Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Caller ID Stopped Working


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   scoutstang

scoutstang

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Jul 04, 2007

Posted 30 November 2007 - 06:38 PM

About a month ago I noticed that the Caller ID Notification stopped working on my HR20.

I checked to make sure the phone jack that the HR20 is plugged into is working, and I checked to make sure the phone cord is plugged into the jack and the back of the receiver.

I also checked to make sure the Caller ID Notification is set to "On" in the Menu.


Any suggestions on what else I can try???

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Dolfid

Dolfid

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 81 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2007

Posted 30 November 2007 - 07:20 PM

Clear out the 25 calls you have and do a Restart Recorder - see if that gets it working again

#3 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,442 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 30 November 2007 - 11:37 PM

Mine's never worked more than 10% of the time.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#4 OFFLINE   Quija666

Quija666

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2007

Posted 30 November 2007 - 11:52 PM

ive had a couple of cust with this problem and it turned out to be the rec maybe some help

#5 OFFLINE   Ramalama

Ramalama

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: May 02, 2007

Posted 01 December 2007 - 03:14 PM

Interestingly enough the caller ID works about 99% of the time on my HR20 and about 1% of the time on my D11. I looked in the log file on one of the TVs and discovered that there were about a dozen calls that all took place supposedly at the same exact time on a date that predated our getting the receiver. I deleted all of them and they came back. Could be that was what got it working again, since it had gone through a period of not responding. All that said, about once a week, the phone itself fails to pick up the data, so it could be the caller or the phone company also.

#6 OFFLINE   scoutstang

scoutstang

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Jul 04, 2007

Posted 01 December 2007 - 03:55 PM

Clear out the 25 calls you have and do a Restart Recorder - see if that gets it working again



I just restarted the receiver, and now the Caller ID appears to be working.

Thanks for the tip, I don't know why I didn't think of that!

#7 OFFLINE   Sing1gniS

Sing1gniS

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2007

Posted 03 December 2007 - 09:23 AM

Is there a way to clear the log all at once or do you have to do it one by one?
SHARP Aquos LC-52D62U 52" LCD
SHARP Aquos LC-32D44U 32" LCD
HR20-700 (2)
H21-100

#8 OFFLINE   Dolfid

Dolfid

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 81 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2007

Posted 03 December 2007 - 10:29 AM

Is there a way to clear the log all at once or do you have to do it one by one?


One by one is the only way I know of - I'm running 0x1BE so they haven't fixed this apparent bug in the Caller ID function yet - unless one of the CE guys knows of a fix included in a later iteration of the firmware...

#9 OFFLINE   glennb

glennb

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 1,614 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2006

Posted 03 December 2007 - 01:49 PM

ive had a couple of cust with this problem and it turned out to be the rec maybe some help


Couple of what? (cust)

It turned out to be the what? (rec)




Protected By... spam firewall...And...