Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR20 self install?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   SPACEMAKER

SPACEMAKER

    Freethinker

  • Registered
  • 3,179 posts
  • LocationMason, MI
Joined: Dec 11, 2007

Posted 19 February 2008 - 12:58 PM

A friend of mine called to order an HR20 and he was told that in addition to the $199 purchase price that he'd have to pay $99 to $159 for installation. He already has a 5LNB dish.

Is it possible for him to install the HR20 himself so that he gets to access both tuners?

Living Room:
Sony KDL-55EX720
HR44-700
AM21
Sony BDP-S360 Networked
Bedroom:
Sony KDL-40EX720
HR24-200
Sony DVP-NS75H


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Mike728

Mike728

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 511 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2007

Posted 19 February 2008 - 01:10 PM

Don't see why not. He could always just pick up an HR21 from a local retailer and call them to activate it after he's installed it.

#3 OFFLINE   SPACEMAKER

SPACEMAKER

    Freethinker

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,179 posts
  • LocationMason, MI
Joined: Dec 11, 2007

Posted 19 February 2008 - 01:34 PM

What he's concerned with is the actual install. Will he need to run a new line from his dish or can he split the line he is currently using?

Living Room:
Sony KDL-55EX720
HR44-700
AM21
Sony BDP-S360 Networked
Bedroom:
Sony KDL-40EX720
HR24-200
Sony DVP-NS75H


#4 OFFLINE   Mike728

Mike728

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 511 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2007

Posted 19 February 2008 - 01:37 PM

What he's concerned with is the actual install. Will he need to run a new line from his dish or can he split the line he is currently using?


He needs two lines, or an expensive SWM.

Edit: Does he only have one line coming in off of the dish?

#5 OFFLINE   SPACEMAKER

SPACEMAKER

    Freethinker

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,179 posts
  • LocationMason, MI
Joined: Dec 11, 2007

Posted 19 February 2008 - 01:41 PM

He currently has 4 recievers in his house.

Can he split off of one of the other lines?

And thanks for the help on this. It is appreciated.

Living Room:
Sony KDL-55EX720
HR44-700
AM21
Sony BDP-S360 Networked
Bedroom:
Sony KDL-40EX720
HR24-200
Sony DVP-NS75H


#6 OFFLINE   Mike728

Mike728

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 511 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2007

Posted 19 February 2008 - 01:57 PM

No, he can not just split the lines. He'll need a Zinwell 6x8 multiswitch. He'll need to connect the 4 lines to that and then can tap off up to 8 outputs. You can find them cheap on Ebay.

#7 OFFLINE   Canis Lupus

Canis Lupus

    You make it, We break it

  • Registered
  • 4,722 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2006

Posted 19 February 2008 - 02:24 PM

This could have been why he was advised by DirecTV that an installation charge would apply.

These installs always appeared to be "free" previously, but this is another case where that may be changing.

Because he needs the switch and the cable runs, it might end up being worth paying to have it done, if he so chooses.
BIG BLUE FOR LIFE

#8 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,392 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 19 February 2008 - 02:26 PM

With the additional cable run and the cost of a WB68, $99.00 seems reasonable.
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#9 OFFLINE   SPACEMAKER

SPACEMAKER

    Freethinker

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,179 posts
  • LocationMason, MI
Joined: Dec 11, 2007

Posted 19 February 2008 - 04:07 PM

No, he can not just split the lines. He'll need a Zinwell 6x8 multiswitch. He'll need to connect the 4 lines to that and then can tap off up to 8 outputs. You can find them cheap on Ebay.



Wow. They have those Zinwell 6X8 multiswitches for $25.00 including shipping on ebay. Lot's of them.

Is it as simple as just running the line from the wall into that Zinwell and then running 2 lines into his HR20?

Living Room:
Sony KDL-55EX720
HR44-700
AM21
Sony BDP-S360 Networked
Bedroom:
Sony KDL-40EX720
HR24-200
Sony DVP-NS75H


#10 OFFLINE   cartrivision

cartrivision

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,862 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2007

Posted 19 February 2008 - 06:40 PM

Wow. They have those Zinwell 6X8 multiswitches for $25.00 including shipping on ebay. Lot's of them.

Is it as simple as just running the line from the wall into that Zinwell and then running 2 lines into his HR20?


No, it's as simple (or as hard) as running all 4 output lines from the dish into the 4 inputs of the Zinwell, and then running up to 8 output lines from the Zinwell to each tuner input on each receiver/DVR.

#11 OFFLINE   Canis Lupus

Canis Lupus

    You make it, We break it

  • Registered
  • 4,722 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2006

Posted 19 February 2008 - 06:52 PM

Yeah and this is where it can get a bit labor intensive in terms of time and tools etc.

If I knew adding a DVR would also require adding a switch, I'm probably still pay it, even though the Zinwells are as cheap as they are.
BIG BLUE FOR LIFE

#12 OFFLINE   elixir26

elixir26

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
Joined: Mar 09, 2007

Posted 19 February 2008 - 08:34 PM

Yeah and this is where it can get a bit labor intensive in terms of time and tools etc.

If I knew adding a DVR would also require adding a switch, I'm probably still pay it, even though the Zinwells are as cheap as they are.


My installers wanted extra to fish the coax inside the walls. I ended up doing it myself and saved the 50 bucks. It's not that hard. It is annoying to me that the "standard" install didn't include the fishing.
1 HR20-700
3 HR24-500
1 HR24-100
1 AZiO External Enclosure
WD 2tb WD20EADS,
WD 2tb WD20EURS,

#13 OFFLINE   newsposter

newsposter

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,429 posts
Joined: Nov 12, 2003

Posted 15 March 2008 - 01:17 PM

I'm shocked someone has to pay full retail plus install....is this really the norm now?
57 inch Hitachi 57F710S
Tivo Premiere
Panasonic E80 Dvd recorder
HR10-250 63 hrs w/DB8 antenna (parts :))
1/2 full Sony T60 (historical value)

#14 OFFLINE   glennb

glennb

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 1,614 posts
Joined: Sep 21, 2006

Posted 20 March 2008 - 12:52 PM

My installers wanted extra to fish the coax inside the walls. I ended up doing it myself and saved the 50 bucks. It's not that hard. It is annoying to me that the "standard" install didn't include the fishing.


Standard install only includes punching a hole in the outside wall near the tv to shove the coax cable thru. :)

#15 OFFLINE   spazz1968

spazz1968

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2004

Posted 21 March 2008 - 09:39 AM

Thats the way the ball bounces.The installers have to make a living too. When you go to the dentist im sure you cant look on ebay to purchase a root canal for 100.00 bucks.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...