Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

New to DirecTV, question about wireless


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   speeddeacon

speeddeacon

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2007

Posted 03 December 2007 - 10:46 AM

Well after much mulling it over, I'm switching from DishNetwork to DirecTV. I'm scheduled for installation on 12/5 which will be 2 HR21s and a Slimline Dish.

My first and hopefully only question (we'll see about that) is in regards to the wireless connectivity for online programming. I use a wireless router in my home for DSL internet distribution. What hardware will I need to connect the HR21s to my wireless network? My installer may have all the info but I'm not holding my breath and figure this is the place for all the answers.

Thanks in advance.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   davidord

davidord

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 372 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 03 December 2007 - 11:19 AM

Well after much mulling it over, I'm switching from DishNetwork to DirecTV. I'm scheduled for installation on 12/5 which will be 2 HR21s and a Slimline Dish.

My first and hopefully only question (we'll see about that) is in regards to the wireless connectivity for online programming. I use a wireless router in my home for DSL internet distribution. What hardware will I need to connect the HR21s to my wireless network? My installer may have all the info but I'm not holding my breath and figure this is the place for all the answers.

Thanks in advance.


You will need a wireless ethernet bridge and connect the bridge into the HR20's ethernet port. There are quite a few threads and discussions on this topic. I am using a 4 port Buffalo bridge that works well.

#3 OFFLINE   gcisko

gcisko

    I am Iron Man!

  • Registered
  • 1,672 posts
Joined: Sep 27, 2006

Posted 03 December 2007 - 01:01 PM

You will need a wireless ethernet bridge and connect the bridge into the HR20's ethernet port. There are quite a few threads and discussions on this topic. I am using a 4 port Buffalo bridge that works well.


Does the HR21 have networking enabled yet??? I am always unsure of that one.

#4 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,108 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 03 December 2007 - 01:05 PM

Does the HR21 have networking enabled yet??? I am always unsure of that one.


Yes, Media Share is enabled, but no DOD yet.

#5 OFFLINE   Spanky_Partain

Spanky_Partain

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,499 posts
Joined: Dec 07, 2006

Posted 03 December 2007 - 01:17 PM

gcisko,
Yes the HR21 does have the network enabled.

speeddeacon,
You will need an ethernet bridge for each HR21. The HR21-700 has two ports on it that are a switch, both will work. If both are going to be in the same area, you can daisy chain the ethernet ports together and use only one ethternet bridge to make the connection to the wireless router. Otherwise each will need a wireless bridge.

You can click on the network help link in my signature for more networking help.

-Mark-
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 or ::127.0.0.1 or 0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1 or ::1!"
Support the DBSTalk forum, become a member, Click Here!
For Networking Help, Click Here!
For my setup, Click Here!
3/98


#6 OFFLINE   speeddeacon

speeddeacon

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Nov 08, 2007

Posted 03 December 2007 - 01:42 PM

Thanks for the info. I found the excellent thread in the FAQ about it with more info than I can comprehend. Looks like I need to buy a couple of bridges.

Speed




Protected By... spam firewall...And...