Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Is Slimline bad? Peak signal of 60 on sat 101


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bongju

bongju

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2006

Posted 29 November 2007 - 11:54 PM

I am attempting a self install of a new Slimline dish to replace a 3 LNB dish. I purchased the Acutrac22 MKII Pro meter, and when selecting 13v and no 22 KHz tone, I am only getting a peak signal strength of about 60 on the 101 satellite. I am using a new RG6 cable from the multiswitch to my meter. On my HR20, I am getting zeros on all transponders except 28, 30, and 32, which are reading 43, 60, and 51. On my 3 LNB dish, I was getting a signal strength near 100 on most transponders according to my HR20.

Does this indicate that I got a bad Slimline, or is there something else that I should check first.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,506 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 30 November 2007 - 12:59 AM

You're aimed at the wrong satellite. Those three transponders are beamed from the 110-deg satellite. Your dish should be centered on 101-deg W, not 110-deg W. While standing behind your dish, adjust the azimuth several degrees to the left.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#3 OFFLINE   bongju

bongju

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jun 03, 2006

Posted 30 November 2007 - 09:14 AM

Can someone please confirm that I am using the correct settings on the Acutrac22 Pro to find the 101 satellite? I selected 13 V and no 22 KHz tone.

#4 OFFLINE   hiker

hiker

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 505 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2006

Posted 30 November 2007 - 09:42 AM

Can someone please confirm that I am using the correct settings on the Acutrac22 Pro to find the 101 satellite? I selected 13 V and no 22 KHz tone.

That's correct according to the instructions.
DirecTV customer since 1994
DirecTV H23-600 0x462c
DirecTV HR20-100 (qty 4) 0x62c
DirecTV HR20-700 (qty 5) 0x62c
TiVo Series 3 Comcast

#5 OFFLINE   techrep

techrep

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,056 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2007

Posted 30 November 2007 - 11:45 AM

Can someone please confirm that I am using the correct settings on the Acutrac22 Pro to find the 101 satellite? I selected 13 V and no 22 KHz tone.


litzdog911 is probably right and you need to change aziumth a few degrees left.

Several sats will show signal, on the Acutrac, with the same volt and tone settings.

If you selected the 3lnb option in initial setup, the rough azimuth and elevation settings (and tilt) will be a little different than the 5lnb settings.

Also, double check that you set elevation using the red (maybe white) line on the back assembly and not the bolts.
DVR: HR20-100, HR10-250 x 2, TIVO SERIES 3, MOXI
REC: DENON 3808CI
TV : PDP-5060HD
DVD: PANY-BD10A, TOSHIBA-A2

#6 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,558 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 30 November 2007 - 06:55 PM

Isn't 13v used to tune the odd transponders on a satellite?
No 22Khz for 101 and with 22Khz for 110/119.

Channels 490-494 can be used to verify reception on the 101/110/119 sats.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#7 OFFLINE   TigersFanJJ

TigersFanJJ

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,546 posts
Joined: Feb 17, 2006

Posted 01 December 2007 - 09:31 AM

bongju, where are you at in Alabama?

#8 OFFLINE   gtbird88

gtbird88

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Apr 05, 2008

Posted 06 April 2008 - 01:06 AM

You're aimed at the wrong satellite. Those three transponders are beamed from the 110-deg satellite. Your dish should be centered on 101-deg W, not 110-deg W. While standing behind your dish, adjust the azimuth several degrees to the left.


:biggthump :biggthump

Thanks for the advice.. I too was upgrading from old 3 lnb to newer slimline dish. After 3 days of banging my head against the wall I came across this message tread and seeing the tell tell signs of receiving 3 strong signals on transponder
28 30 & 32 only I realized My Problem. I went out and moved the dish to the Left a few degrees and adjusted the Elevation a bit and Lo and Behold We had signal..

I was using the Accutrac III+ meter to find sat. and discovered although it might say your on 101 sat. your really not it only reads the signal strg. and volt. so don't rely totally on inline meters.

Thanks for the help great to have Dtv back up and running..

#9 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,506 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 06 April 2008 - 01:16 AM

:biggthump :biggthump

Thanks for the advice.. I too was upgrading from old 3 lnb to newer slimline dish. After 3 days of banging my head against the wall I came across this message tread and seeing the tell tell signs of receiving 3 strong signals on transponder
28 30 & 32 only I realized My Problem. I went out and moved the dish to the Left a few degrees and adjusted the Elevation a bit and Lo and Behold We had signal..

I was using the Accutrac III+ meter to find sat. and discovered although it might say your on 101 sat. your really not it only reads the signal strg. and volt. so don't rely totally on inline meters.

Thanks for the help great to have Dtv back up and running..


Welcome to DBSTalk! Glad we could help!
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#10 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,037 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 06 April 2008 - 03:55 PM

I am attempting a self install of a new Slimline dish to replace a 3 LNB dish. I purchased the Acutrac22 MKII Pro meter, and when selecting 13v and no 22 KHz tone, I am only getting a peak signal strength of about 60 on the 101 satellite. I am using a new RG6 cable from the multiswitch to my meter. On my HR20, I am getting zeros on all transponders except 28, 30, and 32, which are reading 43, 60, and 51. On my 3 LNB dish, I was getting a signal strength near 100 on most transponders according to my HR20.

Does this indicate that I got a bad Slimline, or is there something else that I should check first.



You are almost certainly pointed at the wrong satellite. Remember the slimline dish points at the 101 satellite and the 3-lnb points at 110.

#11 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,628 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 06 April 2008 - 08:00 PM

Thanks for the help great to have Dtv back up and running..

Another satisifed DBSTalk poster....:D
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#12 OFFLINE   K4SMX

K4SMX

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,433 posts
Joined: May 19, 2007

Posted 07 April 2008 - 12:59 AM

You are almost certainly pointed at the wrong satellite. Remember the slimline dish points at the 101 satellite and the 3-lnb points at 110.

Check out the date on the OP.....:)
Stew in Florida

HR21-100 (eSATA: Seagate Barracuda 750gb/Antec MX-1), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Onkyo A/V (optical), Slingbox Pro/WLI-TX4-G54HP
HR20-700 (eSATA: FreeAgent Pro 750gb), Mitsubishi LT-46131 (HDMI), Pioneer A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi LT-37132 (HDMI), Sony A/V (optical)
HR20-700, Mitsubishi WD-65731 (HDMI)
H20-600 (x 2)

#13 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,037 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 07 April 2008 - 10:00 AM

Check out the date on the OP.....:)


oops..!

#14 OFFLINE   bubbaart15

bubbaart15

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 02 June 2008 - 09:25 PM

You're aimed at the wrong satellite. Those three transponders are beamed from the 110-deg satellite. Your dish should be centered on 101-deg W, not 110-deg W. While standing behind your dish, adjust the azimuth several degrees to the left.


Could this also be true if I'm using the receiver to see the strength and not a meter? I also have 60s and 70s for the 101, but I have 70's for the 110, 80s for the 119, and 50s for the 103. Does this sound like I'm centered on the wrong Sat? If so, how do you find the write one?

#15 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,037 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 02 June 2008 - 09:42 PM

Could this also be true if I'm using the receiver to see the strength and not a meter? I also have 60s and 70s for the 101, but I have 70's for the 110, 80s for the 119, and 50s for the 103. Does this sound like I'm centered on the wrong Sat? If so, how do you find the write one?

if you are using the receiver then your satellite selection is OK. Your dish is simply not aligned correctly. You should have 90s for pretty well all the transponders that are not spot beams. Unless you have the dish aligned correctly on 101 (90s or even 100) than you will never get decent signals on the other satellites.

#16 OFFLINE   bubbaart15

bubbaart15

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 02 June 2008 - 09:50 PM

if you are using the receiver then your satellite selection is OK. Your dish is simply not aligned correctly. You should have 90s for pretty well all the transponders that are not spot beams. Unless you have the dish aligned correctly on 101 (90s or even 100) than you will never get decent signals on the other satellites.


I've tried to peak it, and that is the highest we could get. Could it be the connectors we're using with the RG6? We were getting 90's with the old round dish, but couldn't get that high with the slimline with the same cables and connectors. Moved it all over with the receiver reading the numbers and we couldn't get any higher than 74 on the 101. When I moved the tilt, the 119 went up, so I'm assuming I'm centered on the 101. I'm not sure what else to do. The channels are working, so I'm happy about that, but I would like to increase the numbers if possible.

#17 OFFLINE   bubbaart15

bubbaart15

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 06 December 2008 - 07:48 PM

I've tried to peak it, and that is the highest we could get. Could it be the connectors we're using with the RG6? We were getting 90's with the old round dish, but couldn't get that high with the slimline with the same cables and connectors. Moved it all over with the receiver reading the numbers and we couldn't get any higher than 74 on the 101. When I moved the tilt, the 119 went up, so I'm assuming I'm centered on the 101. I'm not sure what else to do. The channels are working, so I'm happy about that, but I would like to increase the numbers if possible.


I am still having problems tweaking the slimline dish. My concern is leveling the post. It appears to be level, but I'm not positive. I have gotten the 101 to the upper 70's and low 80's, but then when I try to adjust the tilt to get the 103 strength up, the 101 signal goes down. Should changing the tilt (moving the dish like a steering wheel) change the 101 signal? We do get all the HD channels except the ESPN one's and 1 HBO and 1 Showtime HD channels. I also changed out all of the connectors to the high end compression connectors. Any ideas?

#18 OFFLINE   satjoe

satjoe

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 79 posts
Joined: Oct 28, 2008

Posted 06 December 2008 - 08:01 PM

I am still having problems tweaking the slimline dish. My concern is leveling the post. It appears to be level, but I'm not positive. I have gotten the 101 to the upper 70's and low 80's, but then when I try to adjust the tilt to get the 103 strength up, the 101 signal goes down. Should changing the tilt (moving the dish like a steering wheel) change the 101 signal? We do get all the HD channels except the ESPN one's and 1 HBO and 1 Showtime HD channels. I also changed out all of the connectors to the high end compression connectors. Any ideas?

The 101 is used as a bore site, once you get the 101 the dish tilt only swivels around it unless your pole is not plumb

Good Luck

#19 OFFLINE   Brannayen

Brannayen

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 47 posts
Joined: Sep 07, 2008

Posted 06 December 2008 - 09:28 PM

It could be the reflector. Twice now in the last 2 weeks, I've gotten 50's and 60's until I replaced the reflector. There didn't seem to be any visible flaws, dents or scratches, but nonetheless the signal came in strong as soon as I replaced it.

#20 OFFLINE   firefighter4evr

firefighter4evr

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2008

Posted 06 December 2008 - 09:40 PM

Another satisifed DBSTalk poster....:D


D* should just hand over customer service to DBSTalk.... Maybe we could have more satisifed customers!:joy:

My Setup

Slimline 3-LNB Dish
WB68 Muti-Switch
Living Room: R16-300
Master Bedroom: D12-500
Kids Bedroom: D12-500


Proudly Non Comcastic since 2007




spam firewall