Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * - 2 votes

Remote Control Questions


  • Please log in to reply
504 replies to this topic

#141 OFFLINE   Joe Schmuck

Joe Schmuck

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
Joined: Nov 06, 2007

Posted 27 September 2010 - 08:41 PM

I had to enter the 960 code (TV Input Button option) for my power On/Off to work properly and I'm not sure why but it works. Have you tried that? That was with both my TV's (Panasonic and Vizio). Not sure it will fix yours but I would think you want the TV Input buttom to function anyway.

-Joe
Engineer by day, Rocket Scientist by night... Or do I got that backwards #$@! :)

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#142 OFFLINE   itzme

itzme

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,566 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2008

Posted 27 September 2010 - 10:00 PM

I had to enter the 960 code (TV Input Button option) for my power On/Off to work properly and I'm not sure why but it works. Have you tried that? That was with both my TV's (Panasonic and Vizio). Not sure it will fix yours but I would think you want the TV Input buttom to function anyway.

-Joe


The 960 part, Input, is working fine with several codes. Many other codes all test fine with volume and on/off toggle-- until I slide it to DTV.

#143 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,759 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 27 September 2010 - 11:52 PM

I've gotten through all the codes except for the 991-1 one. Many codes turn it off and on while the slider is on TV. So if I hit done or slide back to DTV and test it doesn't work, so to try another code means going back into Remote Setup-Panasonic Codes... etc etc, so every try can take a minute or so.

Now that I see Edmund's tip about pressing the key twice, I'll try all the code all over again. Edmund, please clarify which key is it I may have to hit twice, OFF or ON or POWER? It seems odd that the code works to turn ON/OFF when I'm in the Remote setup screen (toggled to TV of course) and then fails in DTV mode. Wish there was a manual punch-through.


It would be either ON or OFF key depending the code, the middle PWR key in the Directv device only controls directv device. And you say the ON & OFF keys work fine in the tv device, where middle PWR key should also work fine for TV.

What also might be effecting the tv power commands in the directv device is extra command added to keys like volume and power in the Directv white remotes, try the following:

1. tv
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT, wait two blinks, release
3. enter 9 6 3
4. press CH DOWN

retry some of the codes, the full list of panasonic codes are:

10250, 11480, 11457, 10051, 10030, 10162, 100226, 10650, 11271, 11291, 11310, 11510, 11919, 11941, 11946, 11947
aka Tivoburkee

#144 OFFLINE   Joe Schmuck

Joe Schmuck

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
Joined: Nov 06, 2007

Posted 28 September 2010 - 04:29 AM

I will say that the HR24 with it's new remote control and menu of deviced did not select the correct code for my Panasonic TV. I selected the model and the basic features like vol and channel worked, but the power didn't. I used my old HR21 to look at the manual entry codes and it was the third code I needed as well. I'm not sure how well tested the HR24 remote codes database was tested or if they just tossed in a "compatable" setup, not the correct match.

Just curious, with this new remote, anyone thing that it could be a learning remote? That would be the right direction.

-Joe
Engineer by day, Rocket Scientist by night... Or do I got that backwards #$@! :)

#145 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,759 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 28 September 2010 - 06:43 AM

In UEI made remotes the command key code to learn is 975?
aka Tivoburkee

#146 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,251 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 28 September 2010 - 07:46 AM

They have no learning memory. So even if you could get 975 to do something, it wouldn't store the learns. But they do have a little key move and macro memory. However those can't be programmed using 9xx commands, only using a JP1 cable and a difficult mod to add JP1 pins.

If you don't need RF or backlighting, I think the best cheap alternative to the D* remote today is the RCA RCRP05B. It's also made by UEI, uses the same 99x commands and device codes, but also does learning, macros and key moves and is easily JP1 programmable from a PC. HERE's a screen-shot of the JP1 software.

#147 OFFLINE   Joe Schmuck

Joe Schmuck

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
Joined: Nov 06, 2007

Posted 28 September 2010 - 04:15 PM

If you don't need RF or backlighting, I think the best cheap alternative to the D* remote today is the RCA RCRP05B. It's also made by UEI, uses the same 99x commands and device codes, but also does learning, macros and key moves and is easily JP1 programmable from a PC. HERE's a screen-shot of the JP1 software.


I don't need that for myself but I'm going to look into it. Maybe another playtoy for me.
Engineer by day, Rocket Scientist by night... Or do I got that backwards #$@! :)

#148 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,981 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 29 September 2010 - 05:48 AM

Hey I was hoping someone could answer this question. I have an old 1990's Toshiba SDTV in the office, and I have the remote programmed to work it, however the power button in the top right corner does not work. To turn the TV on or off, I have to switch the remote to TV, then push the middle power button twice (double click), then switch the remote back to DirecTV mode.

Just wondering why this would be, since the volume works it, and the power button works in TV mode. Upstairs we have a Samsung HDTV, and there's no issues at all.



Also is there a way to make the round select button also function as enter? Many times when I type a channel number, instead of waiting I find myself hitting that round select button - since it's so predominant I always mistake it as an enter key.

#149 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,759 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 29 September 2010 - 10:41 AM

Hey I was hoping someone could answer this question. I have an old 1990's Toshiba SDTV in the office, and I have the remote programmed to work it, however the power button in the top right corner does not work. To turn the TV on or off, I have to switch the remote to TV, then push the middle power button twice (double click), then switch the remote back to DirecTV mode.

Just wondering why this would be, since the volume works it, and the power button works in TV mode. Upstairs we have a Samsung HDTV, and there's no issues at all.



Also is there a way to make the round select button also function as enter? Many times when I type a channel number, instead of waiting I find myself hitting that round select button - since it's so predominant I always mistake it as an enter key.


Try code 10765 for the toshiba.

And no it can't be reprogrammed as the enter key.
aka Tivoburkee

#150 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,981 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 29 September 2010 - 02:14 PM

Try code 10765 for the toshiba.

And no it can't be reprogrammed as the enter key.


Bingo! Your dead on. Thanks so much! TV turns on and off with the power buttons in the upper right now. Volume works as always.

#151 OFFLINE   itzme

itzme

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,566 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2008

Posted 01 October 2010 - 12:52 PM

Edmund, I see you're also active over at AVSForums. I just posted a question over there and I wonder if you'd please take a stab at it. I'm thinking its too unrelated for this thread. THANKS!

#152 OFFLINE   itzme

itzme

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,566 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2008

Posted 12 October 2010 - 11:18 AM

It would be either ON or OFF key depending the code, the middle PWR key in the Directv device only controls directv device. And you say the ON & OFF keys work fine in the tv device, where middle PWR key should also work fine for TV.

What also might be effecting the tv power commands in the directv device is extra command added to keys like volume and power in the Directv white remotes, try the following:

1. tv
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT, wait two blinks, release
3. enter 9 6 3
4. press CH DOWN

retry some of the codes, the full list of panasonic codes are:

10250, 11480, 11457, 10051, 10030, 10162, 100226, 10650, 11271, 11291, 11310, 11510, 11919, 11941, 11946, 11947


Whatever that 9 6 3 did, it worked! Thanks. So far 11480 lets me leave the slider in the DTV and do most everything (some TV menu navs aren't working right). I may try some more codes but I'm afraid of losing the progress :)

Thanks, Edmund!

#153 OFFLINE   Mystic6

Mystic6

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Nov 26, 2006

Posted 25 October 2010 - 07:22 PM

I just got an HR24 and I'm having a problem getting the RC65RX remote to control my Toshiba 23HL84 TV. I first tried telling it the TV model, then tried all of the generic Toshiba codes. It will control the volume, but won't turn the TV on or off. Any suggestions?

#154 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,759 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 25 October 2010 - 10:46 PM

try codes 10765 or 12006.
aka Tivoburkee

#155 OFFLINE   GatorDave

GatorDave

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 56 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2006

Posted 26 October 2010 - 03:16 PM

I've got a Mitsubishi WD-57734 TV programmed to the HR24 white remote control. The tv will turn on using the "ON" button, but not off with the "OFF" button. I have to move the slider to TV and push PWR twice to turn it off. Similarly, I have to hit PWR twice in AV1 mode to get my Pioneer VSX-816 receiver to turn off and on. Any suggestions?

Edited by GatorDave, 02 November 2010 - 12:11 PM.


#156 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,479 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 26 October 2010 - 03:20 PM

There is a Reason Why EDMUND Is The REMOTE MASTER!!! :)

He knows his stuff.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#157 OFFLINE   Mystic6

Mystic6

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Nov 26, 2006

Posted 26 October 2010 - 05:21 PM

try codes 10765 or 12006.


10765 worked. Thanks!

#158 OFFLINE   sammy720

sammy720

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Jun 16, 2010

Posted 01 November 2010 - 08:38 PM

I am having an issue with the TV input button on 2 of my 4 remotes. All of my remotes are set up for RF, and every button except this one works on one of my standard white remotes, and my NFL remote. When I push it on the NFL remote, the backlight comes on, but does not change the input (send signal to TV at all). If someone could help, I would really would appreciate it, this one has me stumped and I don't like having to hunt down the actual TV's remote to change the input. These are both Sony HDTV's if that helps at all also.
DirecTV installed 5/18/10 - Convert from Dish Network
Current Equipment:
2 HR24-500s
2 HR21-100s
1 H25-500
All networked via DECA
Slimline 5 Dish
SWiM 16
Sony KDFE50-A10 50" (HR24)
Sony Bravia KDL-32EX400 32" (HR24)
Sony 36" SDTV (HR21)
Coby 19" HDTV (HR21)
HP 2311x Computer Monitor (H25)
Any other TV provider<DirecTV

#159 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,820 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 01 November 2010 - 08:48 PM

I am having an issue with the TV input button on 2 of my 4 remotes. All of my remotes are set up for RF, and every button except this one works on one of my standard white remotes, and my NFL remote. When I push it on the NFL remote, the backlight comes on, but does not change the input (send signal to TV at all). If someone could help, I would really would appreciate it, this one has me stumped and I don't like having to hunt down the actual TV's remote to change the input. These are both Sony HDTV's if that helps at all also.

Did you set up the input button?

  • Slide MODE switch to TV position
  • Press and hold MUTE and SELECT buttons until the green light flashes twice
  • Enter 960 using the keypad, the green light will flash twice
Now the TV input button should work.

#160 OFFLINE   sammy720

sammy720

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Jun 16, 2010

Posted 01 November 2010 - 09:30 PM

Did you set up the input button?

  • Slide MODE switch to TV position
  • Press and hold MUTE and SELECT buttons until the green light flashes twice
  • Enter 960 using the keypad, the green light will flash twice
Now the TV input button should work.

Worked. Thanks!
DirecTV installed 5/18/10 - Convert from Dish Network
Current Equipment:
2 HR24-500s
2 HR21-100s
1 H25-500
All networked via DECA
Slimline 5 Dish
SWiM 16
Sony KDFE50-A10 50" (HR24)
Sony Bravia KDL-32EX400 32" (HR24)
Sony 36" SDTV (HR21)
Coby 19" HDTV (HR21)
HP 2311x Computer Monitor (H25)
Any other TV provider<DirecTV




Protected By... spam firewall...And...