Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Phoenix Viewers:KAZT-DT 7.1


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,601 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 23 January 2008 - 10:55 AM

According to "Arizona's Own" web site, KAZT 7.1 is on the air and analog 27 is gone. I'm not at home so I cannot verify this on the HR20, 7.1 is listed in the OTA channels

http://www.arizonaso...y.asp?S=7531350

AZ-TV Now All-Digital Channel 7.1 in Phoenix: What You Need To Know (And Do)

AZ-TV has switched to all-digital broadcasting in the Phoenix area on Channel 7.1, providing a crystal-clear signal not possible with analog (non-digital) technology.

Channel 27 has left the air forever. This was necessary to replace the analog transmitter with a new state-of-the art digital transmitter.

If you've been watching AZ-TV over the air (no cable, no satellite) in the Phoenix area on Channel 27, you'll need one of the following:

* A TV set with a built-in digital tuner. All new TVs sold in the U.S. since May, 2007 have digital tuners. If you've bought one since then, you've got what you need.
* A cable connection. For this, you'd need to call Cox, Qwest, or the local cable provider for your area and subscribe.
* A satellite connection. Again, a subscription, through DIRECTV or Dish Network.
* A digital-to-analog converter box. This is a set-top box that will recieve digital signals and convert them so they can be watched on your existing analog (non-digital) TV.



...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Sirshagg

Sirshagg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,922 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 23 January 2008 - 12:50 PM

Check signal strength on 7.1 gets absolutely nothing for me on all HR20's. I get good to excellent signals on everything else OTA.
Who is this "Vod Kanockers" that you speak of?

#3 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,601 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 23 January 2008 - 03:02 PM

Time to email Tribune Media Services. It is 27-1 on my channel list. That me be the reason why I could not get any signal.

#4 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,601 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 23 January 2008 - 08:14 PM

OK. I auto-tuned my Sammy's ATSC tuner and it picked up KAZT on 7.1 and 7.2, both SD feeds of the same broadcast. RTN (Retro Television Network) A TV Land type network will be broadcast on 7.2
Posted Image
http://en.wikipedia....evision_Network

#5 OFFLINE   Sirshagg

Sirshagg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,922 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 24 January 2008 - 11:44 AM

OK. I auto-tuned my Sammy's ATSC tuner and it picked up KAZT on 7.1 and 7.2, both SD feeds of the same broadcast. RTN (Retro Television Network) A TV Land type network will be broadcast on 7.2
Posted Image
http://en.wikipedia....evision_Network


What about the HR20? Do you get it on this too?
Who is this "Vod Kanockers" that you speak of?

#6 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,601 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 24 January 2008 - 02:31 PM

What about the HR20? Do you get it on this too?


No. I do not get any signal. It is listed as 27-1 in the OTA channel list. I am unsure why the HR20 is not picking it up because they are using channel 27 for it's DTV signal in Phoenix. It might have something to to with the ID tag sending 7.1 and 7.2

#7 OFFLINE   Sirshagg

Sirshagg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,922 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 24 January 2008 - 02:38 PM

No. I do not get any signal. It is listed as 27-1 in the OTA channel list. I am unsure why the HR20 is not picking it up because they are using channel 27 for it's DTV signal in Phoenix. It might have something to to with the ID tag sending 7.1 and 7.2


Well, I guess that makes me feel better - at least it's not just me. How do we get DirecTv to fix this though?

As I understand it the channel is 27-1 but it's mapped to 7-1.
Who is this "Vod Kanockers" that you speak of?

#8 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,601 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 24 January 2008 - 02:42 PM

Well, I guess that makes me feel better - at least it's not just me. How do we get DirecTv to fix this though?

As I understand it the channel is 27-1 but it's mapped to 7-1.


Tribune Media Services needs to correct it.

#9 OFFLINE   Sirshagg

Sirshagg

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,922 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 24 January 2008 - 03:23 PM

I'm still not sure that I understand where the problem lies and who needs to fix it:
  • CBS digital channel is actually on 17 but mapped to their analog channel - 5. We receive HD CBS on 5-1 on the HR20.
  • ABC digital channel is actually on 56 but mapped to their analog channel - 15. We receive HD ABC on 15-1 on the HR20.
  • NBC digital channel is actually on 36 but mapped to their analog channel - 12. We receive HD NBC on 12-1 on the HR20.
  • FOX digital channel is actually on 31 but mapped to their analog channel - 10. We receive HD FOX on 10-1 on the HR20.
  • PBS digital channel is actually on 29 but mapped to their analog channel - 8. We receive HD CBS on 8-1 on the HR20.
  • MYTV digital channel is actually on 26 but mapped to their analog channel - 45. We receive HD MYTV on 45-1 on the HR20.
  • CW digital channel is actually on 49 but mapped to their analog channel - 61. We receive HD CW on 61-1 on the HR20.
  • KTKV digital channel is actually on 24 but mapped to their analog channel - 3. We receive HD KTKV on 3-1 on the HR20.
Why wouldn't KAZTV (7/27) work the same way?
Who is this "Vod Kanockers" that you speak of?

#10 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,601 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 24 January 2008 - 07:47 PM

I'm still not sure that I understand where the problem lies and who needs to fix it:

  • CBS digital channel is actually on 17 but mapped to their analog channel - 5. We receive HD CBS on 5-1 on the HR20.
  • ABC digital channel is actually on 56 but mapped to their analog channel - 15. We receive HD ABC on 15-1 on the HR20.
  • NBC digital channel is actually on 36 but mapped to their analog channel - 12. We receive HD NBC on 12-1 on the HR20.
  • FOX digital channel is actually on 31 but mapped to their analog channel - 10. We receive HD FOX on 10-1 on the HR20.
  • PBS digital channel is actually on 29 but mapped to their analog channel - 8. We receive HD CBS on 8-1 on the HR20.
  • MYTV digital channel is actually on 26 but mapped to their analog channel - 45. We receive HD MYTV on 45-1 on the HR20.
  • CW digital channel is actually on 49 but mapped to their analog channel - 61. We receive HD CW on 61-1 on the HR20.
  • KTKV digital channel is actually on 24 but mapped to their analog channel - 3. We receive HD KTKV on 3-1 on the HR20.
Why wouldn't KAZTV (7/27) work the same way?

That is the problem, KAZT is mapping 27 to 7
I can't remember what it called, but it is sent with the transmission so the ATSC tuner displays 5-1 for 17. Once in awhile it went off and I had to tune to the actual channel, 17-1 to watch 5-1 in HD when I had the SD TiVo hooked up to my Sammy and wanted to watch CSI in HD.
EDIT: I found out that it is called PSIP, Program and System Information Protocol

#11 OFFLINE   MikeW

MikeW

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,538 posts
Joined: May 16, 2002

Posted 09 October 2008 - 03:45 PM

Looks like RTN starts up on 7.2 on 10/13.

http://titantvguide....spx?siteid=4006

#12 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,695 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 09 October 2008 - 05:56 PM

Looks like RTN starts up on 7.2 on 10/13.

http://titantvguide....spx?siteid=4006

Wonder if we'll get this on D*? Probably not though. I can't 7.1/7.2 via OTA.

#13 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,601 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 28 October 2008 - 06:39 PM

7.2 is up and running. I can't get it OTA via my HR20-700. I do receive 7.2 via my TV's OTA tuner. I did a soft reset, no change.

#14 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,695 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 05 March 2009 - 09:09 PM

So will we be getting the HD feed of channel 7?

Link

#15 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,601 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 06 March 2009 - 10:39 AM

Is that in Phoenix as well, or just in Prescott? I'll have to check out the OTA channel when I get home.

#16 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,695 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 06 March 2009 - 06:52 PM

Is that in Phoenix as well, or just in Prescott? I'll have to check out the OTA channel when I get home.

I'm guessing its in Phoenix too, because Cox cable is adding it.

#17 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,601 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 06 March 2009 - 09:47 PM

I had to redo the setup to get it, but it is in 720p. I was getting a SFS. I also checked using the Sammy's internal ATSC tuner and it says HD. Still no 7-2 on my HR20 though.

#18 OFFLINE   insurprise

insurprise

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Jun 30, 2010

Posted 30 June 2010 - 07:56 PM

When I channel search on my TiVo, I get 2 sets of results for 7.1 and 7.2. The KAZT-DT1 and KAZT-DT2 results in no reception. The KAZT-CD1 and KAZT-CD2 work. My DirecTV OTA receiver tries to find KAZT-DT1 and KAZT-DT2 without success. Does anyone understand the difference between the DT and CD types of digital broadcast?

#19 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,601 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 30 June 2010 - 11:00 PM

DT is for full power digital, CD is for class A low power digital stations. The Phoenix translator is the CD. The station in Prescott is DT

#20 OFFLINE   shadough

shadough

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 652 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2006

Posted 17 July 2010 - 11:29 AM

Hey can anyone w/ KAZT record something for me next weekend???

http://shad.is.dream...fl/collect.html 1000 AFL games and counting......





spam firewall