Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR21-700 Hide all SD channels at once.


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
17 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   phatmatt1215

phatmatt1215

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 564 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2007

Posted 28 January 2008 - 07:11 PM

My parents just got an HR21-700 (black case). How do you automagically hide all of the SD channels at one? I can't seem to find that function. I know it can be done in the HR20-700 Can it be done?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   JDubbs413

JDubbs413

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 877 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 28 January 2008 - 08:20 PM

I think you may be referring to hiding all the SD duplicates. That option is found under Setup -> Display -> Guide HD Channels: Hide SD duplicates. Those are the steps with the HR20, it must be similar for the HR21.
5-LNB Slimline Dish
1 Zinwell WB68
1 HR20-700
1 R22-200
1 R15-500
1 D11-500

1 Slingbox Solo

Proud DirecTV Subscriber Since September 5, 2007.

#3 OFFLINE   fusion04

fusion04

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 57 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2007

Posted 29 January 2008 - 08:08 AM

If you press the Guide button 2x, you'll see an option at the bottom of the screen to show only HDTV channels.

#4 OFFLINE   MIAMI1683

MIAMI1683

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,570 posts
Joined: Jul 11, 2007

Posted 29 January 2008 - 08:59 AM

My parents just got an HR21-700 (black case). How do you automagically hide all of the SD channels at one? I can't seem to find that function. I know it can be done in the HR20-700 Can it be done?


This is not an option yet for the HR21 on the NR software. It's coming but not here yet. Going to HDTV only under the guide will work for now.
Sometimes it just is what it is :nono2:

#5 OFFLINE   JDubbs413

JDubbs413

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 877 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 29 January 2008 - 10:08 AM

Thanks for the info on the HR21 not having the software yet, I didn't know that.
5-LNB Slimline Dish
1 Zinwell WB68
1 HR20-700
1 R22-200
1 R15-500
1 D11-500

1 Slingbox Solo

Proud DirecTV Subscriber Since September 5, 2007.

#6 OFFLINE   bemenaker

bemenaker

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2008

Posted 14 February 2008 - 02:05 PM

Is this available on the HR21-700 yet? I still haven't found a way to hide my SD duplicates. I have the new 1fe release, but I don't remember seeing that anywhere. I like the HD only guide, but I would like a full guide w/o SD dupes. That's just retarded.

#7 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 14 February 2008 - 02:09 PM

Menu->Setup->Display
(IIRC)...

It is in there now.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#8 OFFLINE   somekevinguy

somekevinguy

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 231 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2008

Posted 14 February 2008 - 02:19 PM

This is not an option yet for the HR21 on the NR software. It's coming but not here yet. Going to HDTV only under the guide will work for now.

What do you mean it will work for now? That does exactly what he was asking for.
Family Room
Sony KDS-60A3000
HR21-700 with 750GB WD drive in Antec MX-1
Onkyo TX-SR805
Toshiba HD-A3
PS3
Wii
Harmony 900 with PS3 adaptor
APC Smart UPS SUA750
Bedroom
Samsung LN40A550
HR21-200
Panasonic DMP-BD30K
Harmony 700
D* since 97 self installed the day I moved into my first house.

#9 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,876 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 14 February 2008 - 02:36 PM

What do you mean it will work for now? That does exactly what he was asking for.


No it doesn't.

The HDTV Only filter for the guide only filters the non HD channels for that time, or until the unit is rebooted I believe.

Hide SD Duplicates permanently, unless you turn it off, removes all SD channels from your guide, and search results, that have an HD equivalent.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#10 OFFLINE   somekevinguy

somekevinguy

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 231 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2008

Posted 15 February 2008 - 03:13 PM

No it doesn't.

The HDTV Only filter for the guide only filters the non HD channels for that time, or until the unit is rebooted I believe.

Hide SD Duplicates permanently, unless you turn it off, removes all SD channels from your guide, and search results, that have an HD equivalent.

He just asked if there was a way to hide all the SD channels at once not SD duplicates and he didn't mention anything about permanently. I don't see why you would ever want to hide all your SD channels permanently.
Family Room
Sony KDS-60A3000
HR21-700 with 750GB WD drive in Antec MX-1
Onkyo TX-SR805
Toshiba HD-A3
PS3
Wii
Harmony 900 with PS3 adaptor
APC Smart UPS SUA750
Bedroom
Samsung LN40A550
HR21-200
Panasonic DMP-BD30K
Harmony 700
D* since 97 self installed the day I moved into my first house.

#11 OFFLINE   bemenaker

bemenaker

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2008

Posted 15 February 2008 - 03:23 PM

They hide SD dupes option is in the new NR for the hr21-700

#12 OFFLINE   somekevinguy

somekevinguy

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 231 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2008

Posted 15 February 2008 - 08:11 PM

They hide SD dupes option is in the new NR for the hr21-700

Yes it is as Earl already mentioned above. There are too many junk channels that I don't care to scroll through everyday so as with my old D*Tivo I continue to use the custom list anyway so that new feature is doesn't do anything for me.
Family Room
Sony KDS-60A3000
HR21-700 with 750GB WD drive in Antec MX-1
Onkyo TX-SR805
Toshiba HD-A3
PS3
Wii
Harmony 900 with PS3 adaptor
APC Smart UPS SUA750
Bedroom
Samsung LN40A550
HR21-200
Panasonic DMP-BD30K
Harmony 700
D* since 97 self installed the day I moved into my first house.

#13 OFFLINE   JerryAndGail

JerryAndGail

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2006

Posted 15 February 2008 - 10:20 PM

A custom list is better since some channels have different programming between the SD and HD channels. If you turn off duplicates you won't see whats available all the time.
HR21/R22/R10/R15/D10

#14 OFFLINE   somekevinguy

somekevinguy

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 231 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2008

Posted 16 February 2008 - 12:25 AM

A custom list is better since some channels have different programming between the SD and HD channels. If you turn off duplicates you won't see whats available all the time.

IIRC the hide duplicates doesn't hide the channels like food network, hgtv, etc that have different programing between the SD and HD versions. I was wondering about that and tried it to see even though I do use the custom list.
Family Room
Sony KDS-60A3000
HR21-700 with 750GB WD drive in Antec MX-1
Onkyo TX-SR805
Toshiba HD-A3
PS3
Wii
Harmony 900 with PS3 adaptor
APC Smart UPS SUA750
Bedroom
Samsung LN40A550
HR21-200
Panasonic DMP-BD30K
Harmony 700
D* since 97 self installed the day I moved into my first house.

#15 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,144 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 16 February 2008 - 09:24 AM

IIRC the hide duplicates doesn't hide the channels like food network, hgtv, etc that have different programing between the SD and HD versions. I was wondering about that and tried it to see even though I do use the custom list.


For channels where the HD and SD versions have different programming, the HD channel is numbered with a -1 (e.g Food SD is 231, Food HD is 231-1) instead of having a channel number identical to the SD channel, so the "hide duplicate SD channels" does not remove the SD versions of these "-1" channels.

#16 OFFLINE   JerryAndGail

JerryAndGail

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2006

Posted 16 February 2008 - 10:19 AM

IIRC the hide duplicates doesn't hide the channels like food network, hgtv, etc that have different programing between the SD and HD versions. I was wondering about that and tried it to see even though I do use the custom list.


I found out on mine it does hide them completely. While watching my HR21 I happened to see a show on the food channel that I should have been recording on my R15. I went to check and it wasn't. When I checked the guide on the R15 it showed a different show than the one I was seeing on my HR21 and the list on my HR21 only showed one Food channel. Turning off duplicates displayed the other Food channel which matched what was on the R15.

If this didn't happen I would have never known.
HR21/R22/R10/R15/D10

#17 OFFLINE   somekevinguy

somekevinguy

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 231 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2008

Posted 16 February 2008 - 11:15 AM

Very interesting. As I thought and texasbrit confirmed, hide duplicates does not hide the SD versions of channels which have different programing than the HD version. I don't know what is going on with your box.
Family Room
Sony KDS-60A3000
HR21-700 with 750GB WD drive in Antec MX-1
Onkyo TX-SR805
Toshiba HD-A3
PS3
Wii
Harmony 900 with PS3 adaptor
APC Smart UPS SUA750
Bedroom
Samsung LN40A550
HR21-200
Panasonic DMP-BD30K
Harmony 700
D* since 97 self installed the day I moved into my first house.

#18 OFFLINE   JerryAndGail

JerryAndGail

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2006

Posted 18 February 2008 - 06:20 PM

Hey, I've got the -1 channels now. They were never in the guide before. Maybe this has something to do with the update I just got the other day.
HR21/R22/R10/R15/D10




Protected By... spam firewall...And...