Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

can HR20 & HR10(HD Tivo) be simultaneously active on the same account


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
19 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   kathymoore

kathymoore

    Legend

  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 182 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2006

Posted 30 November 2007 - 03:46 PM

I currently have three HR10-250 HD Tivos. (all three have been changed
to "OWNED" status by a DirecTV supervisor, so I don't have to give them
up)

DirecTV is installing three new HR20s in my home next week.

Will I be able to continue using and receving HD programs with the old HR10s?
(either MPEG2 HD or SD channels)



Thanks! :)

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 10,838 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 30 November 2007 - 03:48 PM

You will be able to continue to use the HD TiVo's and receive the HD channels you have now.

But at some point next year you will lose the HD channels you have when they are moved over to MPEG4.

Then you will only be able to receive SD channels with them.

#3 OFFLINE   Mike728

Mike728

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 511 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2007

Posted 30 November 2007 - 04:49 PM

You will be able to continue to use the HD TiVo's and receive the HD channels you have now.

But at some point next year you will lose the HD channels you have when they are moved over to MPEG4.

Then you will only be able to receive SD channels with them.


True, but you will also get to Tivo all of your OTA HD channels. That alone is worth $5/mo (IMO).

#4 OFFLINE   kathymoore

kathymoore

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 182 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2006

Posted 30 November 2007 - 05:09 PM

You will be able to continue to use the HD TiVo's and receive the HD channels you have now. ...........


That's a good point... but makes me wonder...

when my HR20s are activated next week, won't I have to go to a different
HD package(which will not include HDNet)? If that's the case, will my HR10
continue to receive HDNet? (or do I have to pay the extra $5 for HDNet,
which I'm already getting on the HR10?)



Thanks! :)

#5 OFFLINE   Mike728

Mike728

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 511 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2007

Posted 30 November 2007 - 05:21 PM

when my HR20s are activated next week, won't I have to go to a different
HD package(which will not include HDNet)? If that's the case, will my HR10
continue to receive HDNet? (or do I have to pay the extra $5 for HDNet,
which I'm already getting on the HR10?)


That $5 HD Extra fee will apply to all, once it takes affect. I think it's supposed to be the end of December.

#6 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,037 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 30 November 2007 - 05:52 PM

15th of December was the last date I saw mentioned here.

#7 OFFLINE   MizzouTiger

MizzouTiger

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 597 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2007

Posted 30 November 2007 - 08:31 PM

15th of December was the last date I saw mentioned here.


Just curious - I don't have an HR10. But, for those that do still own HR10's, when December 15th rolls around and they choose not to pay an additional $5 a month for the HD Extra Pak, that means they will only be getting their HD locals (if D* carries them), Discovery HD Theater, TNT HD, ESPN HD and ESPN2HD? They will lose Universal HD, HDNET and HDNET Movies?

If that's the case, don't know what more incentive there can be for them to upgrade to an HR2x.

HR24-100 Toshiba 55SV670U | HDMI to Denon AVR-1909| Native On | All Resolutions Selected | DD On | Network - ethernet to U-Verse RG| OTA setup | Harmony One
HR24-100 Philips 37PFL5322D/37 | HDMI to TV | Native on | All resolutions Selected | DD Off | Network - ethernet to U-Verse RG| OTA setup | Harmony 880
HR21-700 Sony KDL40V2500| HDMI to TV | Digital Optical Audio out to Yamaha HTR-5490| Native On | All Resolutions selected | DD On | Network - ethernet to U-Verse RG| Harmony 880


#8 OFFLINE   EMoMoney

EMoMoney

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 260 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2005

Posted 30 November 2007 - 08:48 PM

True, but you will also get to Tivo all of your OTA HD channels. That alone is worth $5/mo (IMO).

You can do that with the HR20 as well

#9 OFFLINE   tfederov

tfederov

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,634 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 30 November 2007 - 08:59 PM

Just curious - I don't have an HR10. But, for those that do still own HR10's, when December 15th rolls around and they choose not to pay an additional $5 a month for the HD Extra Pak, that means they will only be getting their HD locals (if D* carries them), Discovery HD Theater, TNT HD, ESPN HD and ESPN2HD? They will lose Universal HD, HDNET and HDNET Movies?

If that's the case, don't know what more incentive there can be for them to upgrade to an HR2x.


I think at TCF I read that HR10's would be grandfathered and not charged extra.
- Tony

SWiM16, H21-100, H23-600, H21-700 w/AM21, HR24-500, HR24-100 w/AM21, (3) HR20-700
All receivers networked via DECA
MediaShare using TVersity on Win 7 VM over Mac Snow Leopard

#10 OFFLINE   frederic1943

frederic1943

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 748 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2006

Posted 30 November 2007 - 09:02 PM

But DirecTV has stopped installing HR20s unless you buy some of the last ones at a B&M store. Now everybody is getting an HR21 without the OTA input. The HR10-250s will still be good for the OTA recording.
I have both an HR20 and an HR10 hooked up to my HDTV. I did that because I got the the HR20 in September 2006 before they had enabled the OTA on the HR20. I left it that way because occasionally I want to record 3 shows from the OTA (Say CBS, PBS & CW) while watching something else.

#11 OFFLINE   ned23

ned23

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 64 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2007

Posted 30 November 2007 - 09:03 PM

You can do that with the HR20 as well


He won't be able to record OTA with the HR21 he will probably get.:nono2:

#12 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,082 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 30 November 2007 - 11:20 PM

But DirecTV has stopped installing HR20s unless you buy some of the last ones at a B&M store. Now everybody is getting an HR21 without the OTA input.


Not strictly true. It depends on location and what the installer has.

They are not stopping production on the HR20-100, only the HR20-700.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#13 OFFLINE   ned23

ned23

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 64 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2007

Posted 01 December 2007 - 02:54 AM

Not strictly true. It depends on location and what the installer has.

They are not stopping production on the HR20-100, only the HR20-700.


Can you tell us any locations the installers have HR20-100's?

#14 OFFLINE   TigerDriver

TigerDriver

    Electronics Engineer

  • Registered
  • 570 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2007

Posted 01 December 2007 - 09:41 AM

Can you tell us any locations the installers have HR20-100's?


I placed an order with D* for a DVR about three weeks ago to replace an ailing SD DTivo. They set up an appointment for an install. I immediately called the installation company and told them that I wanted a new (not refurb) HR20, and that I was willing to wait for it. They called day-before-yesterday and said that they had a new new HR20 for me. Install is supposed to be on Monday.

During this waiting period, I got calls from D* asking why the installation hadn't been completed. I was frank with them, and they seemed OK with my strategy. Keep in mind that I am an existing customer and this DVR is a freeby--so D* would be happy if I never got it installed. However, were I a new customer, they probably wouldn't allow me to stiff-arm.
Joe

HR20-100, HR24NC-100, HR21-700
Samsung HLS5687WX 56" DLP
Onkyo TX-SR705 A/V receiver
Samsung Blue-Ray/DVD player
4-channel NTSC modulator

#15 OFFLINE   ned23

ned23

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 64 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2007

Posted 01 December 2007 - 11:54 AM

They called day-before-yesterday and said that they had a new new HR20 for me. Install is supposed to be on Monday.


Congratulations! I am on my third appointment for an HR20 this Wed, the first 2 times they had the HR21. I was also told that if they didn't have have the HR20 that the order is canceled and I have to set up another appt with DirecTv, and then they couldn't guarantee the next time wouldn't be another HR21 and they couldn't just put me on hold for HR20.

#16 OFFLINE   MizzouTiger

MizzouTiger

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 597 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2007

Posted 01 December 2007 - 07:03 PM

I think at TCF I read that HR10's would be grandfathered and not charged extra.


Well, shouldn't all of us who were subscribed to HD Access prior to the launching of the new MPEG4 HD channels be grandfathered in then?

HR24-100 Toshiba 55SV670U | HDMI to Denon AVR-1909| Native On | All Resolutions Selected | DD On | Network - ethernet to U-Verse RG| OTA setup | Harmony One
HR24-100 Philips 37PFL5322D/37 | HDMI to TV | Native on | All resolutions Selected | DD Off | Network - ethernet to U-Verse RG| OTA setup | Harmony 880
HR21-700 Sony KDL40V2500| HDMI to TV | Digital Optical Audio out to Yamaha HTR-5490| Native On | All Resolutions selected | DD On | Network - ethernet to U-Verse RG| Harmony 880


#17 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,644 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 01 December 2007 - 10:13 PM

I've read quite a few posts from HR10 owners who are keeping their TiVos active in order to record OTA channels. It's not a bad idea for the moment.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#18 OFFLINE   Que

Que

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 632 posts
Joined: Apr 15, 2006

Posted 02 December 2007 - 03:07 AM

Congratulations! I am on my third appointment for an HR20 this Wed, the first 2 times they had the HR21. I was also told that if they didn't have have the HR20 that the order is canceled and I have to set up another appt with DirecTv, and then they couldn't guarantee the next time wouldn't be another HR21 and they couldn't just put me on hold for HR20.


WOW. Maybe try and call retention, see if they can help. You think that would get tried of wasting so much time coming out.

#19 OFFLINE   Que

Que

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 632 posts
Joined: Apr 15, 2006

Posted 02 December 2007 - 03:09 AM

I've read quite a few posts from HR10 owners who are keeping their TiVos active in order to record OTA channels. It's not a bad idea for the moment.


I'm going to keep mine as long as I can. I really only watch OTA HD. I have no other HD package and no movie package. Plus love my DLB and a pause point that works. :D

#20 OFFLINE   Incog-Neato

Incog-Neato

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 417 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2006

Posted 02 December 2007 - 07:12 AM

If all you have is legacy equipment (HR10's, H10's) you should be able to keep what you have now. If you have any HR20's/H20's on your account you will lose HDNET, HDNET movies and UHD on your HR10's/R10's unless you pay the $5. You may have to call them to get them back because their SMS is so screwed up.

Well, shouldn't all of us who were subscribed to HD Access prior to the launching of the new MPEG4 HD channels be grandfathered in then?






spam firewall