Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DirecTV Resolution.....Settings?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   SeeD

SeeD

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Sep 30, 2007

Posted 14 February 2008 - 04:06 PM

Hello,

Maybe you all can answer this question. What is the recommended settings for an HR21-700 DirecTV receiver, if you have a 1080P Tv? Currently, I am using Native On and Stretch mode and I have all 480i, 480P, 720P, 1080i selected on the receiver.

Sometimes I get HDMI handshake issues switching from an HD channel to a Non-HD channel ( and vice versa) , where the screen turns all snowy and purple. In order to fix this, I just pull the HDMI cable from the TV for a sec and replace it and then the issue goes away.

I have this feeling that the signal is being double processed somehow and maybe that is why I am getting this issue.

I have an HP 5080 1080P Tv.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,869 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 14 February 2008 - 04:10 PM

I think you may be right. You may want to try turning Native OFF and setting the resolution to 720p or 1080i, then seeing if the problem is still there.

If the problem goes away, I'd look at HP's site to see if there's a firmware update that addresses HDMI handshaking. Or, you can go component instead of HDMI and see if that helps.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#3 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,469 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 14 February 2008 - 06:55 PM

You don't have to select 480P as Directv does not have any 480P transmissions.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#4 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,767 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 14 February 2008 - 08:18 PM

I think you may be right. You may want to try turning Native OFF and setting the resolution to 720p or 1080i, then seeing if the problem is still there.

If the problem goes away, I'd look at HP's site to see if there's a firmware update that addresses HDMI handshaking. Or, you can go component instead of HDMI and see if that helps.

I had this with a Sony TV and a Sony HD receiver [over DVI]. Turning off either the TV or the receiver and then back on would "clear" it. I wasn't even using "native" back in those days [just fixed 1080i output].
I wonder who is making the HP TV?
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   bwaldron

bwaldron

    Impossible Dreamer

  • Registered
  • 5,524 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2005

Posted 14 February 2008 - 08:32 PM

You don't have to select 480P as Directv does not have any 480P transmissions.


Yes, no reason to have 480p selected unless you have a TV that doesn't handle 480i over HDMI...unless you like having the DVR do the deinterlacing (in which case no need to have 480i selected).

HR23-700 --> Samsung UN65F6350AF LCD
HR23-700 --> JVC JLC47BC3002 LCD
H24-200 -->
Panasonic TH-50PX60U plasma


#6 OFFLINE   MIMOTech

MIMOTech

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 224 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2006

Posted 15 February 2008 - 07:01 AM

I have had the same TV as you and best to do is set to 1080 and make that the default for all programing. Much less HDMI hand shaking and disruption. The HP's are very slow at syncing on HDMI.

#7 OFFLINE   dtrell

dtrell

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,198 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2007

Posted 15 February 2008 - 07:18 AM

You don't have to select 480P as Directv does not have any 480P transmissions.


no programming, but the HR2X boot up screens are 480p

#8 OFFLINE   rkcoll1

rkcoll1

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 15 February 2008 - 07:20 AM

You don't have to select 480P as Directv does not have any 480P transmissions.


I was watching a movie last night on HBO or MAX cannot remember, but anyway I have native turned on and I checked the format it was 480p. You are saying there are no 480p broadcasts on DTV? I am not arguing with you I am just trying to get clarification so I can change settings if I need to.

#9 OFFLINE   MountainMan10

MountainMan10

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 606 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2008

Posted 15 February 2008 - 07:37 AM

If I have native turned on I see 480p signals coming out of my HR21 at times when tuned to HD channels. I saw it yesterday on FXHD. I was told that FXHD never broadcasts in 480p.:sure:

I think I don't understand the meaning of the lights on the front of the receiver. Perhaps when the 480p light is turned on the broadcast is really in 1080i. It is just a software glitch.:grin:

I normally have native turned off and only 1080i enabled. Ignorance is bliss.

#10 OFFLINE   dtrell

dtrell

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,198 posts
Joined: Dec 27, 2007

Posted 15 February 2008 - 07:43 AM

If I have native turned on I see 480p signals coming out of my HR21 at times when tuned to HD channels. I saw it yesterday on FXHD. I was told that FXHD never broadcasts in 480p.:sure:


mountainman, this is a known issue by many of us on here, especially on FXHD SPEED HD FUEL HD and other 720p native channels. The HR21 boxes seem to have trouble always recognizing 720p channels and sometimes think they are 480i or 480p. many of us are hoping that D* hears enough of us and corrects it.

#11 OFFLINE   MountainMan10

MountainMan10

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 606 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2008

Posted 15 February 2008 - 07:49 AM

Ah, that makes sense. The broadcast is 720p but the box thinks it is 480p.

I don't like native anyway. My tv takes to long to handshake.

Does this mean that with Native Off that the box is downscaling to 480 and then upscaling to 1080?

#12 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,869 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 15 February 2008 - 08:03 AM

No, with native off it should just be scaling everything from the original broadcast to 1080i.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#13 OFFLINE   bwaldron

bwaldron

    Impossible Dreamer

  • Registered
  • 5,524 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2005

Posted 15 February 2008 - 09:11 AM

If I have native turned on I see 480p signals coming out of my HR21 at times when tuned to HD channels. I saw it yesterday on FXHD. I was told that FXHD never broadcasts in 480p.:sure:


You saw the effects of a bug on your HR21 -- it's been reported by others. FXHD never broadcasts in 480p. Nor does any other channel.

HR23-700 --> Samsung UN65F6350AF LCD
HR23-700 --> JVC JLC47BC3002 LCD
H24-200 -->
Panasonic TH-50PX60U plasma


#14 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,469 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 February 2008 - 10:05 AM

So Stuart, if you set your Native to Off, then do you just Select 1080I and let the HRXX scale everything to 1080I so the Display Device doesn't have to do any work and therefore the handshake will be mimimal???
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#15 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,767 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 15 February 2008 - 10:12 AM

So Stuart, if you set your Native to Off, then do you just Select 1080I and let the HRXX scale everything to 1080I so the Display Device doesn't have to do any work and therefore the handshake will be mimimal???

That's about it. Everything will be scaled by the HRxx to 1080i [if that's what you have it set to] and the handshake will still be going on, but the TV won't have to change resolution.
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...