Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

anyone got a Samsung LCD TV and using HR20/21 remote to control volume?


  • Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bluemoose

bluemoose

    Legend

  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 239 posts
Joined: Dec 07, 2007

Posted 16 January 2008 - 01:32 PM

One of my TV is a Samsun 46" LCD model....

I programmed my HR20 and HR21's remotes to work with that TV.... everything
work fine.... except the volume control... Both the original Samsung remote
and my old HD Tivo's peanut remote will raise/lower the volume when I hold
up/down the volume button.

However, with the HR20 and HR21's remote, holding it down doesn't make
the volume go up or down... it only raises by 1 number with each press....
for example, I have to make 10 presses for the valume to go from 0 to 10....

is there a word-around for this?

Thanks! :)

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   mcbeevee

mcbeevee

    97% Complete

  • Registered
  • 1,281 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 16 January 2008 - 01:41 PM

However, with the HR20 and HR21's remote, holding it down doesn't make
the volume go up or down... it only raises by 1 number with each press....
for example, I have to make 10 presses for the valume to go from 0 to 10....

I have 2 Samsung lcd's, and neither one of them will let me hold down the volume key on the Directv remote. Don't know of any workaround. There is something strange about the Samsung's, since my other TV's will let me hold down the volume key.

:)

#3 OFFLINE   JeffTex42

JeffTex42

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 152 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2007

Posted 16 January 2008 - 01:45 PM

I've got an HR20 hooked up to a Sammy LCD. I haven't noticed the volume issue as you've described. I'll check it this evening when I get home and report what I find.

#4 OFFLINE   cartrivision

cartrivision

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,862 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 16 January 2008 - 01:48 PM

I have 2 Samsung lcd's, and neither one of them will let me hold down the volume key on the Directv remote. Don't know of any workaround. There is something strange about the Samsung's, since my other TV's will let me hold down the volume key.

:)


Try the other suggested Samsung TV codes from the remote setup screens. The first one in the list will only do the one step volume change even if you hold it down, but one of the other codes will work properly and keep raising (or lowering) the volume for as long as the volume button is held down.

#5 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,755 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 16 January 2008 - 02:25 PM

For repeating volume commands, use code 10702.
aka Tivoburkee

#6 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,611 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 16 January 2008 - 02:25 PM

Same thing with my Sammy DLP. I have a Harmony remote and holding the button works, although I use the stereo for audio and have the volume on the TV off.

#7 OFFLINE   506PIR

506PIR

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2006

Posted 16 January 2008 - 03:55 PM

Same on my Sammy 4066 Cant hold down for continuous raising or lowering of sound. Single button taps. Ill try the code you put down EDMUND
D* Since 1995
DISH:SLIMLINE (WB68)
BEDROOM:40" SAMSUNG LNT-4066F
RECEIVERS:HR20-100
PROTECTION:APC BX1300LCD
OTA:DB2

#8 OFFLINE   mcbeevee

mcbeevee

    97% Complete

  • Registered
  • 1,281 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2006

Posted 16 January 2008 - 05:40 PM

For repeating volume commands, use code 10702.

This fixed both of my Sammy's...thanks Remote Master! :)

#9 OFFLINE   bluemoose

bluemoose

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 239 posts
Joined: Dec 07, 2007

Posted 17 January 2008 - 12:04 PM

For repeating volume commands, use code 10702.


Thanks! I'll give that a try when I get home tonight! :)

#10 OFFLINE   JeffTex42

JeffTex42

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 152 posts
Joined: Sep 14, 2007

Posted 17 January 2008 - 06:50 PM

I've got an HR20 hooked up to a Sammy LCD. I haven't noticed the volume issue as you've described. I'll check it this evening when I get home and report what I find.


Took me day, but mine worked and I don't remember entering anything special to do it. Good thing your not relying on me ... I'm no help. I get that a lot from the wife! :grin:

#11 OFFLINE   saleen351

saleen351

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 478 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2006

Posted 26 January 2008 - 10:25 AM

Yes it's the code... I had this issue on my 61' Samsung.. New code fixed it..

#12 OFFLINE   rhambling

rhambling

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 347 posts
Joined: Dec 19, 2007

Posted 01 February 2008 - 02:14 PM

im am installer for directv. goto your remote settings menu and try the different codes. I have a hr21-700 and a samsung 40". i believe the second or third code will let you hold the volume to change it.

#13 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,755 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 01 February 2008 - 02:22 PM

im am installer for directv. goto your remote settings menu and try the different codes. I have a hr21-700 and a samsung 40". i believe the second or third code will let you hold the volume to change it.


Why don't you go to your remote, first punch any other brand's code, say sony 10000, then try code 10702. So from now on your won't have to be so vague when helping someone.
aka Tivoburkee

#14 OFFLINE   cartrivision

cartrivision

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,862 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 01 February 2008 - 03:07 PM

Why don't you go to your remote, first punch any other brand's code, say sony 10000, then try code 10702. So from now on your won't have to be so vague when helping someone.


If you are pretty sure that you know the exact code for the OPs TV, that's great (although you can't be absolutely sure since the OP didn't give his exact model number), but there was nothing vague about rhambling's answer, and in fact it was exactly the correct procedure for finding the right setup code. If one of the codes listed for the Samsung TV (or any make of TV for that matter) doesn't work how it should for all functions, try the other codes listed for the TV maker until you find the code that works the best.

#15 OFFLINE   Supervolcano

Supervolcano

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,085 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2007

Posted 10 February 2008 - 04:11 PM

For repeating volume commands, use code 10702.

If 10702 doesn't work for someone, here's the full list of samsung codes that come in the RC64 remote's manual. I'm listing these because the on-screen menu only lists 12 of these 25 codes.

10060, 10812, 10702, 10178, 10030, 11959, 11903, 11575, 11395, 11312, 11249, 11060, 10814, 10766, 10618, 10482, 10427, 10408, 10329, 10056, 10037, 10032, 10019, 10264, (also the on-screen menu lists 10217 which the RC64 manual doesn't list).

If one doesn't work, keep plugging until one of them does.
Click Here to See my Equipment and SWM8 Configuration.
Click Here for My Theories on why we have no shouldn't have DLB yet.
Click Here to Review cbaker's "Long Term (Multiple CE) Bug List".

#16 OFFLINE   mlh422

mlh422

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 10 February 2008 - 07:02 PM

;)

One of my TV is a Samsun 46" LCD model....


is there a word-around for this?

Thanks! :)


THANK YOU Bluemoose, for asking this. I simply assumed I had to live with this problem. I would never have thought that maybe another code would do the job. And...thank you to those of you providing the solution too! :hurah:

#17 OFFLINE   EAGLES20

EAGLES20

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 104 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2005

Posted 10 February 2008 - 07:27 PM

I have a Samsung, Panasonic and a Sony neither of them have volume from the TV's. The only sound comes from the surround sound systems that they are hooked up to. The Samsung is hooked up to a HR21-700 and the Panasonic is hooked up to a HR20-700 and the Sony is a HR20-100 they have never worked through the boxes they have there own Denon 3806 and that is the only way I can get sound. It sucks because at night I have to switch inputs and watch Comcast through my RePlay TV now the volume works fine on any of the TV's when I use Replay TV and Comcast.

#18 OFFLINE   EXTREMUM

EXTREMUM

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 186 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2008

Posted 10 February 2008 - 07:58 PM

As mentioned above, code 10702 does the trick, for 99% of all Samsungs. The code before it only does single step.
Michael
-
50" LG 50PC5D Plasma
DirecTV HR21-700 - 320GB (for now)
Samsung DVD-1080P7 Upconversion
Pioneer VSX-D308 (ancient, but still sounds great)

#19 OFFLINE   desertbriez

desertbriez

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 12 February 2008 - 06:42 PM

For repeating volume commands, use code 10702.


:icon_kiss thank you! that worked!!!!! (i had the one at a time problem too! now i don't! :joy:

#20 OFFLINE   bondurch

bondurch

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2006

Posted 15 March 2008 - 08:02 AM

For repeating volume commands, use code 10702.



Excellent this code worked like a champ.




spam firewall