Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Wilkes-Barre/Scranton locals coming very soon ...


  • Please log in to reply
163 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   kryscio23

kryscio23

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 22 July 2008 - 01:31 PM

The new D11 satellite is firing up transponders today for the first time (that we can see). This bodes well for adding more HD locals in the near future.



Which satellites (99, 103, right?) should we be checking for signal strength showing us that they have been lit up? I know both of those have As and Bs but I am not sure which ones are relative to D11 ...

As for the rest of our HD locals ... that would be outstanding and I hope it's close!

Add CW WSWB & MY WQMY too, please :)

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   msmith

msmith

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 817 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 22 July 2008 - 01:33 PM

Which satellites (99, 103, right?) should we be checking for signal strength showing us that they have been lit up? I know both of those have As and Bs but I am not sure which ones are relative to D11 ...

As for the rest of our HD locals ... that would be outstanding and I hope it's close!

Add CW WSWB & MY WQMY too, please :)


99© on the DVRs. I think it's 99(B) on the non-DVR's. Not sure about the non-DVR's.

The satellite started showing signal around 1:30pm EDT today.

#128 OFFLINE   kryscio23

kryscio23

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 22 July 2008 - 01:44 PM

99© on the DVRs. I think it's 99(B) on the non-DVR's. Not sure about the non-DVR's.

The satellite started showing signal around 1:30pm EDT today.



I have the H20 versions (HD but non-DVR) and I only have 99A & 99B. I don't want to turn this into a signal strength thread, but 99B at 3:40 p.m. shows Transponders 1-6 and my strengths are 87, 0, 85, 0, 34, 34.

#129 OFFLINE   kryscio23

kryscio23

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 257 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 06 August 2008 - 03:44 PM

It was reported by a trusted source on another board, similar but not as popular to this one, that the CBS (WYOU-22) and NBC (WBRE-28) stations will be lit up on DTV on Friday, Aug. 8!!!

:D

#130 OFFLINE   dcanesdbs

dcanesdbs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 200 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2007

Posted 06 August 2008 - 05:12 PM

It was reported by a trusted source on another board, similar but not as popular to this one, that the CBS (WYOU-22) and NBC (WBRE-28) stations will be lit up on DTV on Friday, Aug. 8!!!

:D


NO WAY!!!!! Who told you this????? Where did you find this information?

What was weird was when I called DTV yesterday, they told me that the HD signal was being transmitted for those stations. I was like I don't see!

Also, when we were getting 16 and 56, the DTV guide online would show 2 of each. It still isn't showing 2 WBRE and 2 WYOU channels.

#131 OFFLINE   dconfer

dconfer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 251 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 06 August 2008 - 06:06 PM

NO WAY!!!!! Who told you this????? Where did you find this information?

What was weird was when I called DTV yesterday, they told me that the HD signal was being transmitted for those stations. I was like I don't see!

Also, when we were getting 16 and 56, the DTV guide online would show 2 of each. It still isn't showing 2 WBRE and 2 WYOU channels.


Try this link. This is were it was posted. Barry works for one of the stations.

http://www.nepa-hdtv...hp?t=971&page=5

#132 OFFLINE   skaeight

skaeight

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 516 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2004

Posted 06 August 2008 - 08:46 PM

I'm excited about this. Friday night is going to be Olympics opening ceremony followed by Letterman.

#133 OFFLINE   dcanesdbs

dcanesdbs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 200 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2007

Posted 06 August 2008 - 09:45 PM

Try this link. This is were it was posted. Barry works for one of the stations.

http://www.nepa-hdtv...hp?t=971&page=5


THIS will be awesome.. I pray this is true!

#134 OFFLINE   dconfer

dconfer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 251 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 07 August 2008 - 04:16 AM

Just checked they lite them up today. We now have CBS & NBC locals. Kewl beans. Now all we need is the CW.

#135 OFFLINE   jlancaster

jlancaster

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 752 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2006

Posted 07 August 2008 - 05:30 AM

Yes they are!! Both at 1080. Thanks Directv!!!

SWMline
(2)HR20-700 50" Sony dlp hdmi, 50" vizio plasma hdmi...1 HR21-100 to26 Vizio hdmi, R22-100 to sdtv

#136 OFFLINE   cashoe

cashoe

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 110 posts
Joined: Apr 26, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 06:50 AM

Wheee!!!!!!!
now all we need is WVIA :)
Illegitimati Non Carborundum

Whenever man strives to idiot-proof something they always underestimate nature's ability to make a better idiot.

#137 OFFLINE   Nomo1

Nomo1

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 77 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 07:49 AM

I'd personally rather have the CW.

BUt I am thrilled that the others showed up this morning. What I don't uderstand is all the secrecy.


#138 OFFLINE   fikuserectus

fikuserectus

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 07 August 2008 - 08:18 AM

I wish Directv could have all the local HD channels ready by the Olympics. I live in Rochester, NY. They better have our HD locals up and running before Football season starts!!

#139 OFFLINE   HIGHWAY

HIGHWAY

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
  • Locationnorth east pa
Joined: Apr 11, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 09:22 AM

nice for wbre & wyou. football in hd 1080.

#140 OFFLINE   dcanesdbs

dcanesdbs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 200 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 10:08 AM

This is AWESOME!!!!! Thanks Jess for breaking this!

#141 OFFLINE   HDTVFreak07

HDTVFreak07

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 706 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 04:15 PM

I wish Directv could have all the local HD channels ready by the Olympics. I live in Rochester, NY. They better have our HD locals up and running before Football season starts!!


You call Rochester, NY upstate NY? Ha. Anyway, can't you get your locals OTA? I live way up north (the REAL upstate) in Chaumont, NY (near Watertown) and I can get Rochester locals.

#142 OFFLINE   markp

markp

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 63 posts
Joined: Mar 04, 2004

Posted 07 August 2008 - 07:53 PM

You call Rochester, NY upstate NY? Ha. Anyway, can't you get your locals OTA? I live way up north (the REAL upstate) in Chaumont, NY (near Watertown) and I can get Rochester locals.


I am in Rochester and yeah I consider us Western, NY.

We have OTA locals but much of what we watch is DVR'd. I want it all integrated and want to get rid of the rabbit ears behind my TV.

Gotta think they will light up the August group tomorrow! :hurah:

#143 OFFLINE   dcanesdbs

dcanesdbs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 200 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2007

Posted 07 August 2008 - 08:34 PM

I am in Rochester and yeah I consider us Western, NY.

We have OTA locals but much of what we watch is DVR'd. I want it all integrated and want to get rid of the rabbit ears behind my TV.

Gotta think they will light up the August group tomorrow! :hurah:


Ok, I was just on DTV's website and I saw duplicate 38 and 44. Are they next to become transmitted in HD?!?!?! That will be AWESOME!

#144 ONLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 17,400 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 07 August 2008 - 08:58 PM

Correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't this DMA turned on as an sd only MPEG-4 LIL earlier this year? If so... Do you see both sd feeds and HD feeds, or just one feed?

#145 OFFLINE   ke3ju

ke3ju

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
  • LocationStroudsburg, PA and Seminole, FL
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 07 August 2008 - 11:55 PM

You call Rochester, NY upstate NY? Ha. Anyway, can't you get your locals OTA? I live way up north (the REAL upstate) in Chaumont, NY (near Watertown) and I can get Rochester locals.


My folks' have a camp out on Point Peninsula...not too far from the Shangrala. I was surprised when I saw Chaumont on here...

Regards,
Ed
1 - HR20-100S
1 - HR21-100B
1 - HR22-700
1 - HR24-500
1 - R22

'Any fool can write code that a computer can understand.
Good programmers write code that humans can understand.'
Martin Fowler

#146 OFFLINE   dconfer

dconfer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 251 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 08 August 2008 - 05:24 AM

Correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't this DMA turned on as an sd only MPEG-4 LIL earlier this year? If so... Do you see both sd feeds and HD feeds, or just one feed?


No it was not. We have had our SD for a long time. They come from the 119 sat. They did give us the HD ABC and FOX on Jan 3.

#147 OFFLINE   The Scotsman

The Scotsman

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2007

Posted 08 August 2008 - 05:29 AM

Correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't this DMA turned on as an sd only MPEG-4 LIL earlier this year? If so... Do you see both sd feeds and HD feeds, or just one feed?

We got our ABC channel 16 and Fox channel 56 from DirecTV in HD about 6 or 8 months ago. They had both been available from D* in SD for years before that. Thanks for your interest from sunny CA!:)

Archie

#148 OFFLINE   dconfer

dconfer

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 251 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 08 August 2008 - 05:35 AM

Ok, I was just on DTV's website and I saw duplicate 38 and 44. Are they next to become transmitted in HD?!?!?! That will be AWESOME!


I see the same thing. But I also have 5 channels 1 that says to be announced. I think this is just an error on D* part. But lets hope. Also 38 and 44 say to be announced.

#149 OFFLINE   dcanesdbs

dcanesdbs

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 200 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2007

Posted 08 August 2008 - 07:11 AM

I see the same thing. But I also have 5 channels 1 that says to be announced. I think this is just an error on D* part. But lets hope. Also 38 and 44 say to be announced.


was 38 and 44 Hd channels turned on today????

#150 OFFLINE   VaJim

VaJim

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 652 posts
  • LocationVirginia beach va
Joined: Jul 26, 2006

Posted 08 August 2008 - 09:56 AM

Norfolk/Virginia Beach loses again!:mad: :mad:




Protected By... spam firewall...And...