Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Network help


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jdegrandpre

jdegrandpre

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 15 February 2008 - 04:19 PM

I received the network kit from DirecTv today and I installed it. Everything looks fine and is even downloading a movie.

I have 2 questions...

Does it take awhile for the guide to show the channels in the 1,000's?

How do I get the HR20 to share music and pictures from my computers?

Thanks,
Jeff

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,838 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 15 February 2008 - 04:21 PM

This should have been posted in the HR20/HR21 forum and I am sure a MOD will move it as soon as they see it.

Anyway the guide takes a few hours to load all the DoD channels.

You need to use a media player like WMP11 and share it. Once you set it up for sharing you will see a unknown device (that will be the HR20/HR21). Allow it and you will get a "Music & Photo's" option added to the menu.

#3 OFFLINE   jdegrandpre

jdegrandpre

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 15 February 2008 - 05:55 PM

This should have been posted in the HR20/HR21 forum and I am sure a MOD will move it as soon as they see it.

Anyway the guide takes a few hours to load all the DoD channels.

You need to use a media player like WMP11 and share it. Once you set it up for sharing you will see a unknown device (that will be the HR20/HR21). Allow it and you will get a "Music & Photo's" option added to the menu.


I was able to do this on my laptop but not on my desktop. I even turned off the firewall but it st doesn't seem to be able to find it.

Jeff

#4 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,838 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 15 February 2008 - 05:57 PM

I was able to do this on my laptop but not on my desktop. I even turned off the firewall but it st doesn't seem to be able to find it.

Jeff


Try resetting your PC and reboot your HR20/21 and see if that helps.

#5 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,469 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 February 2008 - 08:34 PM

Does it work if you have Windows Vista???
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#6 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,838 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 15 February 2008 - 08:39 PM

Does it work if you have Windows Vista???


Yes, that is what I am using without a problem.

#7 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,469 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 February 2008 - 08:41 PM

I have Vista and I have heard that it causes problems.

I have all my stuff "Shared" but it can't see what is on my HR21-700.

Does WMP11 come with VISTA?? Or do you have to buy it???

If so, where do you buy it for VISTA???
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#8 OFFLINE   PapaL

PapaL

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Jan 28, 2008

Posted 15 February 2008 - 08:53 PM

It's a one way share. You will not be able to see what is one your HR2x from you computer.

WMP11 = Windows Media Player 11

Media Player is part of every Windows version.

#9 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,469 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 15 February 2008 - 08:55 PM

How do I find it on my system???
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#10 OFFLINE   PapaL

PapaL

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Jan 28, 2008

Posted 15 February 2008 - 08:57 PM

To start Windows Media Player, click the Start button , click All Program, and then click Windows Media Player.

#11 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,469 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 16 February 2008 - 07:15 AM

I finally found my Media Player but it was not listed as you would expect. I had to create an Icon and rename it. It showed up as mpplayer.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#12 OFFLINE   jdegrandpre

jdegrandpre

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 16 February 2008 - 01:45 PM

Try resetting your PC and reboot your HR20/21 and see if that helps.


I tried resetting the desktop and the HR-20. When I click on share, WMP11 pauses for a moment and then does nothing. On my laptop, it found an unknown device that I allowed. I can't get my desktop to do the same thing.

#13 OFFLINE   Spanky_Partain

Spanky_Partain

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,499 posts
Joined: Dec 07, 2006

Posted 16 February 2008 - 03:12 PM

There is a link in my signature for network help. In that link, there is a lot of help on WMP. Look for WMP in this link.

-Mark-
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 or ::127.0.0.1 or 0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1 or ::1!"
Support the DBSTalk forum, become a member, Click Here!
For Networking Help, Click Here!
For my setup, Click Here!
3/98


#14 OFFLINE   jdegrandpre

jdegrandpre

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 16 February 2008 - 06:12 PM

There is a link in my signature for network help. In that link, there is a lot of help on WMP. Look for WMP in this link.


Thanks...I'll check it out.

#15 OFFLINE   jdegrandpre

jdegrandpre

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 18 February 2008 - 07:26 PM

There is a link in my signature for network help. In that link, there is a lot of help on WMP. Look for WMP in this link.


That helped a great deal...I now have it working!!! THANK YOU!!!That is all except some videos. Some have an X next to them and others have a movie camera. Some with the camera work, none with an X work.

Is there something I can do to fix this?

Jeff

#16 OFFLINE   Scrutator

Scrutator

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2008

Posted 19 February 2008 - 05:06 PM

That helped a great deal...I now have it working!!! THANK YOU!!!That is all except some videos. Some have an X next to them and others have a movie camera. Some with the camera work, none with an X work.

Is there something I can do to fix this?

Jeff


I have the same issue with videos with regard to the 'X'. However my problem is that I cannot play videos at all; they start up, play for a few seconds and then stop.

Music and photos are fine. My suspicion is that there's not enough bandwidth to handle it.

Is the HR20-100 a gigabit ethernet device? My router is a 100-base unit, I think.

#17 OFFLINE   Spanky_Partain

Spanky_Partain

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,499 posts
Joined: Dec 07, 2006

Posted 19 February 2008 - 05:51 PM

Not all video file types are supported. I do not know which ones are so I cannot answer that.

The HR2x-xxx HD DVR's are 10/100 ethernet devices. It is not the network that is having the issue. It is the media server and codec response.

-Mark-
"There's no place like 127.0.0.1 or ::127.0.0.1 or 0:0:0:0:0:0:0:1 or ::1!"
Support the DBSTalk forum, become a member, Click Here!
For Networking Help, Click Here!
For my setup, Click Here!
3/98





Protected By... spam firewall...And...