been addressed before, but the search function is not helping me, and I cannot find my question addressed in the DirecTV manuals.

I need to control my H24 by RF, since it is located in a closet behind the TV, but the TV only has IR remote capibilities (which only makes sense, because why would anyone not have LOS to the TV?).

I know that the RC65R can only control the DirecTV receiver in RF or IR mode, but not both. If I set the RC65R to control the H24 in RF mode, will it still turn the TV on and off and control the volume on the TV (normally, pass-through features on DirecTV remotes), and will the remote do that without having to slide the switch from DirecTV to TV?

#331 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,243 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 16 March 2012 - 10:01 AM

Yes, RF only affects the receiver everything else works normally.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#332 OFFLINE   fleckrj

fleckrj

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,092 posts
  • LocationCary, NC
Joined: Sep 04, 2009

Posted 16 March 2012 - 10:15 AM

Yes, RF only affects the receiver everything else works normally.


Thanks for the reply. That will make my wife very happy.

#333 OFFLINE   jborchel

jborchel

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 172 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2005

Posted 18 March 2012 - 05:52 PM

Recently a few of my keys are getting kind of sticky. That is, when depressed they are slow to spring back to original position. Any simple fix for this?

#334 OFFLINE   Go Beavs

Go Beavs

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,321 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2008

Posted 18 March 2012 - 09:34 PM

Recently a few of my keys are getting kind of sticky. That is, when depressed they are slow to spring back to original position. Any simple fix for this?


Not that simple but you can disassemble the remote and clean it. The procedure is located in the Remote FAQ located here: http://apicdn.viglin...splay.php?f=115

Genie, Hx2x, nomad
D* customer since Oct '99


#335 OFFLINE   jborchel

jborchel

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 172 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2005

Posted 29 April 2012 - 12:39 PM

My RC64RB is getting sticky keys like the one above. Rather than going through the process of trying to clean the sticky keys I found another remote, the RC64R, in my closet. It is set to RF and I want to return it to IR as I have recently converted my receivers back to IR. I have not figured out how to do this. Can someone help here?

EDIT: Never mind. The PDF explained it although the section on the 9** entries doesn't repeat that you have to start with "mute+select" to recognize the 9** entries. I'm a little slow mentally and eventually remembered that I always started a remote programming sequence with those keys.

I will probably be back though as I am now going to try to get the thing to control my Denon receiver for the audio. The on-screen instructions are slightly out of whack as I have been through this exercise many times in the past and doing it exactly like the instructions say doesn't work. It's missing a key or a sequence or something. If anyone knows what I am talking about please do reply.

Edited by jborchel, 29 April 2012 - 12:53 PM.


#336 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,243 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 29 April 2012 - 12:52 PM

Press and hold Mute and Select untill the light above mode switch flashes twice.

Enter 961 with number keys press channel down.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#337 OFFLINE   jborchel

jborchel

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 172 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2005

Posted 29 April 2012 - 05:42 PM

Press and hold Mute and Select untill the light above mode switch flashes twice.

Enter 961 with number keys press channel down.


Did that. Check my edit above. Need more advanced help though.

#338 OFFLINE   BigJ

BigJ

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Apr 27, 2012

Posted 20 August 2012 - 12:52 PM

I have a Pioneer receiver (VSX-517) that I would like to be able to control with the DTV remote, but none of the listed codes in the remote wizard work for me? Can someone point me to an alternate code? I will allow the TV to control the volume so I only need the DTV remote to power on (and off) the receiver itself. I have done plenty of google-ing and been unable to figure it out.

Thanks!

DirecTV Sub since November 2011
HR44-500; C41-100 (3); H25-500 (3)


#339 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,757 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 24 August 2012 - 09:01 PM

the pioneer code 31023, the only power key that will control it is the middle PWR key in the av1 or av2 device. The ON & OFF keys are strictly for tv's and sat/dvrs's.
aka Tivoburkee

#340 OFFLINE   manofsteele

manofsteele

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2006

Posted 02 September 2012 - 01:12 PM

For the life of me I canot find a code for my Samsung lcd model ln40c650l1fxza. I tried all of the ones directv had but I cannot get volume and mute to work only power. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

J




Protected By... spam firewall...And...