Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Remote code for Dynex


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tbone526

tbone526

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 82 posts
Joined: Nov 21, 2006

Posted 31 January 2008 - 08:04 PM

I'm having a problem trying to get the remote for my new HR20-100 to control my new TV.

I just purchased a 32" Dynex (Best Buy store brand) LCD TV, and I don't know which brand to select to find the remote codes. Dynex isn't listed as a choice, and I'm not even sure if all the Dynex's would be the same manufacturer "under the hood" anyway.

How do I program the remote to operate the TV?

All help is appreciated, thanks!
5LNB dish
No multiswitch
HR20-700 (10/06) via component to Mitsubishi WD-52725
HR20-100 (1/08) via HDMI to generic 32" LCD
Networked via Cat5e

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   AntAltMike

AntAltMike

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,852 posts
  • LocationCollege Park MD (just outside Wash, DC)
Joined: Nov 20, 2004

Posted 31 January 2008 - 08:12 PM

I don't have the answer you're looking for, but it may comfort you to at least hear that the old DirecTV HRMC remote that probably came with a Hughes HAH receiver presently controls my Dynex 13" TV. I found that code by stepping through them. Does your HR20-100 remote allow you to at least blindly step through the stored codes?

If you don't get the answer here, you might try posting at remotecentral.com

#3 OFFLINE   tbone526

tbone526

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 82 posts
Joined: Nov 21, 2006

Posted 31 January 2008 - 08:21 PM

Thanks for the tip! Did a search over at remotecentral.com and found the answer in 2 minutes.

(It was Sansui for anyone that's curious).
5LNB dish
No multiswitch
HR20-700 (10/06) via component to Mitsubishi WD-52725
HR20-100 (1/08) via HDMI to generic 32" LCD
Networked via Cat5e

#4 OFFLINE   Mz-Professional1982

Mz-Professional1982

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2008

Posted 26 August 2008 - 04:28 PM

:lol:
Hello,
I was having a problem finding the code for my Dynez 20" tv for a universal remote. I called the help center and they didnt have my exact midel remote but he did suggest that I use other compatable models like: Orion, Emerson, Memorex, Senith, Sylvania, or Sansui. I had a TV Tech universal remote the the code 135 worked for me.

#5 OFFLINE   EMoMoney

EMoMoney

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 260 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2005

Posted 26 August 2008 - 05:05 PM

I think there's an entry for "Generic." That's what I used before buying another Logitech all in one.

#6 OFFLINE   Johnnie5000

Johnnie5000

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 452 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 26 August 2008 - 06:36 PM

Easiest way to figure out any of this:

Look at the back of the generic tv and see who actually manufactured it. Usually you'll see Fujitsu, Sansui, Sylvania, etc printed on the back label instead of the brand on the front of the TV.

#7 OFFLINE   sacalait

sacalait

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 432 posts
  • LocationWest Palm Beach, FL
Joined: Aug 06, 2007

Posted 27 August 2008 - 05:23 AM

I purchased a Dynex 24" about a year ago. I believe it was either Admiral or Emerson that worked for me. If you do a web search for "Dynex remote control codes" you will find many links that bring you to various forums with people asking the same questions.

But try my recommendations first, I think one of them should work.

:)
SACALAIT

Geaux Saints 2009 Superbowl Champions
LSU Tiger Baseball
National Champs '91, '93, '96, '97, '00, '09

#8 OFFLINE   timmmaaayyy2003

timmmaaayyy2003

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,452 posts
Joined: Jan 27, 2008

Posted 27 August 2008 - 10:09 AM

I used the web tool on directv.com for mine.
Phil B.

I guess I picked the wrong week to stop sniffin' glue! :D

My Setup

#9 OFFLINE   xIsamuTM

xIsamuTM

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 567 posts
Joined: Jul 08, 2008

Posted 27 August 2008 - 10:27 PM

scanning for a tv code should work if it'll work at all
move bar to TV
press [mute] and [select] down until green light flashes 2x
991 wait for flash
1 wait for flash
[channel up] about every second until tv turns off
[select] to lock it in.

#10 OFFLINE   dhines

dhines

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 398 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 12 October 2008 - 04:57 PM

10463
nothing like having way too much sports programming . . .

(see profile for equipment)

Posted Image

#11 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 12 October 2008 - 05:08 PM

scanning for a tv code should work if it'll work at all
move bar to TV
press [mute] and [select] down until green light flashes 2x
991 wait for flash
1 wait for flash
[channel up] about every second until tv turns off
[select] to lock it in.


Best one. Always use it for off brand TVs wher3 customers have lost the remote.
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#12 OFFLINE   David MacLeod

David MacLeod

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,689 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 12 October 2008 - 05:12 PM

Best one. Always use it for off brand TVs wher3 customers have lost the remote.

also covers some insignia lcd models.
Dave MacLeod
S.I.H.

#13 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 12 October 2008 - 05:21 PM

Orion, Emerson, Memorex, Zenith, Sylvania, or Sansui


These are various brand names that the bigger retailers use to market CE goods made by Funai. There are at least a couple of others; Symphonic is one. Funai makes most of the "store brand" entry-to-mid-level electronics.

#14 OFFLINE   Grentz

Grentz

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,916 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 12 October 2008 - 05:54 PM

Easiest way to figure out any of this:

Look at the back of the generic tv and see who actually manufactured it. Usually you'll see Fujitsu, Sansui, Sylvania, etc printed on the back label instead of the brand on the front of the TV.


Most are total rebrands these days (IE you cannot figure out who it was made by via a simple label on the outside).

Funai makes most of the "store brand" entry-to-mid-level electronics.


Not necessarily true at all, there are tons of OEM/ODMs right now making the off brands and even the name brands. In fact many off brands have multiple companies making their products for each size. It changes all the time as well as companies shop around.

My dad actually used to work with a lot of off brand stuff and rebranding/etc. Very interesting stuff and really shows that brand loyalty means nothing in most cases and just how brand loyal the public is (with no good reason to be these days).
-Grentz
Subscriber since Oct. 1996
HR21-700, HR22-100, H24-100 (SWM)
~Detailed Setup~

Directv Signal Strength Posting Tool - Excel Ver. Web Ver.

#15 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 12 October 2008 - 08:44 PM

Not necessarily true at all, there are tons of OEM/ODMs right now making the off brands and even the name brands. In fact many off brands have multiple companies making their products for each size. It changes all the time as well as companies shop around.


That is very true. A good example is the short-lived Walmart house brand "iLo". This "brand" made primarily cheap HDTVs, both LCD and plasmas. They were actually manufactured by a number of relatively small subcontractors, and had lots of problems with the internal electronics. When buyers started having their TVs die just after the 90 day warranty, they found that not only could they not return them to Walmart, despite being a Walmart house brand, but that the "support" was virtually non-existant and in many cases no repair parts were even available (in some cases, the manufacturer no longer even existed!).

Those who could returned their TVs to Walmart, and Walmart took a bath on them, but most folks ended up eating that $1200-2000 when their TV died out of warranty. The "iLo" brand lasted less than two years.

That traditionally hasn't been a problem with the traditional big-name CE manufacturers, but with the increased outsourcing, there have been some occasional problems. Luckily the big names are a lot better at managing their subcontractors and sub'ed products than Walmart was.

#16 OFFLINE   cspeedball

cspeedball

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Dec 24, 2008

Posted 24 December 2008 - 11:38 PM

0091 is the code for the directv with tivo remote

#17 OFFLINE   curt8403

curt8403

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,481 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2007

Posted 25 December 2008 - 09:58 AM

Dynex 11463 11564
I am no longer connected with Directv or any other satellite provider

#18 OFFLINE   BartFarmer

BartFarmer

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2009

Posted 18 March 2009 - 05:49 PM

I'm having a problem trying to get the remote for my new HR20-100 to control my new TV.

I just purchased a 32" Dynex (Best Buy store brand) LCD TV, and I don't know which brand to select to find the remote codes. Dynex isn't listed as a choice, and I'm not even sure if all the Dynex's would be the same manufacturer "under the hood" anyway.

How do I program the remote to operate the TV?

All help is appreciated, thanks!

Try this it worked for me and my 42" Dynex
dynexproducts.com/universalcontrolcodes.aspx

#19 OFFLINE   TigersFanJJ

TigersFanJJ

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,546 posts
Joined: Feb 17, 2006

Posted 19 March 2009 - 05:18 AM

Try this it worked for me and my 42" Dynex
dynexproducts.com/universalcontrolcodes.aspx


Thx, but the OP got it figured out over a year ago.

#20 OFFLINE   mishawaka

mishawaka

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 98 posts
Joined: Sep 10, 2007

Posted 06 April 2009 - 06:07 PM

scanning for a tv code should work if it'll work at all
move bar to TV
press [mute] and [select] down until green light flashes 2x
991 wait for flash
1 wait for flash
[channel up] about every second until tv turns off
[select] to lock it in.


Wow, I love you. :lol:




Protected By... spam firewall...And...