Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * - 2 votes

Remote Control Questions


  • Please log in to reply
482 replies to this topic

#361 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,075 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 07 December 2012 - 08:00 PM

Call them back and tell them you need the RF remote.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#362 OFFLINE   MoInSTL

MoInSTL

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 197 posts
Joined: Mar 29, 2006

Posted 09 December 2012 - 10:31 AM

Just upgraded from HR-22 and H23 to two new HR24-500s with MRV yesterday. Tech replaced both remotes with the RC65X. Old remote in LR was split along the side.

The issue is keeping the blue lights in the LR off when I turn on the TV. When I turn it on, it wakes up the DVR and the lights come back on. In the bedroom, when I turn on the TV, the DVR blue lights stay off. The main difference between the two is that I just use the TV speakers in the bedroom. In the living room I have a very old, but still working Harman/Kardon 310 audio receiver. HDMI from TV to DVR and Toslink from DVR to audio receiver. Pretty simple. Went through the program remote wizard and the TV one activated my TV on-screen volume slider and did not control the audio receiver volume. After trying reversing the process of setting up TV, I used AV1 and set up audio receiver first. Finally called D* and he walked me through a knowledge base sheet he had and we got it working. The only thing is now, the blue lights come on when I turn on the TV in the living room. My HR-22 had the hard buttons verses the new soft buttons but the blue circle lights stayed off. As I mentioned, the lights in the bedroom TV stay off so I am thinking it's how he manually had me enter the codes? Any clues?

EDIT: Used 9 9 3 to manually lock the volume. Blue HR24 panel lights stay off except for D* light in far left corner when I turn on TV in bedroom. Panel lights come back on when I turn on LR TV. Both are HR24-500, should work the same.

Another Edit: Just toggled the soft buttons to off, turned off LR TV. Just turned LR TV back on and the lights stayed off. Guess it didn't stick the first time.

Edited by MoInSTL, 09 December 2012 - 11:29 AM.


#363 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 807 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 10 December 2012 - 09:42 AM

Call them back and tell them you need the RF remote.


The new remote doesn't seem to be working much better, maybe its my HR20?

Anyone know if I use the DirecTV remote as a universal remote (power on/off, volume ) with my Home theater equipment if it can run in IR for that stuff and RF for the HR?

#364 ONLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,075 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 10 December 2012 - 09:44 AM

The new remote doesn't seem to be working much better, maybe its my HR20?

Anyone know if I use the DirecTV remote as a universal remote (power on/off, volume ) with my Home theater equipment if it can run in IR for that stuff and RF for the HR?


When the DTV remote is set up for RF operation, the RF is for the DTV receiver only and it sends the IR signals to the TV, AVR, etc.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#365 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 807 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 10 December 2012 - 12:34 PM

When the DTV remote is set up for RF operation, the RF is for the DTV receiver only and it sends the IR signals to the TV, AVR, etc.


sweet! Hopefully I can convince DirecTV that its the DVR not the Remote that is having the problem and get a replacement.

Well now I gotta start moving my scheduled recordings from the HR20 to the HR23....argh!

We've been using the HR20 as the primary recording DVR so we don't have conflicts on the primary TV we watch shows.
I wonder if I can trade in the HR20 for an HR34?
I don't know if I really need the HR34 though. Yea 5 tuners would be nice, and PIP, but we don't push the 500gig limit on the HR20 so the value of the HR34 isn't all that great (as far as I can tell) just try my luck with a refurb DVR

One more good thing about the HR34? I can set recordings from an H24?

#366 OFFLINE   grecorj

grecorj

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2008

Posted 20 December 2012 - 03:03 PM

Ok, We do have the protection plan, any suggestions on best way to work with CSR to ensure I get a replacement and not "troubleshoot" for 30 minutes rebooting, replacing batteries, standing on my head while using remote, etc?


No longer relevent ... but if the CSR insists on "troubleshooting", the answer to this question is to *always* say that your remote doesn't do anything (led light doesn't work, no response from TV/DVR, etc) and that you've already changed the batteries twice already with new ones. That usually convinces that it is dead. :D

A bit of a fib, but saves time if you have a legit defective remote anyway, esp. if you pay for protection plan.
HR34-700 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-46EX501
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Sony KDL-32EX401
HR24-500 --> HDMI --> Samsung LN19A450C1D (only 1 tuner active)

DIRECTV customer since Feb 2002
HD, WHDVR and ICK since Aug 2010
P.I.T.A. since birth :)

#367 OFFLINE   Mervis

Mervis

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: May 15, 2012

Posted 03 March 2013 - 01:11 PM

OK, I've read the whole thread and I don't see an answer to my problem.

I've been using an RC64R and have my Pioneer AV receiver and Toshiba Tv programmed just fine. The DTV and power buttons in upper right turn off the DTV and TV and then quick flip to AV1 and press power turns of Pioneer.

That remote is on its last legs though so I found a RC64 and programmed but the DTV and power buttons in upper right no longer work. Have to toggle through all 3 to kill power at night. First world problem but would like to fix. Any ideas?

Thanks.

#368 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,753 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 03 March 2013 - 05:05 PM

Its probably the toshiba code used, switch to 12006.
aka Tivoburkee

#369 OFFLINE   Mervis

Mervis

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: May 15, 2012

Posted 10 March 2013 - 12:54 AM

Its probably the toshiba code used, switch to 12006.


That didn't work. Is there a way to retrieve codes from old remote?

Thanks.

#370 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,753 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 10 March 2013 - 01:32 AM

That didn't work. Is there a way to retrieve codes from old remote?

Thanks.


yes,

1. tv
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT, wait for two blinks, release
3. enter 9 9 0
4. press #1 key, count the blinks, it will be one
5. press #2 key, count the blinks
6. press #3 key, count the blinks
7. press #4 key, count the blinks
8. press #5 key, count the blinks
aka Tivoburkee

#371 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,753 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 10 March 2013 - 04:57 PM

That didn't work. Is there a way to retrieve codes from old remote?

Thanks.


The on & off keys will only power the TV & SAT, it will never work on your stereo.

With that in mind, try the following:

1. tv
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT, wait for two blinks, release
3. enter 1 2 0 0 6 or 1 0 7 6 5


1. av1 or av2
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT, wait for two blinks, release
3. enter 3 1 0 2 3

1. av1 or av2
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT, wait for two blinks, release
3. enter 9 9 3
4. press SELECT
aka Tivoburkee

#372 OFFLINE   Mervis

Mervis

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: May 15, 2012

Posted 11 March 2013 - 04:43 PM

Thanks Edmund. I will try above.

#373 OFFLINE   nj1313

nj1313

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 160 posts
  • LocationRichmond, VA
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 13 March 2013 - 07:18 AM

I currently bought a Sharp Aquos LC-60LE640U HDTV and I am trying to program the SHARP remote to run my DirecTV receiver. The Sharp manual only has one preset code for the Sharp remote; 41, but it doesn't seem to be responding. Are there any other DIRECTV preset codes out there that I could try to load on my SHARP remote, so I can run my DirecTV receiver with my Sharp remote. I already was able to preset my DIRECTV remote to run my SHARP TV, now I'm looking to do the opposite with my SHARP remote. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated...

HR44-200
HDMI; Sharp Aquos 60" LED-LCD HDTV 1080p
Great Room

HR24-200
HDMI; Hitachi 42'' Plasma HDTV 1080i
Master Bedroom

HR24-100
HDMI; Insignia 18'' LCD HDTV 1080i
Kitchen

HDMI; Insignia 32'' Plasma HDTV 1080p
Computer Room


#374 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,753 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 13 March 2013 - 03:28 PM

Only oem remotes made by UEI, the same company that makes Directv remotes, has a preset code for directv receivers. If the Sharp remote were made by UEI, the code would be 1377 or 01377.

Edited by Edmund, 13 March 2013 - 03:43 PM.

aka Tivoburkee

#375 OFFLINE   nj1313

nj1313

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 160 posts
  • LocationRichmond, VA
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 14 March 2013 - 06:42 AM

Only oem remotes made by UEI, the same company that makes Directv remotes, has a preset code for directv receivers. If the Sharp remote were made by UEI, the code would be 1377 or 01377.


The Manual that came with this TV has a code for DirecTV for the Sharp Remote. It give the code # 41, but the receiver doesn't seem to respond once I input the code into the Sharp remote. Was just trying to see if there were any other new codes out there... All the codes for the Sharp remote are two-digit codes. Any help would be grateful...

HR44-200
HDMI; Sharp Aquos 60" LED-LCD HDTV 1080p
Great Room

HR24-200
HDMI; Hitachi 42'' Plasma HDTV 1080i
Master Bedroom

HR24-100
HDMI; Insignia 18'' LCD HDTV 1080i
Kitchen

HDMI; Insignia 32'' Plasma HDTV 1080p
Computer Room


#376 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Fortuna! Fameux des Halles

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,436 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 14 March 2013 - 07:58 AM

Wouldn't it be a lot simpler to program the DIRECTV® remote to run the TV? Or there must be some advantage I am unaware of....
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#377 OFFLINE   nj1313

nj1313

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 160 posts
  • LocationRichmond, VA
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 14 March 2013 - 08:02 AM

Wouldn't it be a lot simpler to program the DIRECTV® remote to run the TV? Or there must be some advantage I am unaware of....


Already programmed the DirecTV remote...I am now seeing if it is at all possible to program the Sharp Aquos Remote to run my DirecTV receiver...

HR44-200
HDMI; Sharp Aquos 60" LED-LCD HDTV 1080p
Great Room

HR24-200
HDMI; Hitachi 42'' Plasma HDTV 1080i
Master Bedroom

HR24-100
HDMI; Insignia 18'' LCD HDTV 1080i
Kitchen

HDMI; Insignia 32'' Plasma HDTV 1080p
Computer Room


#378 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,753 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 14 March 2013 - 12:51 PM

The Manual that came with this TV has a code for DirecTV for the Sharp Remote. It give the code # 41, but the receiver doesn't seem to respond once I input the code into the Sharp remote. Was just trying to see if there were any other new codes out there... All the codes for the Sharp remote are two-digit codes. Any help would be grateful...


There were many brands and codesets of Directv receivers before the current one, RCA, Sony, Hughes, Philips. Its the current one not being allowed out to other oem remote manufacturers.
aka Tivoburkee

#379 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,130 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 24 April 2013 - 04:46 PM

Trying to program a RC65RBX remote to HR34 when I select Setup TV nothing happens.


JACK,
 
 


#380 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,283 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 24 April 2013 - 05:23 PM

Trying to program a RC65RBX remote to HR34 when I select Setup TV nothing happens.

I try to operate the HR34 or the TV?


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 




spam firewall