Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

USB Cables


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Sandman

Sandman

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 374 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2002

Posted 06 March 2003 - 11:35 AM

Is there a difference between the cables for 2.0 and 1.1

Bob

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Unthinkable

Unthinkable

    Guest

  • Registered
  • 1,096 posts
Joined: Sep 13, 2002

Posted 06 March 2003 - 05:20 PM

No.
"Look Hollom, its leadership they want. Strength. Now you find that within yourself and you will earn their respect. With that respect, true discipline goes by the board." (Capt. Jack Aubrey)

#3 OFFLINE   tontomono

tontomono

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2003

Posted 13 March 2003 - 01:51 AM

No

#4 OFFLINE   DishDude1

DishDude1

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 263 posts
Joined: Apr 12, 2002

Posted 13 March 2003 - 07:59 PM

I'm sure the superstores selling them for $30 would want you to believe so :P

#5 OFFLINE   Sandman

Sandman

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 374 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2002

Posted 13 March 2003 - 08:17 PM

Thats what I thought, have been using 1.1 cables that work without a glitch yet compputer stores have 2.0 cables at a much higher price.

Bob

#6 OFFLINE   gcutler

gcutler

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,435 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 13 March 2003 - 08:38 PM

But it's the Gold Plate Connectors (because the 1s or 0s needs the extra umph to make it off the cable) and snazzy Black color that warrants the $20 increase in price :D
4900 on a SA TiVo and a 508

#7 OFFLINE   firephoto

firephoto

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 863 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2002

Posted 14 March 2003 - 12:10 AM

<--- firewire guy

with nice clear jacketed cables too. :)

#8 OFFLINE   raj2001

raj2001

    Icon/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 929 posts
Joined: Nov 02, 2002

Posted 15 March 2003 - 08:55 PM

Originally posted by firephoto
<--- firewire guy

with nice clear jacketed cables too. :)


Bah, I got both :D

#9 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Administrators
  • 17,190 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 17 March 2003 - 09:44 AM

I was wondering that myself. I just upgraded my computer and it has USB 2.0 capability. So what you guys are saying is that USB 1.1 cables and sockets are exactly the same as USB 2.0? So theoretically I should be able to plug in any USB 2.0 device into a 1.1 socket and it should work?

#10 OFFLINE   Ric

Ric

    Godfather

  • Gold Members
  • 474 posts
Joined: Apr 26, 2002

Posted 17 March 2003 - 10:00 AM

Originally posted by gcutler
But it's the Gold Plate Connectors (because the 1s or 0s needs the extra umph to make it off the cable) and snazzy Black color that warrants the $20 increase in price :D


Actually, I believe the 2.0 cables are much thicker and less likely to kink than the 1.1 cables.

This way, more 0's can fit through and the 1's won't get caught if the cable bends!:lol:

#11 OFFLINE   gcutler

gcutler

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,435 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 17 March 2003 - 10:03 AM

The shape and fit are the same... But the device will say it if it backward compatible. Things like a drive or such will just work slower when put into a 1.1 slot. But some devices (like a Digital Video Capture Device) that are 2.0 may technically work in 1.1, they will perform sooo badly as to not make it worth while. So best to go by the specs that say 2.0 (but backward 1.1 compatible)
4900 on a SA TiVo and a 508

#12 OFFLINE   gcutler

gcutler

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,435 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 17 March 2003 - 10:06 AM

Originally posted by Ric


Actually, I believe the 2.0 cables are much thicker and less likely to kink than the 1.1 cables.

This way, more 0's can fit through and the 1's won't get caught if the cable bends!:lol:


I've even seen 1.1 cables with all the bells an whistles. I have purchased generic type cables (like the ones that come bundled with the USB devices) so know they are just as good. But when you goto Comp-USA they only have the "Designer" cables with the gold plated tip and such... So when you goto the store it is impossible to not spend $30 for a cable, but a just as good cable can be gotten 1/2 price on the internet. :(
4900 on a SA TiVo and a 508

#13 OFFLINE   Neil Derryberry

Neil Derryberry

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,014 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 17 March 2003 - 10:50 AM

i'm a firewire guy as well. You can string up to 68 firewire ide hard disks together if you want to... forget about pc133! They make some nice firewire raid controllers as well.
Neil Derryberry, WD4NET
neil dot derryberry at gmail dot com

#14 OFFLINE   gcutler

gcutler

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,435 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 17 March 2003 - 11:28 AM

WIth a firewire PCI cards starting in the $20 range, going firewire is real easy. I just bought an 80GB firewire external drive just so I can move Digital Video stuff from machine to machine (moving 25GB AVI files over the 100MBp network isn't so quick.)
4900 on a SA TiVo and a 508

#15 OFFLINE   Neil Derryberry

Neil Derryberry

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,014 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 17 March 2003 - 01:30 PM

I put my dvd burner on firewire.. now portable between laptop and home machine!
Neil Derryberry, WD4NET
neil dot derryberry at gmail dot com

#16 OFFLINE   gcutler

gcutler

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,435 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 17 March 2003 - 01:48 PM

Originally posted by Neil Derryberry
I put my dvd burner on firewire.. now portable between laptop and home machine!


DVD BURNERS ON ALL MACHINES, AT ALL TIMES. None of this Portable nonsense :P

Was it originally a Firewire or did you buy a firewire enclosure. I've seen them and assume that any IDE device would work with them. I was going to take a 8GB drive and buy a Firewire enclosure for it (before realizing it was not worth the effort and donated the 8GB drive to Bogy's church)
4900 on a SA TiVo and a 508

#17 OFFLINE   firephoto

firephoto

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 863 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2002

Posted 17 March 2003 - 03:12 PM

The external pioneer and sony burners are just the normal model stuck in an ide>firewire box. You can take out the dvd/cd drive and put a hard drive in if you want.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...