Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Remote Record? What am I doing wrong?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   TedBarrett

TedBarrett

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 291 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2007

Posted 07 December 2007 - 11:14 AM

I log in to directtv. Select TV listings, expand a show I'd like to record and no record button/option appears

HR20-700
network connected
current national software release.

Any suggestions?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Greg Alsobrook

Greg Alsobrook

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,453 posts
Joined: Apr 01, 2007

Posted 07 December 2007 - 11:14 AM

this option is not available to everyone yet.... it should be shortly...
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.

#3 OFFLINE   tfederov

tfederov

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,634 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 07 December 2007 - 11:15 AM

If it hasn't been on the network long it'll take time for DIRECTV to find your receiver and enable remote booking.
- Tony

SWiM16, H21-100, H23-600, H21-700 w/AM21, HR24-500, HR24-100 w/AM21, (3) HR20-700
All receivers networked via DECA
MediaShare using TVersity on Win 7 VM over Mac Snow Leopard

#4 OFFLINE   TedBarrett

TedBarrett

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 291 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2007

Posted 07 December 2007 - 11:24 AM

I've been on the network for a couple of months. I have no problem with DoD.

I did not think that the remote record option used the network anyway. I assumed they just sent some sort of identifier and command set through the satellite stream.

#5 OFFLINE   Greg Alsobrook

Greg Alsobrook

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,453 posts
Joined: Apr 01, 2007

Posted 07 December 2007 - 11:25 AM

I've been on the network for a couple of months. I have no problem with DoD.

I did not think that the remote record option used the network anyway. I assumed they just sent some sort of identifier and command set through the satellite stream.


this is correct... but you being connected to the network is their sign to enable you... there are many other people in the same boat as you... that have been waiting a very long time...
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.

#6 OFFLINE   TedBarrett

TedBarrett

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 291 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2007

Posted 07 December 2007 - 12:15 PM

Surely this is automated. Unless there is some minimum wage slave looking at network ping responses, verifying the account then authorizing the remote record.
take a break,
next

#7 OFFLINE   rutgersfan

rutgersfan

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2006

Posted 07 December 2007 - 12:23 PM

would calling a csr help or not? I want to test this out!
GO R.U.!

#8 OFFLINE   jkjls

jkjls

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2007

Posted 07 December 2007 - 12:28 PM

Dude...don't even joke like that!! You will start a thread that will not stop until 2008.

See below:

http://www.dbstalk.c...php?f=118&a=129

#9 OFFLINE   rutgersfan

rutgersfan

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2006

Posted 07 December 2007 - 12:34 PM

oh, I didn't know it was in CE phase. I wouldn't ever call without checking here first. which is why I asked
GO R.U.!

#10 OFFLINE   MIAMI1683

MIAMI1683

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,570 posts
Joined: Jul 11, 2007

Posted 07 December 2007 - 12:35 PM

It will come on. Sooner or later. From what i've read it's a closed beta now. Be patient, did you give earl your access card #'s yet?
Sometimes it just is what it is :nono2:

#11 OFFLINE   TedBarrett

TedBarrett

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 291 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2007

Posted 07 December 2007 - 12:54 PM

It is my understanding that this is NOT CE only functionality. I do not now, nor did I ever, participate in the CE program.

#12 OFFLINE   Greg Alsobrook

Greg Alsobrook

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,453 posts
Joined: Apr 01, 2007

Posted 07 December 2007 - 01:06 PM

It is my understanding that this is NOT CE only functionality. I do not now, nor did I ever, participate in the CE program.


It was only open to select members of the CE program... and has not been released to the general public as of yet....
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.

#13 OFFLINE   pshinnyc

pshinnyc

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 07 December 2007 - 02:59 PM

It was only open to select members of the CE program... and has not been released to the general public as of yet....


This is not a CE program. If you search on "DVR Scheduler" on directv.com you get a 23 question FAQ describing the feature and claiming it is now available to all users (as of November 2007) with HR-20 700 and HR-20 100 DVRs.

#14 OFFLINE   ke3ju

ke3ju

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
  • LocationStroudsburg, PA and Seminole, FL
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 07 December 2007 - 03:11 PM

This is not a CE program. If you search on "DVR Scheduler" on directv.com you get a 23 question FAQ describing the feature and claiming it is now available to all users (as of November 2007) with HR-20 700 and HR-20 100 DVRs.


When will the service launch to all DIRECTV customers?

We are aiming to launch the service on the mobile and web platforms for broadcast programming in December 2007 or January 2008.
1 - HR20-100S
1 - HR21-100B
1 - HR22-700
1 - HR24-500
1 - R22

'Any fool can write code that a computer can understand.
Good programmers write code that humans can understand.'
Martin Fowler

#15 OFFLINE   TedBarrett

TedBarrett

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 291 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2007

Posted 07 December 2007 - 04:23 PM

Thank You. I knew I had expected it by December. Guess I'll see it by February now.




spam firewall