Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

ViP622/ViP722 - L4.49 Software Experiences/Bugs Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
295 replies to this topic

#181 OFFLINE   fwampler

fwampler

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 170 posts
Joined: Dec 02, 2005

Posted 17 March 2008 - 01:08 PM

Effective 02/21/08, L4.49 has begun spooling for the ViP622/ViP722. It looks like it will be a partial release initially. Please use this thread for documenting your experiences and/or bugs found.

Release notes can be found here

Got L4.49 within the last 2/3 days. I have the 622. I've noticed that shows start out with a black screen with sound. I jump forward 30 sec to get picture.

Also, noticed that fine detail on Voom HD and other HD channels is not there. IE blades of grass, fine face detail. Of course this may not be due to L4.49 but changes in bandwidth/compression being used. I tested during the day so maybe it will be back at night. I hope so. I want that fine detail.
Fred


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#182 OFFLINE   russ9

russ9

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 384 posts
Joined: Jan 28, 2004

Posted 17 March 2008 - 03:27 PM

New favorite guide bug?

When using the new favorite guide display on my 622, if I have the guide at a future date, when I switch to another favorite (or to All HD etc.) the guide reverts back to the current time. If I use the original (pre 4.49) method, it stays where it should.
.
.
Dishing it up since 4-4-1997
vip722K hooked up to a bunch of stuff. Like a bigger TV.

Soon to be on Dish network, explained by a BBC spokesman

#183 OFFLINE   Todd H

Todd H

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 222 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 18 March 2008 - 01:36 PM

I'm experiencing another bug since L4.49 was installed. Occasionally my picture will go black, with no picture or sound. Yet, the guide and other menus still work fine. The only thing that can correct the problem is a reboot.

#184 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,341 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 March 2008 - 01:40 PM

I would start from checking and posting siganl level on each sat/tpn.

#185 OFFLINE   Todd H

Todd H

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 222 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 19 March 2008 - 09:34 AM

I would start from checking and posting siganl level on each sat/tpn.


I checked and all the levels are fine. This only started happening when 4.49 was installed. I get the blank screen/no sound on Dish channels, OTA channels thru the 622, and even stuff recorded on the DVR. But the menus and guide still work fine.

#186 OFFLINE   swissy

swissy

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 75 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 19 March 2008 - 11:32 AM

Got L4.49 late last week. I didn't notice which day.

The only problem was a timer set to record only certain times, recorded a bunch of episodes (Sponge Bob). Unfortunately, my wife deleted the timer before I could see what settings had changed.

Other than that, I see no noticeable difference.
Peter

#187 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,133 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 19 March 2008 - 11:39 AM

I have had 4.49 since February 20. Two things.

First, yesterday my HBO subscription got cancelled on my 722 only - not the 508s. Don't know if that occurred in the overnight and was 4.49 related or not. (They turned it back on with only two phone calls to tech- the one in India was about to act when our call got disconnected).

Second, when I FF at a slow rate for a few seconds then hit the button again to speed it up, the picture on the screen sometimes freezes where it is until I return to play though it apparently did actually continue fast forwarding at the higher speed. If I hit the FF button 3 times at the beginning, it is no problem. This is new to me.

#188 OFFLINE   JeffChap

JeffChap

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Feb 10, 2007

Posted 20 March 2008 - 08:29 AM

Since receiving 4.49, I have been experiencing audio dropouts at irregular intervals. Sometimes they happen about 5 minutes apart, other times it will do it twice within 30 seconds or so. They only last about a second each time. My audio connection is via Toslink to a Pioneer Elite VSX-41 receiver.

The dropouts occur with both live and DVR recorded material. They only occur on TV1. No other source to my A/V receiver is experiencing this, so I do not believe the Pioneer is at fault. I've never had this problem in over 2 years with a 622, so I can only attribute it to 4.49.

#189 OFFLINE   Todd H

Todd H

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 222 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 20 March 2008 - 08:51 AM

Since receiving 4.49, I have been experiencing audio dropouts at irregular intervals. Sometimes they happen about 5 minutes apart, other times it will do it twice within 30 seconds or so. They only last about a second each time. My audio connection is via Toslink to a Pioneer Elite VSX-41 receiver.

The dropouts occur with both live and DVR recorded material. They only occur on TV1. No other source to my A/V receiver is experiencing this, so I do not believe the Pioneer is at fault. I've never had this problem in over 2 years with a 622, so I can only attribute it to 4.49.


Glad to see someone else is having this problem.

#190 OFFLINE   GiBi

GiBi

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2007

Posted 20 March 2008 - 09:41 AM

I have also got into the endless update. guess what I got the L5.01 with floders and native res then I turned the box off got into update again went ot work.

To clairfly keep your receiver on once the reboot stop you will be able to use the box and who knows one of the software maybe a beta release.


Hi Tomcrown1,

Did I understand your post correctly? You momentarily received a beta L5.01 version for your 622 or 722 that had folders but, more importantly, a NATIVE RESOLUTION option??!! Please confirm, thanks.

#191 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,341 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 20 March 2008 - 09:55 AM

I'm pretty sure it was a joke - L5.01 never been in stream; there is gamma version, but it have ID "CDN1" or like that.

#192 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 20 March 2008 - 12:02 PM

I'm pretty sure it was a joke - L5.01 never been in stream; there is gamma version, but it have ID "CDN1" or like that.


Dang! I was really hoping to get "floders".
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#193 OFFLINE   Bogey62

Bogey62

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 461 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2002

Posted 22 March 2008 - 12:44 PM

Everything was working fine up until two nights ago. All of my custom guides have been wiped out! The names I made remained, but the channels selected were all screwed up. I had to remake all three of them. :(

Bill (Bogey62)
Hopper w/Sling + Joey
Sirius Sportster 4 Replay


#194 OFFLINE   Ron Barry

Ron Barry

    622 Tips & Trick Keeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,879 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2002

Posted 22 March 2008 - 01:14 PM

Yeah.. Bogey.. A few others have reported this one. I personally have not ran into this. There is a thread on here about it... If it is, please post in that thread and any details you might have about it..
<strong class='bbc'>New Member of the 9K club & 922/612 User<br /></strong><span style='font-size: 8px;'>"A release is not a release until it is released." - Me. <br />"To the true believer, no proof is necessary. To the non believer, no proof is sufficient." - Peter James (Derived from a Stewert Chase Quote)</span>

#195 OFFLINE   Miner

Miner

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 155 posts
Joined: Oct 29, 2004

Posted 22 March 2008 - 01:49 PM

My 622 started doing the same thing the day it received the L4.49 download. Every morning I have no video, only audio. You can re-boot or unplug the HDMI cable and plug it back in.
I wonder if it is related to the TV. I have a 42" Visio plasma.


Same here with my 622 connected to an Optoma RD-50 (non HDCP). I did an online chat with Dish and the CSR reported it is a known issue with the release. I've switched over to component until 4.5 comes out.

Miner

#196 OFFLINE   auburn2

auburn2

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2005

Posted 22 March 2008 - 10:10 PM

Same here with my 622 connected to an Optoma RD-50 (non HDCP). I did an online chat with Dish and the CSR reported it is a known issue with the release. I've switched over to component until 4.5 comes out.

Miner


When is 4.5 coming out?

#197 OFFLINE   joebird

joebird

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 209 posts
Joined: Sep 15, 2003

Posted 26 March 2008 - 09:09 AM

I just noticed that L4.49 was installed. Why? Well, this morning, I turn on the box, and it wants a password. I enter it, then if I go watch something on DVR, and then go back to live channels, it wants the password again. Nice update.
Vip622 x 2, 510, 110/119/129, DP44

#198 OFFLINE   beetle02

beetle02

    Mentor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 50 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 26 March 2008 - 12:18 PM

It's odd that the update effects different recievers different ways. The L4.48 update screwed up my reciever (constant reboots and broadband would not work) but the L4.49 fixed it. Yet others the L4.49 update has caused them nothing but problems. :confused:

#199 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 26 March 2008 - 12:35 PM

It's odd that the update effects different recievers different ways. The L4.48 update screwed up my reciever (constant reboots and broadband would not work) but the L4.49 fixed it. Yet others the L4.49 update has caused them nothing but problems. :confused:


IMO, inconsistent hardware components. Every update seems to fix a few and break a few. As they say, "Sometimes you're the windshield; sometimes you're the bug."
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#200 OFFLINE   joebird

joebird

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 209 posts
Joined: Sep 15, 2003

Posted 26 March 2008 - 01:08 PM

With me, one of my receivers is fine, the other one decided to lock many (though not all, strangely enough) of the channels out. A simple fix to manually unlock them all, but very strange how that might have happened.
Vip622 x 2, 510, 110/119/129, DP44




spam firewall